Rocco's Pro Painting

Paint & Wallpaper Contractors
North York ON M3N2B1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

37%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Rocco's Pro Painting

Average customer rating:
4 10 (8 reviews)

Sort by

SP
SP
3 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Painting of entire house

Rocco's Pro Painting
(647) 678-6380
North York
ON
M3N2B1
CANADA

I waited a good number of months to write this review, as I wanted experience with other painters before making a judgement call. Rocco is a good guy. He was punctual, worked very quickly, and used good quality paint. He even gave me a nice pasta recipe. I assume I was also punctual in my payments, which is why I did not experience some of the ultra negative experiences here. With that said, the actual quality of his work is questionable, as Rocco does not do any prepwork. He will leave paint drops scattered all over your furniture, and will paint over dust, spiderwebs, hairballs, lumps, you name it. According to him, this prepwork is to be done by you, not him. Which is fair, but it's nice to know this stuff beforehand, not 90% of the way through the job. Personally I hesitate to recommend Rocco, but if you are looking for an insanely quick do-over in an already-prepped area (with no furniture, and flooring that you'll remove later), I'd call him. But at that point, if you've done literally all the dusting/cleaning/taping/prepwork, nothing is stopping you from grabbing a $30 paint can and roller from Home Depot and spending 2 hours doing it on your own.

Was this review helpful?
D in Toronto
D in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

I now see the value of Homestars but I found out AFTER Rocco took my money, abandoned my job, left my place covered is paint dust which took weeks and $$ to get scrubbed out by hand. This is after i asked him to please be careful as I had a big dent in my 4 day old fridge. He freaked out and definitely has temper issues as the recent review suggests.
Everyone has nightmare contractor stories and Rocco is mine. So many similarities between my review and others I just hope you are reading this BEFORE you engage this 'pro' painter.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

painting

Don't trust this company , Believe me he isn't your best painter , his his cut line is bad and he doesn't understand the concept quality and got a bad temper witch is all fine but not being able to be professional is a whole different issue .

I wouldn't let him in my house and so should you.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Mary. D in Toronto
Mary. D in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Job Well Done!

Rocco was very professional and punctual while working on my home. He was diligent with covering my hardwood floors with his drop sheets and always cleaned up each each area he worked in, and did a fantastic job painting my home. I would definitely use him again and or recommend him to all of my friends and family!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Grace
Grace
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

House Painting

My wife and I purchased a home in Bradford, Ontario and wanted it
painted before we moved in. We were given Rocco's contact information from friends of ours who came highly recommended.
After getting a quote from three other painter, We were most comfortable with the work promised and price Rocco gave us. Rocco
also provided us with modern and nicely matched colors throughout our home. My wife and I were extremely impressed with the service professionalism and worksmanship of the painting job.
I would highly recommend Rocco to anyone who is looking to painting their home.

Joe and Cathy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you Joe and Cathy. Greatly appreciate your kind words.

Grace
Grace
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Amazing Paint Job!!!

I contacted Rocco and he was very professional and courteous. My home was a large project to complete and Rocco's crew were very professional and I was very impressed the way he handled things. The team cleaned up at the end of each word day. He patched sanded and painted all the nail holes and cracks and completed everything we agreed upon. I was also happy to see that he completed the job a half day earlier than we discussed. I would definitely use Rocco again and or recommend him to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Matthew from Richmond Hill
Matthew from Richmond Hill
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Painting

Rocco does not know how to paint.

He did zero prep work, no sanding, dusting or cleaning, he just painted over dust, loose peeling paint, cob webs, grease and even tap that was stuck on the walls. He didn't even know what TSP was.

He did not paint everything either. There were doors left unpainted, trim that was only partially painted, several areas with only a single see through coat, paint spatter all over the house and it was not cleaned up. He ultimately did not paint anything that would look like it was painted to the untrained eye. Hidden corners, back side of doors, ceilings in closest all untouched despite having agreed to doing them all.

He did not know how to use the paint either. We agreed and I paid for Benjamin Moore advanced paint for my trim and windows, he either applied it too thick, which resulted in dripping/drooping paint on several painted surfaces or too thin which required a second coat which was not applied.

Further more he did not finish the job, packed up and left, leaving my kitchen unfinished (specifically the cabinets which are the most time consuming) and stated that he left paint for me to finish it or he could come back in a week to do it. As it turned out, he only left empty paint cans and I had to go and buy paint a second time, effectively paying for the paint twice and then spending three days fixing and completing his work. Oh and what was painted in the kitchen was either done in a ceiling paint or primer. The entire kitchen minus the cabinets where painted in some form of flat paint and not the eggshell we agreed on and the trim was done in the same flat paint and not the Benjamine Moore advanced paint that I paid for!

This guy is untruthfull, complains about everything, makes promises and enters contracts that he does deliver on. He left my apartment a total mess for figuratively and literally.

This was a total butcher job on my apartment.

I will state this: DO NOT EVER HIRE THIS GUY!!!! He is a not a tradesman but rather a confidence man.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Matthew did not pay me for the paint upon the start of the job. i had to put up with the smell of weed coming from his tennant that lived in the basement. he also attempted to dust and sweep the floors during the painting process, which created particles on the walls. prepping by him was also to be completed by matthew which he never completed. he left all his tools, drywall sheets, and garbage all over the house, so that made it difficult for me to work. he also wanted the kitchen painted in an eggshell finish, which was also agreed upon. then complained i used the wrong finish. matthew did not pay me on time, and did not complete his payment arrangement, so i had to leave the project unfinished.
i tried to atrrange for me to come back and finish the work but he has not returned my calls.

vienne from Richmond Hill
vienne from Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON

First Review

0/10

Complete exterior painting

Do not ever use this guy for your painting project. He is totally incompetent and unprofessional . He will make promises, take your money, leave a complete mess and stop returning phone calls.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Vienna hired me to paint the exterior windows frames of home. the paint on the window frames were peeling and in some areas were rotting. not to mention that there were some that didnt even open due to the age of the windows. i had told her that i would scap the loose peeling paiint sand, prime and paint in a white weather guard paint. at the end of the project, she paid me the balance owing. 7 days later she called me and said that the windows needed more scraping. there was nothing else i can do to make the windows look better. i did what we agreed, however she was expecting a different result.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Paint & Wallpaper Contractors pros in North York?