Appleseed Barrhaven/ Westend

Snow Removal
Nepean ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Snow Removal
Appleseed Barrhaven/ Westend
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

52%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Appleseed Barrhaven/ Westend

Average customer rating:
7.1 10 (64 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

SNOW REMOVAL

After 51 cm. of snow, the crew at Appleseed deed a fantadtic job, driveway was perfect, everything went as Ken said it would.

Congratulations to the whole team.

Thank You

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Appleseed Snow removal

After waiting 14 hours for our driveway to be cleared, along with 2 calls and two emails, I have to say that I don't think this service could be any worse. 8 hours ago, they went past our house but did not clear the driveway, and have not responded to our emails ( except a robo-response) or come back to do so since then. This is unacceptable, considering there have been only 2 real snow events this year, and service has been terrible on both.
Extremely disappointed Appleseed customer

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

I am very sorry to hear of your experience during the record breaking snow event. It sounds as though you may be emailing a different office location as all of the emails received in our office ARE responded to directly. Certainly our men have been working very hard to get to the laneways amidst the many challenges of side streets impeding traffic or abandoned cars throughout the streets. They do continue to remain out today re-clearing laneways and chasing the city plows as they make their way through to clean up the city streets now too.

Robyn from Ottawa
Robyn from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
6/10

Snow Removal Service

We've used Appleseed for approximately 3 years now. The first two years were a dream - the snow service was prompt and the customer service was excellent. This year however, I find myself noticing a significant decline in both their customer service and the underlying snow removal service, as follows:
a) don't bother calling their number, as you are automatically routed to an outsourced call answering centre with no knowledge of the Company, or you as a customer. You can't talk to anyone from the company, all you can do is leave a message and hope they call you back.
b) don't expect a call back - when our driveway was missed or not otherwise cleared, messages left with the call service went unanswered. (on three different occasions). At one point they called regarding an expired credit card, and it took over 4 days of calling and chasing them down to give them my new number. (I'm still shaking my head at that one)
c) the snow clearing service has declined. Our snow service used to the envy of the street - many of our neighbours switched to Appleseed as, in prior years, we were the only driveway cleared on a timely basis. In the current season, my driveway has never been cleared before I go to work, and is rarely cleared by the time I get back. (regardless of when the snowfall ends - in one case, it was 18 hours after the snow ended) I leave for work seeing neighbours who use other companies having cleared driveways. When they do arrive, they usually do a good job, but there is a marked and noticeable decline in the level of service over the prior two years.

I suspect the issue is one of expansion. This year, we noted that the division has taken on a significantly larger number of contracts in our subdivision. In the past, they limited the number of contracts they took to ensure high service levels - it seems as if they may have departed from this practice.

Am I disappointed with the service this year - yes. Was it horrible - no. It simply isn't what it used to be, and that has me assessing my snow removal contract for next year. I truly hope someone with decision making authority within the company reads this and steers this company back on course. They used to be exceptional. (Additional comment added after reading the company's response - I'm a little disappointed that the response to my very real and very genuine comments was a half page missive of how, as a customer, I am wrong. Wow. All I will add under these circumstances is "thank you for your prompt response")

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

I'm really disappointed to hear your opinion has deteriorated over 4 years. Compliments have gone up and complaints have gone way down over the past few years.
Most reviews this year are ALL 10's or 9's at best so I'm a bit perplexed here? I actually ADDED 5 more new tractors AND reduced driveway numbers for every driver. This has REDUCED wait times in almost all areas.
Timing does however change when the snowstorms themselves happen at differing times then last year as they have this year. The timing ( and days and amounts) has been a bit different. Some routes may also have been changed a bit and you may now be closer to the end but still service has only improved according to the customers.

NOW ABOUT LEAVING MESSAGES: (and us not calling you back)
We're NOT being rude by not returning your call...we are being ' effective & efficient'....we GOT your message and are in fact dealing with it!
It's intentional AND it is our stated policy.
We state this policy MANY times about calling us!...We don't return calls during a snowstorm!!
It doesn't mean we arnt in fact addressing your issue, we are.
Ma y call and don't even supply an address or name to us?
We communicate mostly LIVE by email.....if you arnt on that program then this could be an issue for you and you may want to start taking advantage of it.
80% of my clients email us their issues and we respond back all the time.
We make it clear that....We ' do not' return phone messages.....instead...we DEAL with your issues with the messages recieved. We'd rather spend our time and human resources dispatching a solution then trying to call people back 'during a storm' just to say " yup, we got your message" .
Every email issue is responded to within 30 minutes AND if you get our advanced 'email bulletins' you should be very aware of our start times.
Unfortunately, without an address here i cant really attempt to look into your particular circumstances and place on a route but certainly hope you rejoin is next year.
Ken Dale
President

Debbie  from Ottawa
Debbie from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

snow removal

would personally like to thank Appleseed most of all one of your drivers named Jeff. He comes by and clears a dog walk for us. As one if the people who uses it, I personally think it's great that you as management allow him to come by and clear a path.
We have quite a few older people who with out Jeff couldn't do there daily walks with there dogs.
Please pass this on to Jeff and let him know we appreciate what he does for us here.
Thank you very much APPLESEED for making it possible for Jeff to do our dog walk area.

Have an great day
Thank you
Debbie

Was this review helpful? Yes No
David Morse from Ottawa
David Morse from Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
8/10

snow clearing

I have been an Appleseed customer for 3 years. they are always polite and helpful in person and on the phone. Their web updates are extremely helpful in letting us know what to expect and when. They are not nit pickers and will clear the snow when there is a need even if the 5cm total has not been met but wind is causing drifts. They come around again after the city snow plows go by.
Thank you to the whole team

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Tanis from Ottawa
Tanis from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

snow removal

love Appleseed Snow...
Winter can be horrific, but this company is obviously proactively tweeking their service to give it's customers the best and most convenient job possible.
Great communication (warning when they're on their way so you can move your car)....humour (to keep us all sane), and professionalism at it's finest.
Great company. They honestly CARE about their customers.
xxoo

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Suhas from Ottawa
Suhas from Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Snow Removal

We have been Appleseed customers for the past 7 years. The service has been consistently outstanding. The drivers are excellent - I cannot recall my driveway ever having been missed, nor have we ever suffered property damage of any kind. Appleseed drivers follow city snowplows and clear our driveway after the plow goes down our street (so we are never "plowed in"). They also often have courtesy runs - they clear our driveway the day after a snowfall while we are at work so that it is clear when we return home (this is in addition to their regular snow cleaning). They also will often clear our driveway even if we have less than 5cm of snow fall - this goes well beyond what is in the snow removal contract.

I appreciate the GPS-based e-mail alerts that Appleseed sends out, so that we know when a tractor is coming to clear our driveway. The owner, Ken Dale, always sends out emails before, during and after big snowfalls to keep customers informed on the plan and outcomes for snow removal.

Appleseed has outstanding customer service and we will be customers for years to come!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Veeresh N from Ottawa
Veeresh N from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Snow Plowing

Apple Seed has been doing the snow plowing job for my drive way for the past three years. So far, they have never missed a single chance to clean my driveway. Infact, they have done few courtesy cleaning, even when they snow fall was less than 5 centimeters. I am glad to get the GPS updates, when the driver is around my area. It helps me to know whether my drive way is attended or not, when I am far away. Keep up the good work!!! There are so many bad stories about the snow plowing contractors, but this one i would recommend to anyone.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Carol-Anne Hoard from Ottawa
Carol-Anne Hoard from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Snow Removal

For the past eight years, I have contracted with several snow removal companies and have received, at best, sporadic or no service, as well as property damage. As a result, I have missed work, appointments and have, on occasion, been stranded for up to two days. When one is paying for snow removal for a long, double driveway, and the city ploughs block the driveway in, it is almost impossible to shovel the snow and ice out. This year, I switched to Appleseed Barrhaven and my stress levels have decreased, for the first time, in years. I can always count on reliable and efficient service from Appleseed and courteous responses to my queries. I also appreciate the emails from the President on upcoming snowstorms, as well as the notifications of tractors in my area. Having lost my husband as a result of shovelling snow, I do not underestimate the value of a reliable snow removal service. While I sometimes wish that my driveway is cleared early in the route, all the time, it is not realistic. I have reliable service and I am grateful for that. I will definitely be using Appleseed next winter and highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for your kind acknowledgement. I can only imagine the anxiety in which the snow must create for you with your situation and I am thankful that we are able to ease the burden a little for you. We look forward to providing you service for many years to come.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Appleseed Barrhaven/ Westend

Barrhaven Appleseed Serving: Barrhaven & Stonebridge/ Half Moon Bay areas
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Snow Removal pros in Nepean?