Primo Paving Ltd

Paving Contractors
35 Simpson road Toronto ON L7E1A2
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

32%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Primo Paving Ltd

Average customer rating:
2.8 10 (26 reviews)

Sort by

KimH in Midhurst
KimH in Midhurst
1 review Midhurst, ON
0/10

Unfinished driveway job

After finding Pimo Paving in a coupon booklet offering no taxes, I decided to give them a call for a quote. Their estimator Lino came out and gave us a good quote for removing and replacing the existing parking area of our driveway. He informed us if we paid cash we would save the taxes. The contract was drawn up and the original price was for $6000 cash. Lino arranged to come and have the existing pavement removed and we were to wait and let the ground settle for four weeks before the new asphalt could be laid. We were then contacted less than a week later that they would be here the next day to remove and install the new asphalt all on the same day. I questioned about the waiting period and was told not to worry that it was later in the year and it would be fine, that they only really wait for ground settlement in the wetter spring months. As the older pavement was being removed the workers discussed the higher than normal ground water in the area and they would need more fill. While one worker was edging the grass at the end of the parking area with his pick axe he punctured our water line (which we repaired ourselves because they were pressed for time). While removing the old pavement they did trench a line so we could run power to our garage. After the base layer was put down they decided that there was too much ground water to use the roller so two of the workers strapped boards to their feet and foot tamped the entire area. Approximately 40'x30'. Lino told us that because they used more material than anticipated and it took longer to complete, he would need another $700 cash. Lino also told us that it would be in our best interest to wait for a year before they put the top coat on to allow the pavement to settle because it was likely going to heave, sink, and crack. We have waited the year and I recently contacted Primo Paving to see when they could come back to finish the job and apply the top coat. I have spoken with Yvette on the phone a couple of times and also have email correspondence from her as well. I have been informed that the contract I signed does not include a top coat like I was lead to believe. She also asked if I would like an estimator to come out and give me a quote for a top coat application. Instead of an estimator coming and looking at the mess in my driveway (the base coat has now turned to an almost sand like texture) I received an email quote from Yvette for an additional $3300 to finish the driveway. I questioned her in one of my phone conversations as to why I would sign an agreement to only half a job...... her answer was that my contract didn't have the proper letters to show a complete finish. All I know is Lino sold me a complete removal and replacement and I received half the job. I suppose I should also mention that Lino no longer works for the company. Convenient for them. I would suggest hiring another company, ANY OTHER company. Who knows where my money went, it certainly did not get me what I paid for.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Kim,

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with Primo Paving. Please note that we always strive to be honest and upfront with our customers and provide the best service in which our clients have contracted us to do. That being said, we will address your concerns as follows. We do have a contract on file indicating that your driveway was removed and resurfaced in the fall of 2017, for an amount of $6,000. This contract was fulfilled and paid for in full, upon completion of your driveway. The contract that was drawn up does not include anywhere an additional $700 paid by you. We have been informed that extra material was in fact put down due to the dampness of the ground, however no payment was received or requested by you on our records. As a customer, if an additional amount of money was required by a salesman, due diligence steps should have been taken in ensuring that the amount given was written in the contract. We apologize if you feel cheated, however, we have absolutely no record of receiving an additional $700. The owner of the company, who works on the job site day in day out, was present at the time your driveway was being paved. He has informed us on all the particulars pertaining to this contract. First off, at the time you contacted Primo for a quote on your driveway, Lino gave you his professional opinion, to only do a base coat at that time, as the ground was far too wet and the top coat would not hold up well. You agreed and took his advice and signed a contract for the base coat to be completed in the fall of 2017. At that time, he advised you to wait one year after the base coat was laid to do the top coat, which would entail a brand new contract. The contract in which you signed and we have on file specifically states "Balance due on Completion" and the fine print also states that all funds are due upon completion of the work. Therefore, the $6,000 paid in the fall of 2017 was for the fulfillment and completion of that specific contract. A top coat would require a separate and brand new contract in the summer/fall of 2018, which was communicated to you by Lino, as witnessed by one of our owners on site. The line that was trenched so you could run power to your garage was done as a favour and at no additional cost to you. Yes, Lino is no longer with Primo Paving, which is very common in todays work force for people to come and go, like in every industry. Our office manager, Yvette, has been very polite and has given you accurate information, which you were already advised of at the time of signing your contract as well as on the day of completion of your job; A new contract would be required the following year (2018 or whenever you decided to do a top coat) for the top and final coat of your driveway. We are a professional company with highly qualified and designated professional accountants in our office. Thus, we would never take money for a job for which the full obligation of the contract was not fulfilled, nor would we deviate from our contract fine print.

Thank you kindly.

Regards,

Primo Paving

G.Delorme in Barrie
G.Delorme in Barrie
1 review Innisfil, ON
0/10

Driveway paving

DO NOT USE this company. Terrible customer service. Driveway paved. Nov/17. I have been calling constantly since as it was not graded properly and gas several spots of standing water. Was told today June 8 that they should have someone here end of October! I am a senior and have already had a bad slip and fall on this driveway but company attitude seems like too bad for me. Quick to take your money but terrible to fix their mistakes!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Please note that your driveway was done late in the year. We have an A-plus standing with the better business bureau. Primo paving has not denied any repair work. The puddles are common in asphalt driveways due to sub soil sinkage. We do not guarantee sub soul sinkage, however we do repairs if this occurs within the 1 year warranty. We advised Mrs Delorme that there would be no reason for us not to fix the puddles. This is how we maintain our A-plus rating with the Better Business bureau. Also our work orders state that our repairs are done in the fall. However our foreman has been advised that if our crew is in the immediate area that they will attend to this matter sooner than the fall
We have been in business since 1967, and maintained an A plus status with Better Business Bureau

Daryl in Toronto
Daryl in Toronto
3 reviews Pefferlaw, ON
10/10

New drive and walkway

We had a few quotes to get paving and interlock at our Lakehouse. At first it was difficult to get the local companies to come and give us a quote, and when they finally did, they told me they could install either the paving or the interlock but not both so I would have to use two different contractors. I found Primo on Homestars and sent them an email for a quote. Their office called me within 15 minutes of my email and set up an appointment for the next day. Joe Bruno arrived first thing in the morning, discussed what we wanted, measured up and gave me a quote right on the spot. The price was a lot less than our previous quotes. They arrived when I was promised and although it took them four days to complete the job, it rained every day. They did their best to work through it.
So far we're quite happy with the results. I will add to this review in the future if we have any issues.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review. Our clients satisfaction is our priority.

Stixx in Aurora
Stixx in Aurora
1 review Aurora, ON
0/10

Driveway Failed After 4 months

Primo Paving did my asphalt driveway in sept '16.
By january '17 (4 months) It broke into pieces at the end of my driveway. Also after base coat was down i was able to put my shoe thru the base coat into the granular. base coat was like 3/8 of an inch, unreal. I would never recommend this company. Very Very poor workmanship and they used cheap asphalt. Shame!

Was this review helpful?
Cameron Ross from Toronto
Cameron Ross from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

driveway paving

I had my driveway repaved in August 2015 as Primo Paving piggy backed a Toronto Hydro job performed by Aecon. I am very unsatisfied with the work they did as the driveway collapsed along one edge after the winter. Two employees from the company came to my home six months after I had complained at which time I had already corrected the issue myself. I was also tiold that there was ' nothing they could do anyways.' I have written correspondence with the owner, Mr. Bruno, to which I was called a 'lowlife' because I expressed my dissatisfaction. I am extremely disappointed and will not recommend this company to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Dave in Thornhill
Dave in Thornhill
2 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Driveway

Unsatisfied to say the least, crack in pavement leave messages no response, text and broken promises. Once they have your money don't expect there help.
I strongly suggest to try a different company very disappointed

Was this review helpful?
Michelle in Bolton
Michelle in Bolton
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Repave Driveway

Worst company!! They did a horrible job! My driveway looked better before they touched it. You can never get a hold of them and when you do they are no help at all. They are unwilling to fix anything. Once they get their money, they don't care. Very disappointed and wasted a lot of time complaining and getting nowhere.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Pickering, ON
1/10

Extended and Replaced Driveway

They did a great job extended my driveway, however I would NEVER recommend this company to anyone. Not only did it take them MONTHS longer then promised to pave my driveway after excavation, they following spring I had some flowers come up through my driveway from a garden they were to remove and pave over. I've been waiting since MARCH for them to come patch the drive way, they promised they would have it done in a month or two, it's now November 27th and THEY STILL HAVEN'T FIXED IT! I've called about 8 times and always the same story, next month/we're behing. AWFUL SERVICE!

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
wahidone .
wahidone .
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
8/10

Driveway Asphalt

Primo Paving Ltd
905-856-3535
35 Simpson road
Toronto
ON
L7E1A2
CANADA

I did my driveway asphalt by Primo Paving they did great job, the owner Marco is very nice and professional person he give me 2 years warranty instead 1.

Thanks Marco,

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Angel  from Bolton
Angel from Bolton
1 review Innisfil, ON
1/10

Driveway paving

Primo Paving Ltd
905-856-3535
35 Simpson road
Toronto
ON
L7E1A2
CANADA

While I feel that Primo Paving did a nice job on our driveway they are simply not worth the aggravation. They excavated our driveway at the beginning of June and they didn't finish the job until mid September! I started calling them around the beginning of August and everytime I spoke to someone there it was always the same old song and dance, "what was your name again? Where do you live? Who quoted your job?, etc" And this was 2 and 3 times a week. Then it was excuses, our machine broke, it's too hot, it's raining and so on. Like I said, not worth the aggravation.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Primo Paving Ltd

"A Toronto Paving Company since 1967, Primo Paving provides nothing but professional paving services. We at Primo Paving stand behind our service and quality of work. Our commitment in the last half century is to provide extraordinary service through our highly experienced and trained staff. We commit to offering competitive ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Paving Contractors pros in Bolton?