Curtis-E Movers

Moving & Storage
Oakville ON L6K 2W3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Moving & Storage in Oakville  >  Curtis-E Movers
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

70%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Curtis-E Movers

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (38 reviews)

Sort by

Sonia from Oakville
Sonia from Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
1/10

Fridge move

I had the WORST cutomer service experience I have ever had and will never use this person again. I wanted to move a used fridge from the original house to my house. I Called to ask if they accepted e-transfers and was told yes so I did not give it a second thought. Also called to change pick up time to half hour later as the owners of the fridge said they will be late due to snow. Curtis agreed on the phone but showed up on original time and got very aggressive as he had to wait. I told him that is why I changed the time on the phone earlier but Curtis did not recall that phone call. He refused to pick up the fridge unless I paid him extra. I agreed to add it into the e-transfer and was met with even more hostility and aggression. He refused to deliver my fridge unless I had cash. This would have been fine had he told me earlier I could have made other arrangements as I did not have a car and was home with a one month old. I agreed to the cash if he can wait an hour as my husband comes home from work then and even had my husband give him a call to confirm. Curtis gave my husband attitude and called me back to yell at me about my "Boyfriend/Husband" giving him a call and because of that refused to deliver the fridge saying he does not deal with e-transfers and he kept my fridge hostage for the night. Be prepared to deal with hostility. 10 out of 10 will NEVER use or recommend this company to anyone. VERY VERY unprofessional AND RUDE.

Taught me a lesson to use an actual PROFESSIONAL company next time.
Stay away!

Was this review helpful?
Jerry
Jerry
2 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

House Move

My wife and I were very concerned about having our very delicate and expensive furniture moved. Curtis I must say is a REAL pro and knows his business very well. He assured me that the move would be done quickly and damage free and at a very competitive price, to which he delivered. I strongly recommend Curtis if you have expensive furniture, pianos etc.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

THANKS JERRY, This is by far the best review we have ever had and having you to take the time to write it is very appreciated!

Rahul from Oakville
Rahul from Oakville
5 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

House Moving

'Curtis' was very 'courteous'! I changed the moving dates twice and was so hesitant calling him. But when I did, he was so polite and understanding. Finally, on the day of moving, he was right on time with his team and did a wonderful job. I saved $300 on moving the treadmill as requested by the treadmill company as his team took apart the TM so easily and put it back in my new house. Moving seems to be the most stressful part but these guys made it super smooth. Thank You Curtis!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

THANKS RAHUL, I love your review because it is so nicely worded I like it a lot. THANKS AGAIN!

philip from Mississauga
philip from Mississauga
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Mover

Curtis and his staff moved our furniture to prepare for having our floors sanded. Even this was a small job for them, they were careful and very efficient. Would definitely both hire and recommend them for any move in future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for the nice review Philip!

Steven Miles from Belleville
Steven Miles from Belleville
1 review Toronto, ON
5/10

Moving to another city

Curtis at the first meeting was nice & knew his tricks of the trade. Was quite helpful. He also got some boxes at a good price.
We booked the move over a month in advance but despite this were asked 4 times to change the moving time.
When they arrived (late) one guy just oozed the smell of a bottle of Jack Daniels which still would not make me give a poor review. From the time they arrived until the job was finished ,approximately 5 hours,I heard the two bosses say at least 50 times " you've got a lot of stuff", "I didn't think there was this much" etc. Included here was saying this to my mother which is unacceptable! This is a reason to shave points.
I was told by one mover that he dropped a box and that was fine, accidents happen, no worries. It was the other 4 boxes that were damaged with broken things in each one. At least tell me about it. Unacceptable.
Upon arrival to our new spot I was not too familiar with the streets & gave the wrong street to take. My fault & I felt pretty stupid on my own without Curtis yelling on a cell phone & being very upset. Earlier he had lost his cool with the workers, throwing cardboard off the truck and again yelling. Combine this with the foul language & it is unacceptable.
I was going to let this go & not even review this because despite all this they are likable hard working people.
However, maybe they should respect customers a lot more!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This person is not telling the truth because I would not say 50 times you have to much stuff but I did say 1 time and as far as boxes broken they packed there own boxes and we did not show up late because I called him to tell him the traffic was slow and he put us out of our way almost an hour and he gave us a tip at the end of the move so I don't know what his problem is.

ng from Mississauga
ng from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
0/10

movers

Had a very bad experience dealing with this company., They started out friendly, checked the contents of my house and gave me a price, which I agreed to pay just because of their good rating at HomeStars. On the day of the move. I was surprised to see a small truck and a bunch of inexperienced students. It took them hours to fill one small truck. On the last load, they threatened not to unload my stuff and not to pick up the rest that was left on the street not unless I pay them extra $400. I told them that there is no need to threaten me. I will agree to pay the extra charge no problem. they asked me to go to get the cash and hand it to them before they finish the job. Does this sound fair to you Curtis, if you were in my shoes? And where is the receipt that you were supposed to issue to your clients. Ive been waiting for mine for month and a half now. My name is Norman Galang to refresh your memory i moved August 28.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This is someone I do not know and did not move him and I don't have inexperience students I have experience workers and I don't know what this guy is talking about. Just call the other reviews and people will have a different outlook for my company. THANKS!

Jackie & Rob from Vaughan
Jackie & Rob from Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Move a huge heavy TV

Curtis-E movers moved our Sony 38 CRT tv. We call it the monster because its very very heavy! They were professional and very nice guys. We will be using them for our next move! Thx again Curtis!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the great review and look forward to doing your move next year. THANKS AGAIN!

dts
dts
7 reviews Mississauga, ON
0/10

Moving

I would never recommend this company to anyone. They showed up at our house with a truck half full of someone else's house contents, then tried to fit all of our house into half a truck. The house we purchased had their moving truck break down so they were a bit delayed, so when Curtis heard we were going to be delayed he threatened to take our stuff off the truck unless we paid more for the delay. The young guys working for him were very nice and worked hard. Curtis didn't even show up on site and we had to keep playing phone tag with him to resolve this problem. He yelled at my husband over the phone and was extremely rude. I would never use them or recommend them to anyone. To your response: We never discussed how many trips it would take, in fact I told you we didn't know when the house would close that day and asked you to come later in the day but your crew showed up at noon. As for asking for more money or you would take our stuff off the truck, you certainly did, so you mission statement is not truthful as it says "Curtis-E Movers offers guaranteed estimates, meaning, the price you’re quoted is the price you’ll pay. All too often, moving companies will quote one price, then at the end of the move, you’re hit with a bill much larger than you had initially expected because they failed to properly estimate the time your move would take. If we didn’t estimate enough time when providing you with your quote, that’s on us, not on you." So wrong! To make matters worse your crew left behind my kids hockey net and bikes even tho I asked them to make sure they get everything from the side of the house before they leave.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

My company showed up on time for the customer did the job right and me and the wife agreed on two trips and the day of the move the husband got upset and said he wasn't going to pay so I told my guys to take the load of the truck and come home. So then he said he would pay and the job was done on time and I did not ask for any other money. Not my problem if the other moving truck brook down. THANKS CURTIS!

Ronnie from Mississauga
Ronnie from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Apartment Move

What can you say about Curtis and his team that hasn't already been said, they are truly top notch, providing a reliable & customer service focused attitude. My move was part of a convergence of two residences into one, Curtis and his teams aced both moves, no damage, Curtis knew his stuff and evaluated the effort needed for both, he was bang on with all estimates. Friendly and down to earth service.

I recommend this service and would use it again,

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Ronnie, That review is so special for my company that it will help us in the future for other people to read and hopefully get business from it. THANKS SO MUCH!

Sandra from Mississauga
Sandra from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Movers

I used Curtis-E Movers for my move on July 24th from Hamilton to Mississauga. This was my first time using professional movers and was extremely satisfied with their service. The moving team was on time and came in less than the intial quote. I have now unpacked all of my belongings can say that nothing was broken/damaged. An easy move and will use their services in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

HI SANDRA, Thank you so much for the great review because it means a lot for future moves and I will always keep up the good work!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Curtis-E Movers

Curtis Torraville is the owner/ operator of Curtis-E Movers. In his 25+ years in the moving business, he has pretty much seen it all. On too many occasions, that has meant witnessing other moving companies failing to provide their clients with the level of service that they deserved. This was ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.