Sgi Lighting Inc

15 Brownridge Road, Unit 6 Halton Hills ON L7G 0E2
Write a Review
Write a Review
Sgi Lighting Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Sgi Lighting Inc

Average customer rating:
5.8 10 (5 reviews)

Sort by

Zakir in Newmarket
Zakir in Newmarket
1 review Mississauga, ON

Outdoor lighting whole story in my last email

This was my email to SGI on 27th September 2016 (more than one year) still all my lights are not working still they did not return the transformer. By the way I paid asking prices well in advance and still waiting for full service.
Hello Sapna and Shabbir
"I received your reply that you were in China. I do hope that you have returned from your trip. The last reply I got from you was a bit of annoyance on unnecessarily disturbing you specially regarding circuit breaker which tripped and got reset by your guy. That problem is still there. It was not as simple as you think. Shabbir is an Electrical engineer and he will confirm that the worst nightmare in Electrical/electronic circuits are intermittent faults like leakage current or a loose connection. Let me tell you that the fault in strip light is intermittent and also other lights. I am telling you this after observing it for almost six months. Having said that I do appreciate that you were annoyed on my disturbing but you will have to appreciate my patience, when promise after promise after promise were made for the completion of this job, including $2 dimmer which took months. Even now there is something outstanding little transformer) :). Don’t you think that I paid a heavy price for strip lights and they never really worked, This should annoy me as well.
Someone warned me against the non-solid connection in this weather and offered me solid male -female connections and around 1/5 the price I paid to you. Price is something I should discuss because for such high price your explanation was that you are not getting your supplies from china. I had trust and faith in you. To write this mail I once again waited for your return from China and wanted to know if you take your customer seriously or not. UNQUOTE edited to make it easier for reader

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We don’t have a customer Zakir from New Market. The only Zakir we have as a client is on Indian Road in Mississuaga.

Mr. Zakir,

I remember your file clearly because Shabir and I took personal interest in ensuring you were taken care of as we do for all our senior citizen clients. Despite sending a contractor for service, Shabir and I personally came to your home many times just to keep on top of things for you.

Shabir and I have always responded immediately but unfortunately we cannot keep sending contractors out for free as they charge us. Despite this, even though we were on business travel, I did ask you to send me information on the issues so I can try to help. One of the most wonderful things about written communication is that it leaves a paper trail both ways. There was no annoyance on my part in responding to your request for help. While you have put this complaint online about SGi, You failed to put the email I sent you which is attached at the end of my response.

1. We have come out repeatedly to assist you. When we did a service call you realized that your electrician tripped your breaker. We fixed it and you apologized. We did not charge you for that service call that cost us time and money.

2. The next time you called us again to complain that our transformer was dead so your fountain lights not working because. You said you tried everything so it has to be our transformer. Once again we came out and after changing the transformer your fountain lights were still not working. We powered from an external source to find the whole system was working fine. After trouble shooting your power line, and nothing making sense, we insisted on checking if the fountain was switched. We found that you had turned off the fountain from a switch at the door. The switch you said you had checked several times before calling us. Once again you apologized and we did not charge you for that visit because you are one of our senior aged clients. I remember coming to your home for this as this was your second call of complaint and that is already too much for the kind of company we are and service we provide.

3. Products made in China- Just like your cell phone and computer etc. like most other companies in the world, some of our products are also are made in China. We are able to provide a very good quality of product at a great price – you did not pay an excessive amount for your products. The products you have in your home are the same products specified in many large jobs in North America and even in the middle east where there are extreme temperatures. Those products are all working without any issues.

4. There are no leaked currents etc. that you are saying in your email. You need to get your Electrician that did your work to come check what he has done. We have repeatedly done total tests on all our lights and each time it has not been faulty product or service but some issue created by yourself or your electrician. The transformer you are complaining about you never paid for, we offered to give you so you as a courtesy to help you for the fixture you purchased on line that came incomplete. We also told you that you can come by and pick it up any time you wanted.

It is unfortunate that you are writing this complaint. Shabir and I have always taken a special interest in your project and personally responded immediately to your needs. If you are still experiencing issues, please call the office or send us an email. We will try to get you the help you need.

I hope you are doing well otherwise.
Best regards,

From: Sapna Santdasani (SGi Lighting Inc.)
Sent: June 9, 2016 4:24 PM
To: Zakir Ansari Gmail ; Shabir Gova (SGi Lighting Inc.)
Cc: Max Chamsoutdinov (SGi Lighting Inc.)
Subject: RE: Lights report

Hi Zakir,

I am sorry you are having problems with your lights. Your email is unclear as to which light you are referring to, the courtyard or the fountain.

The last service call out to you was for your fountain and we found there was no error on the part of installation or product. It was a power issue that was turned off on your end. We did not charge you for that service call.

It is very busy time now and I don’t have someone I can send over quickly. I am sorry neither Shabir or I can swing by either as we are in China for the month. If you can send photos, or details on exactly what is the problem so we can plan next steps and who I need to send. We would want to resolve this matter for you as soon as possible so you can enjoy the lights in your beautiful home.

The transformer we supplied for the lamps was a courtesy and this is how this transformer became extra (at no charge). It is noted on your account. You can come by and pick it up any time, Power-36-12VAC-20w. Please ask for Max (copied on this email) and he will be able to assist you in our absence. If someone has to come out they can easily bring it with them for you as well.

Shabir and I both hope you are doing well.

From: Zakir Ansari Gmail
Sent: June 9, 2016 4:01 PM
To: Sapna Santdasani (SGi Lighting Inc.) ; Shabir Gova (SGi Lighting Inc.)
Subject: Fw: Lights report

I did not get any reply!!

From: Zakir Ansari Gmail
Sent: Thursday, June 2, 2016 11:54 AM
To: Sapna Santdasani ;
Subject: Lights report

Hi Sapna and Shabbir
Hope you guys are fine and working hard.
We switched on the lights to test. The strip light one portion did not light up and other portion the plastic was hanging (which we just attached back) We have not enjoyed these lights for one full season. Last year when it started working we just closed everything for winter.
AND Shabbir you still owe me a transformer

Mike from Hamilton
Mike from Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON

Soffit Lights

I was looking for LED soffit lights, but was concerned about brightness. SGI lighting was able to show me a product they were confident would fit the bill. Not exactly what I thought I wanted, but when I tried a sample it was perfect (my idea was too harsh against my brick colour). Installation was easy, and the end result is amazing. Thanks SGI!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mike,
We are so pleased that you are happy with your installation and the results of the Soffit lights you purchased from us. You made a good decision to test the light colour prior to purchasing and we were very happy to accommodate your request for samples. What you experienced is our complimentary design service - an easy phone conversation and sharing of photographs, or a planning meeting at our LED Lighting Inspiration Centre. We are always happy to provide samples to our clients as they are not always local. Our clients are from all across North America and even in some parts of Europe.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. For us, it is extremely important that we provide a solution to our customers so they not just enjoy our lights, but also the experience of working with SGi - before, during, and even after the sale. We hope you will continue enjoying your lights and let us know if we can be of service for your other projects.

Thank you for the opportunity to earn your business and please give our warm regards to Blossom.

Shabir & Sapna

Michael Bourg from Hammond
Michael Bourg from Hammond
1 review Hammond, LA

Outdoor LED lighting for my home

After installing the soft-fit lighting around my house it looked excellent, just as they said it would, the color of the lights or
(warm white ) looked great on my red and brown brick..
I got what I asked for.and this is why I return as a customer.
And Moreover;
.Sapna and Shabir where great very easy to work with and they were only a phone call away when you had a question.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Michael,
We are so happy that you are pleased with the lighting you purchased. I know you did a lot of research and even purchased samples from other suppliers before deciding to use our product. Thank you for sending us your findings and photographs of the comparisons you did. They have already proven helpful to some of our other clients as it is so valuable to have an unbiased opinion from another customer like yourself. Your choice to purchase our product and your gracious thank you note is a great vote of confidence to our product and the value for the cost. I was very happy to add to your ideas of design to accent your home. Aesthetics and Technology are the two passions SGi Lighting was born of and it is indeed fulfilling to see the results like this. Warm regards, Sapna Santdasani ~

abdoulaye konate from Milton
abdoulaye konate from Milton
1 review Milton, ON

Under cabinet lighting

Exceptional service and great product. As a customer I felt welcomed and important. The under cabinet lighting in our kitchen looks amazing. Once again thank again SGI Lighting and special thanks to Shabir who was always available to answer any questions we had and made suggestion when appropriate. I strongly recommend the company.
Abdoulaye, Milton Ontario

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Abdoulaye,
Thank you for the kind words! It was so easy to work with you as you were to perfect client! You provided us the information we needed when we needed it. You were open to our suggestions and followed our instructions. This helped us to help you in that was efficient for both of us. When our clients work with us it makes the project easy for everyone. We are looking forward to working with you on the other phases of your home you are hoping to do next year! Enjoy your lighting and please send us photographs. Warm regards, Shabir.

VICTOR from Mississauga
VICTOR from Mississauga
3 reviews Mississauga, ON

First Review


lighting quote

For the lighting of my house, I was given a verbal quote which I thought was reasonable and on their request, I gave them an advance cheque of $250 in good faith. Subsequently, their written quote was much higher after their site visit, so I had to respectfully decline it and asked for a refund.They refused to refund my $250 and when I informed them after 3 weeks that I would be informing the Ministry of Consumer Services, they sent me an invoice stating that they had charged me $250 as "lighting consultation and site visit charge" and this was non-refundable. This was something which I had not been told upfront and I had never agreed to such a charge.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dr. Victor – Inv # 20130809

It is disappointing to see that this customer is still pursuing this matter when he has failed at proving the merit of his complaint both at the Better Business Bureau and the Ministry of Consumer Services. Since we released the photographs showing us performing the service that he paid for, we are happy to see him finally acknowledge that we did a site visit, which was totally omitted before from his other complaints.

His quote for lighting increased because at the site visit he added 11 other areas with more expensive fixtures compared to the 1 area with small lights he initially asked us to quote when he attended our showroom. Naturally this increased his products, labour and electrical costs. Many companies like Home Depot charge a customer to do an onsite consultation and will offer them a credit towards a purchase. Keeping with his continuous omissions as before, this customer makes no mention of the credit that we offered him toward the purchase of his kitchen lighting, a gesture that he was very happy with until he was asked for a secure method of payment at which point he demanded a refund. Unless a customer has credit terms, no company will release products without payment. This customer repeatedly insisted on paying with a cancellable cheque which was unsettling. We tried our very best to work with him but he refused to use a secure method of payment like credit, debit, cash or certified cheque/draft.

SGi Lighting has been in business many years supplying in the Architectural, Commercial, Landscape and Residential fields around the world not just Canada. Our products are in large department stores, hospitals and parks. Our residential projects range from small town homes and condos to very large custom homes on the Bridle Path. Our business is founded on honesty, fairness, hard work and unique products with great pricing and service. We don’t inflate pricing, and nor do we charge money without providing the associated goods and/or services. We believe both businesses and customers are entitled to fair and secure business transactions, which make for good commerce all around.

In keeping with our business policy to treat all customers with the highest regard and strict business ethics, we don’t feel good fulfilling someone’s demands for a refund just because they have the inclination and time to make a lot of negative noise on the basis of misrepresentations. It is not fair to our other customers who work ethically with us.

We regret that this customer represents his change of mind as his un-acceptance of the terms of service now that he has already received it.

Sapna Santdasani
Director, Marketing & Design
Cell 416.731.8289

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Lighting pros in Georgetown?