The Fireplace Center & Patio Shop

Fireplaces
1452 Cyrville Road Gloucester ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Fireplaces
The Fireplace Center & Patio Shop
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

66%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for The Fireplace Center & Patio Shop

Average customer rating:
6.7 10 (18 reviews)

Sort by

Unbelievable !!
Unbelievable !!
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Unbelievable !!!!

The Fireplace shop installed 2 fireplaces in my elderly fathers home. 14 years ago.After my father passed on I moved into the home. I decided to have the fireplaces cleaned and serviced. I called the fireplace shop to come and do the work as has been done by my father over the years.
The technician ( Dal) arrived to do the work a month later. Dal was great.He cleaned out the insert and got it working properly. As he moved on to the stand alone unit in the back. He advised me that there was a problem and would not do any maintenance on the unit. He told me " the unit was put in incorrectly by a technician who was firedby the Fireplace shop for putting units in improperly" He showed me that the 90 degree pipe in the back was not even attached to the unit properly, leaving several open gaps that were not sealed into the unit. He went down in the basement to verify the gas tag was in fact the Fireplace shop tag on the gas line. He took all the notes and told me the Fireplace shop will come and fix it for free. He told me if they did not contact me in two days to give them a call. Three days later no word so I called. Left a message no return call. I went down to the Shop the following day to speak to a manager (Dave). He was already aware of the situation and told me they were working on parts and not to worry. Before I left he gave me a date for roughly two weeks later that they would come and fix it. The following week I got a call from the owner on my cell phone asking for Dave my deceased father. (He had all the paperwork in front of him from when my father was alive obviously).He told me they would fix the issue for two thousand dollars !!! WE would split the cost. So essentially Andy the owner wanted me to pay for their improper installation. Of course I told him to forget it. He also mentioned that they might not have been the installers and that my elderly father who occupied the house alone could have changed the piping. Both the manager Dave and the Tech Dal told me the same story about the fired technician. Andy said he was a great technician. Bottom line Andy did not care, just wanted to try and get me to pay for the parts and tech to come out and fix it. Told him where to go.
You decide if they are right for you !!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Robert.It is unfortunate that you have decided to address this issue publicly.I have spoken at length with Dal and he recalls the conversation very differently.As a seasoned member of our team he understands that he is not in a position to offer services for free and when he returned to the store,he advised us of the situation immediately.You mention in the review that the original installation took place 14 years ago with no proof or purchase, and although our company,as well as our competitors do not offer warranties for 14 years,as a goodwill gesture we offered to cover 50% of the cost to remedy the problem,even though over the 14 years other persons,experienced or not,could have worked on the fireplace.Our intention was to help you out.I am available to speak with you in a reasonable manner to resolve this matter.Regards,Andy

Faye
Faye
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Fireplace Installation

We had a 65" linear Valor fireplace installed in our basement. From start to finish we were impressed with everything this company did. Our sales representative from the Carling Avenue store spent time explaining all of our options. He followed up with emails and phone calls to keep us in the loop. Our two installers were dedicated hard workers, courteous, knowledgeable and take pride in the company. We have no doubt in our mind that we chose the best company to do this job and the employees have proven this. P.S. I'm nice and toasty in our basement now!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Faye and thank you so much for your kind words and great review.We thank you for your business and we feel that you chose the best company to do this as well.Stay warm and toasty,Andy

Roger in Kemptville
Roger in Kemptville
1 review Kemptville, ON
10/10

Furnace

March 20, 2020

I bought my furnace from the Fire Place Center in 2013. I live about 45 minutes from the store so they kindly suggested that I use someone local to service my furnace as then I wouldn't be paying 1 1/2 hours travel. This was incredible in itself. A company taking care of their customers to a point where they give up their income for the sake of their customer. How great is that. This brings me to my last experience with them. My local furnace company was coming in for a routine maintenance check up. They told me that my heat exchanger had to be replaced. So they had to shut down my system because of the CO (carbon monoxide) would be leaking out. I phoned the Fire Place Center. The Fire Place Center uses a company for their installation and maintenance. I talked with the owner, Mike and he said that he would get on it right away. This was Thurs, Mar 19 at about 5:00 pm. On Friday, I got a call from Mike at 7:30 am. He told me that a crew was on their with a completely new furnace. A whole furnace! I was just flabbergasted. I asked Mike what time they would arrive. He said in a couple of hours, around 9:30 am. They were there at 8:40. Just unbelievable. I have never, and I mean never had such customer service and turnaround like this in my entire life. Nor have I heard of such service. I can't say enough about these 2 companies that work so hard to take care of their customers. Especially during this time of COVID 19 outbreak. The Fireplace and Patio store have shut their show room down. This was all handled by one of their managers Jack from home. Just an amazing story of 2 companies working together for the satisfaction of their customer. Thank you very much Jack, Jeff and Mike and the crew from that installed the new furnace. Words can not express enough how much over the top you have gone for this customer.
Roger

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Roger,Thanks so much for taking the time to offer your amazing review.We are extremely proud of our entire team and are thrilled that you appreciated our service.Stay warm and thanks again for the great review.Andy

HomeStars in Ottawa
HomeStars in Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
2/10

Gas Fireplace - replacement of fan, valve and burner

I needed a new fan for my gas fireplace and when they came to service it (which took 2 weeks) they said my main burner and valve also needed replacement. Had to wait 2 weeks for the parts, and when they came to replace they then said my pilot assembly was also broke and needed replacement. Now I am waiting again for parts...won't tell me how long it will take and I have to keep calling to get updates and service calls. I use my gas fireplace to heat my main floor and, in the middle of winter now, my house is freezing. This doesn't seem to matter to them in terms of giving me priority service or consideration.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,we sincerely apologize for your dissappointment.Your unit was unsafe when we performed our first scheduled service call.Additional parts were ordered and we were back at our next earliest appointment.Unfortunately another part broke and we were back on the day it arrived.We understand everything is functioning properly.All gas fireplaces should be serviced annually especially if using as a primary heat source.We hope you are satisfied with the final results.Thank you for your business,Andy.

Barbara in Ottawa
Barbara in Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

New Fireplace and surround

We had a new fireplace installed and Raymond at the Ottawa West location was very helpful in ensuring that we had a quality product with beautiful finishing. He worked with us to make this happen in consideration of our budget for the project. He and Kaitlin ensured that the work unfolded in a timely manner. Wade did a fine job on the surround work. All the people with whom we dealt were friendly and professional. We would return to the Ottawa West Fireplace Centre for another project.
Barbara

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Barbara and we appreciate that you were pleased with our work and for taking the time to offer your kind words and great review.We hope and trust you will get many years of satisfaction from you new fireplace.Thanks again,Andy

Private User
Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Fireplace installation

We bought the fireplace last fall and wanted it installed in January 2017. The installer discovered that we were sold a wrong part and we couldn't complete the installation. It took an entire month to get the new part, only to find out that part was also wrong. The company "rushed" the part and it took over 3 more weeks to receive. The company did not keep us apprised of the situation, we had to continuously call to get updates.
We asked to speak to the manager to discuss the considerable inconvenience we went through not being able to use the fireplace during the coldest part of the winter after we had already paid for it. Eventually we were offered compensation for just the price of the wrong part they had sold us.
Again, we asked to speak to the manager. The company ignored us and took the remainder of the installation costs without asking our permission. They didn't even tell us, we just found out when we opened our credit card statement.
I have never experienced such terrible customer service. We never received any apology and our requests to speak to the manager were ignored. We will never recommend this company to anyone.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Debbie and Greg,
We do sincerely apologize for any challenges or frustrations caused. I would emphasize your experience was in rather unusual circumstances and I can assure you not in any way typical.
The fireplace in questions was a heavily discounted 2014 ex display model from our demonstration trailer purchased as a "Cash and Carry" sale. This being a propane model, for which the original Natural gas conversion kit did not fit, the manufacturers had to piece together a replacement kit, hence the delay. You were never charged for this part and when our offer of compensation was not accepted, we emailed you in March asking what an acceptable offer would be but we received no response.
I understand our President contacted you personally this week which further demonstrates our commitment to customer service that has kept our customers coming back for 65 years.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Gas Fireplace Repair

I have a gas fireplace, approx. 10 yrs. old that stopped working. The pilot light was on but it just would not start. Top Hat came in to have a look, told me that they didn't know what the problem was, and would have to take it all apart at a min. cost of $900. I had a contractor come and replace the starter but also said that he didn't know what the problem was. A technician from the Fireplace center came in and fixed the very minor and seemingly quite obvious issue within 5 min. He serviced and cleaned the fireplace for a small fee. I had to wait a few weeks for an appointment but it's worth the wait when you receive honest and qualified service.

Was this review helpful?
awong098 in Ottawa
awong098 in Ottawa
3 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

New Gas Fireplace Insert

We had an old gas fireplace insert that hadn't been used in decades. The Fireplace Center team put in a new side vent, hooked up new gas lines, and put in a new Valor insert. It looks great and works well so far. The installation team was timely and considerate and the salesman was knowledgeable and helpful. It was expensive but worth it.

Was this review helpful?
Beth Bell
Beth Bell
6 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Experience Going Bad to Worse!

It's fireplace season!

And if you're thinking about getting a new one, think twice about The Fireplace Center and Patio Shop on Carling.

I bought mine in Sept 2015. After repeat visits to "fix" the issues, (at least 5 since installation in Nov 2015...maybe 6), this is what I'm left with: visible seams in the mantel......but then no mantel, since the discoloured one was removed (it turned yellow after less than 5 days of installation), white spray paint on the unit itself, the bottom coming out of the unit due to a gap created when shimming, and my favourite - the graffiti-like black spray paint on the front of the fireplace, which was the "fix" to cover the white spray paint. Who wouldn't want this piece of art in their living room? (Couldn't he have at least done a fancy design?)

The photos speak for themselves, in terms of the "quality" work provided by The Fireplace Centre. Not to mention the "quality" customer service they've provided, since they have all my money and I have an exposed, damaged fireplace. Awesome!

I think what amazes me the most is that they're controlling how this story ends. I could leave disappointed with the quality of service, but pleased about how it was handled, which would dramatically change what I tell people. But they don't seem to understand that. Or care.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We sincerely apologize for your dissatisfaction as this is not the usual customer experience we provide.We removed the product and returned your money.Andy Cotnam

Cold Feet in Ottawa
Cold Feet in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Stove Dead after 1 year

Hello all, purchased a Hearthstone stove from the fireplace centre and patio shop, the firsrt year was great, now in the second season, a little more than a month into it, our wood stove is not functional. We had to hound the fireplace centre for almost 2 weeks before they sent someone out to look at it. At the time we were told that all the gaskets were shot and needed replacing. Odd since the stove wasn't even 2 years old. Well again another week and a half went by and constantly trying to get someone out here. First they told me it could take over a month to get a gasket kit, I had to keep complaining and email the manufacturer before I finally got some action. Well now it is the coldest day of the year and my wood stove still is not radiating sufficient heat to use it, have to use my propane furnace. A month long and still cannot use a product we spent almost 7 thousand dollars for. I won't even mention that the hearth pad is falling apart as well!!! I have nothing but distain for this company and the stove manufacturer, my advice run like the wind from this place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Mr M.,

Thank you for your feedback and for drawing attention to your issue. I am glad you were able to fit us into your busy schedule and that during our extensive service visit we were able to demonstrate the correct operation of your Hearthstone stove and that it is working to your satisfaction.
Your Hearthstone stove is an excellent example of a modern high efficiency EPA approved wood stove and, as you experienced, operates differently from the old wood stoves our parents had at the cottage. The HPBA (Hearth, Patio & BBQ Association) recognized there is a learning curve to using EPA stoves which prompted them to release a series of video’s about the proper way to select, buy, split and store wood, and how to light both catalytic and non-catalytic wood stoves and ensure optimum efficient operation. As a result of your experience we now feature these video’s on our website
http://fireplacecenter.com/About_Us/Blog/EntryId/12/How-to-Light-an-EPA-Wood-Stove-and-Operate-Your-Stove-Efficiently.aspx
and are training our installers to educate new customers on the optimum operation of their new stoves. Rest assured we are constantly evaluating and improving our training procedure to ensure our customers are satisfied with our service and our products.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Fireplace Center & Patio Shop

60 years serving Ottawa and the Outaouais with outstanding customer service. Family owned and operated one of Canada's largest showrooms with over 200 working fireplaces on display as well as the latest BBQ and patio furniture.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Fireplaces pros in Ottawa?