Hardwall Outdoor Living`

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Box 91087 Royal Oak Calgary AB T3G5W6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

46%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Hardwall Outdoor Living`

Average customer rating:
6.7 10 (3 reviews)

Sort by

Randa in Ottawa
Randa in Ottawa
0 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Incomplete project

We hired Hardwall Outdoor Living in the spring for a summer project in our backyard. We needed our chain link fence replaced, to extend our patio, replace our stairs, and to replace some sod. We were told the job would take 3-4 days. When we paid our deposit, we were told we were slotted in for the third week of July. On July 22 the crew came and started the job. They removed our dog run, as agreed, removed our back fence which was supposed to be replaced, and removed out existing stairs and replaced them with the stone stairs we had agreed upon, except Brain quoted us for half the amount of stones required and the stairs only covered half of our patio door. We were told we had to pay $1500 more to get the additional stones for the steps. We transferred those funds right away. We were then told they did not have a permit to drive onto the green space and needed to apply for it. We waited well over a week and they had not returned. On Aug 2nd I emailed the company asking what the plan was, as we still didnt have a fence nor a usable back yard. We were told they would be there on Tuesday, they did not show up on Tuesday however they did appear on Wednesday and they fixed the stairs. On Thursday Aug 8th I emailed again, as noone had shown up. I stated we would really like our back fence back up and also to know what the plan was for completion. I was told they do not "respond to micromanagement or demanding clientele. " Although I was simply asking what the status of our project was. We were over two weeks without a fence, and we have a dog and a young child. They crew returned on Aug 9th and did some more stone work. On that day, they left a large pile of polymeric sand on our patio, which hardened and became stuck to our stones. They crew did not return again after August 9th. We texted several times the week of the 12th and did not get a reply. On Aug 19th we called and spoke to JIm and he said he would let us know, at 5pm on the 19th we got a text message stating the crew would come on Wed Aug 21. Wed Aug 21 the crew did not show up. My husband spoke to Jim in the office and he stated the crew was "MIA" and this wasn't the first time this had happened. He also told my husband " people think we are in the business to make people happy, we are in the business to make money" at this point, we decided to terminate Hardwalll Outdoor Living and pursue our complaint with BBB and Services Alberta. When we did speak to Brain about the pile of polymeric sand, he initially denied his company left it there, and then retracted that statement and transferred us $250 to get it cleaned. Lastly, we were just informed by out new contractor, that the stairs Hardwall outdoor living installed, do not meet code. I emailed them about this, and they did not respond. We chose this company because of their good reviews, and pictures of quality work. Sadly this left us without a backyard and bearing a very large cost since we had to hire someone else to clean up after them. Please beware before hiring this company.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Outdoor patio and small retaining wall

Hardwall Outdoor Living graded our sloping yard, giving us a nice level area for a stone patio, bordered by a mahogany retaining wall. We also had them do the stones down the side of our house.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your rating. It was a pleasure working on your project.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB

First Review

10/10

Retaining wall in backyard with slope.

We used three landscaping companies before. Our backyard had slope towards house, we wanted to get retaining wall done by a true professional. And we are happy that we went with this company. In the beginning only we were told about deposit which we paid in September. We were told that it would start depending on weather in 2014. Later due to frost we had to wait little but, but as soon as weather got little okay, guys came and digged backyard to install retaining wall. We were so surprised that they worked so hard in cold, they arrived in time in morning, and worked non stop. Brian supervised well, and the team of the two boys is very polite, professional and sincere. They finished work within a week. Later in 2015 summer, I informed them of some little concern, and they came back and took care of it as well.We would definitely recommend this company. Deposit everyone required, and sometimes weather play factor for delay in work, but for sure this company is run by experienced team!

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Hardwall Outdoor Living`

Professional journeyman landscaper with 30 years experience in commercial and residential landscaping projects in Western Canada. Services (include but not limited to): - General Landscaping - Treescaping - Irrigation & Lighting - Water features - Outdoor Living Areas (patios, decks, gazebos, etc. ) - Drives/ Pathways (concrete, interlocking, paving stones, ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Landscape Contractors & Designers pros in Calgary?