Alarm Systems
79 Ault Cres Whitby ON L1M2G7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Alarm Systems in Whitby  >  Electroguy  >  Thorough Service with Antenna Replacement
JR in Durham Region, Ontario
JR in Durham Region, Ontario
2 reviews Whitby, ON

Thorough Service with Antenna Replacement

Dax first responded to my request to repoint my existing OTA TV antenna, a DB8. This antenna had been in place for about six years, but in the Fall of 2020 we started getting lower quality reception, which I attributed to the antenna having come out of alignment due to high winds.

On his first visit the antenna was manipulated for some minor enhancements, but after a few days it was apparent that there was no meaningful improvement.

Dax returned and offered to repoint my antenna again and also tried his two "go to" antennas to determine which offered the best reception.

In the end one of his antennas was the right choice and I'm very happy with the results, and have upgraded my antenna to one that he offers (it also has a much smaller footprint on my roof).

It took us a while to get there, but we're back to getting 39 channels. We have lost signal to one we used to get, but it appears that's a function of the origin of the signal, and not the antenna - such is life.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dax to anyone who is looking to "cut the cord" and switch to an antenna for their broadcast television.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello we have not heard from you since we re-adjusted your antenna a few months ago. If you were unhappy with the service just call us or email us and we would be happy to look at it. We did not install your original antenna that blew the opposite direction in the wind. When we re-tune an antenna that has moved we use a compass to point it at the towers. Since the towers don't move this is an accurate way to tune an antenna. The antenna that I install usually has no problem with reception in Whitby. I have also never had one of my antennas blow out of alignments from the wind. Seems like the original installation company did not tighten things properly and now I am taking the blame for reception problems. Send me an email and we can see how we might fix this for you. We do have a minimum service call charge to climb on the roof in the winter. Thanks