Canadian Design Wood Flooring

Floor Laying & Refinishing
Scarborough ON M1P3C2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Floor Laying & Refinishing
Canadian Design Wood Flooring
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

66%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Canadian Design Wood Flooring

Average customer rating:
6.4 10 (10 reviews)

Sort by

Hassan
Hassan
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Basement flooring

The workers very professional ,came on time as promised. Finished on time. No mess.
I believe Vic gave us very reasonable price. Very friendly and helpful. We will definitely refer them to our friends. Thanks Vic

Was this review helpful?
Daniel in Toronto
Daniel in Toronto
0 reviews Ajax, ON
2/10

Would Never Refer

This company did the countertops in my kitchen and a full kitchen renovation for my mom. It's run by a dad and son and the son, Vic was the one who worked with us. I would never, ever recommend this place to anyone.

My countertops look good, but you can tell it's low grade as black marks randomly appear and it stains easily. This company sub-contracts their jobs, so there is no accountability to the time they show up. They also left several punctures in my walls when they brought the countertops upstairs and parked on my lawn. Vic's response was that he'd have the punctures fixed. My wife followed up with him a few times, promises to come were made, but no one has showed. No accountability. I let it slide.

My mom's kitchen was to be done within 2.5 weeks. It finished after 7 weeks because Vic had no respect for my mom's time. As a businessman, he should be in contact with her, but she had to call him to find out when his sub-contractors would show up. He would provide times and they were always late or no-showed. When she would call him back, he wouldn't answer or make up excuses like his phone wasn't working or things got busy. He never apologized and took full advantage of a 75 year old. It's pathetic. Cabinets look good, but one of the cabinets was to go flush against the wall and because the wall wasn't straight, they couldn't do it. Now, there is a space between the wall and cabinet. This is something they should've realized when they did the blueprint.

The backsplash was done terribly. The tiles were not evenly cut along corners and to fix the issue, they caulked it! Their contract stipulates to make your complaints within two days, which my mom did, but he could care less. When I followed up with Vic, I was told the job was done 'perfectly' although he never showed up to see it. He also said he 'feels bad for me' and to come to his workplace and he'll 'show me how to cut tile', by text.

7 weeks to do the job, 3 to get a pantry door. Sure, the guy making the door had COVID, but that's still between the 7 weeks. The day after the door was delivered, Vic was ready to get his money and called a total of 30 times (my mom wasn't available). When he showed up, he said it was B+ work, but we shouldn't complain because everything else was done well and that he threw in a spice rack and lazy-Susan (the LS was negotiated in the deal). He also said that 20 other homes had their backsplash done this way and no one complained. We would have to pay more to have the backsplash re-done. Reasoning with him is like reasoning with a 5 year old. He offered to give my mom $100 back and after counting the money, left without giving it to her because I argued with him.

I can't complain about Kiru, the guy who did much of my mom's kitchen work. He's extremely hard working and seems like a great guy. He painted my mom's kitchen (paid separately) and I don't blame him for the cabinet/wall issue. He should have realized his tile cutting was bad and fixed it right away, but he didn't and ruined the backsplash.

Vic is awful. He's a kid that doesn't know how to treat customers. Just pick up your phone, notify your customers of when work will be done and don't make up excuses. The worst thing you can do is no-show and make someone wait all day, for several days. You should also attend the worksites once in a while to see the work done, but it's clear he just wants his money ASAP. Take some accountability and don't mistreat the elderly.

I believe in supporting local business, but with renovations, maybe you're better off going with a reputable company and save yourselves the headache.

This is Dan by the way, in case it isn't clear.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Kitchen Renovations

I had my kitchen done by Canadian Design Wood Flooring. Very professional and clean work, including maintaining a high level of attention to details. The job was completed on time, within budget, and the final result was even better than I expected. Vic made some good recommendations to product selections and did an outstanding job. I do get a lot of compliments about my kitchen, very classy. Thanks Vic to you and your team for a job well done.
I would highly recommend Canadian Design Wood Flooring for any kitchen and countertop carpentry.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen and Staircase Review

The team from Canadian Design and Wood Flooring was efficient, hands on and friendly. I was so happy with the service I actually recommend them to my sisters for their craftiness and overall customer service. This team is also extremely accommodative, working toward my specific needs promptly. I had a lot of last minute needs and everything was taken care of. Vivic was extremely concise with the work that was done and pointed out little flaws that need touch up that I did not even notice. I appreciated that such a constant effort was being put into the work. My new staircase and kitchen look wonderful and is now everything I imagined it could be.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Renovation

The job was completed but it looks more like a DYI instead of professional workmanship. The home was left in a mess with excessive dust everywhere. Paint spots left to dry, not cleaned up. Mortar left to dry on top of tiles without being cleaned off. The grout between tiles is dirty since workers walked on it with dirty boots before it dried. Fixtures installed in peculiar places and one has already fallen off. Clearly the workers are not adequately skilled and the operators Siva & Vic are usually absent so there is very little project management.

Disappointing.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi I'm not to sure who you are since i haven't received any complaints on the jobs done this year as of yet. I cant really help you or address any of these issues if you have a real concern feel free to contact me and ill help you out. We have many customers that are refereed to us because of our service if you feel that we didn't meet your expectations please contact me and well work to find you a resolution thanks vic

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Stairs n Hallway Flooring

I am having the same problem now...said the work was going to take 2 weeks and now in its 3rd weeks. My house is a mess, dust in every spot and made it way to rooms

Contradicting what was said in person and then have something else on contract. Only interesting in getting payments. I think they are taking down payment money for jobs and do not have the proper manpower to do the work. They talk a good talk and that's all.

The same issues with the workers I am experiencing, very shoddy unprofessional work. Saw the worker once since the work started on my place....do not work weekends.
Have to keep complaining to get results.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

hey i hope all is well its almost a year since your stairs renovation was done Im sorry for keeping to the given time line of 2 to 3 business weeks to get your stairs done. I also did mention to you before we signed the contract my workers do not work on weekends. It did take the extra third week to complete which i added as an extra time period in case of any issues with material. there were no issues with materiel instead in the middle of the job you decided to paint you iron picket first insisting i have to paint them for you free. I politely declined and gave you the option to paint them your self before i install them. In which you did and we completed the stairs renovation for you by the end of the renovation you seemed very happy with the end result but thank you for the review.

Rupa in Scarborough
Rupa in Scarborough
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

kitchen cabinets

I met Siva and his son Vivek Siva for a quote to renovate my kitchen. Vivek is a young entrepreneur, who is aspiring to grow in this business professionally. Vivek honestly explained as pros and cons of material suited to renovate our kitchen at a competitive price meeting all required standards. The crew members were professional and worked to my satisfaction. The customer service provided by Vivek and his crew members were excellent. I would recommend Canadian Design Wood Flooring for all renovations at a competitive price to customer satisfaction.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

New hardwood floors and kitchen counter

I would highly recommend this company for renovations. The crew arrived on time every day and the work was completed in the time line we were given. The crew was exceptional - they paid attention to details and took great pride in their work. VIc was available and responded to questions promptly.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you for the review !

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

extremely horrible service

Siva the owner and his son have made many promises that they have not kept up with. They promised to start projects at a certain time while only starting them a month later with no answering or returning phone calls. They have also sold me material and when I went to pick it up gave me something else saying that they had nothing left of the one I asked for but they had another similar one. now when returning to get more of that material they said it was no longer made so then I had to re purchase the entire amount of the original one i had asked for. To be honest this is a vary shady company.
The workmanship is also very bad and finishing touches are not taking in accountability. The workers that are sent never arrive when they say and normally never arrive during normal working hours. The workers don't clean up their mess when they finish working and have also asked me to use tools and power tools that they should have themselves.

All and all this is a very poor service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi I'm not to sure who you are since i haven't received any complaints on the jobs done like this for the last 10 years that sounds some what similar to your issue. i don't really understand why we did multiple services for you and you were such a good repeat customer coming back for other works if the first job was done poorly. I cant really help you or address any of these issues if you have a real concern feel free to contact me and ill help you out. We have many customers that are refereed to us because of our service if you feel that we didn't meet your expectations please contact me and well work to find you a resolution thanks vic

Jan in North York
Jan in North York
9 reviews North York, ON
10/10

New Hardwood Flooring, removal of existing carpet

I came upon an ad for Canadian Design Wood Flooring in a mail flyer and was pleasantly surprised by the promotion they had for hardwood flooring/installation. I went to the Scarborough showroom on Midland Ave., (there is another one in Brampton). I was met by Siva, the owner, and Logan, the sales representative. It is a small showroom, with little overhead, therefore, able to provide great prices. They both came to see the job at my house to give a firm estimate. Siva and Logan are friendly, and knowledgeable and stick to their word, offering the best price I could find for this huge job. The showroom has ample samples of all types of flooring, and offers many more services as well... carpets, granite countertops, etc. I was very impressed with the selection of flooring available and found an almost exact match to the Oak hardwood I had installed myself with a friend the year before on the main floor. Never again! Not worth the pain, the strain, the mess, the duration.....and no savings.
The job entailed removing all of the existing carpet and underpad, and moving and relocating all of the furniture from 3 fully furnished bedrooms. I also wanted all furniture fitted with felt pads and protectors. The existing baseboard required a trim piece to cover the necessary small gap between floor and wall. They said they'd do the job as soon as I wanted it done. And they did. Wood was delivered a few days ahead for acclimatizing, and the installers came as scheduled.

The installers, Vino, and his assistant, Rajah, were beyond excellent. Vino is an absolute professional, with talent beyond words. I have never seen anyone work with wood floors like this before. It was like watching a magician. He is a talented perfectionist, and a fast worker at the same time. He had every possible tool to assist the job for flawless installation. I was blown away with how beautifully he worked around the 11 door frames, and the adjoining ceramic tile in the bathroom. He and Rajah were delightful to work with. I was so very pleased. They worked tirelessly for two days to move all furniture from one room to the other and back again, removing all carpeting and underpadding first. They put protectors on all the furniture for me and did a beautiful job finishing the baseboard trim. All the dust and mess were cleaned up as they were working. I would recommend this company and these installers to anyone who wants a great job and gorgeous hard wood floors! Thank you!
Jan Green July 2012

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Floor Laying & Refinishing pros in Scarborough?