Simple moving job gone wrong
This started off good as it seemed very easy to book everything, the move out went fairly smooth over 2 days (1 to pack & 1 to move). I was also using their storage service for 2 months before needing to have them move my belongings to a different location.
Certain items in the house/garage were just thrown into boxes and not organized, in order to make time and ensure they received a tip, so much was just thrown into boxes.
Then I proceeded to schedule the move out (2months later). They arrived 1.5 hours after we agreed (taking up 1.5 hours of a 3 hour elevator slot), proceeded to empty the truck. We then discovered our couch cushions were soaked through, even though they had been wrapped in plastic, then our kitchen table top was damaged, a box of about 30-50 hats damaged. To which we proceed to request a discussion on compensation before we pay the full amount. At this point the supervisor, Reshala, told Nick and his movers to stop working because we wanted to discuss this.
This then ate into the time, so we lost the elevator to the next booking. So the movers had to wait 2.5 hours to be able to use the elevator again. In the midst they were arguing that we need to pay for the time they were waiting, even though they were the ones delayed. The supervisor refused to agree to any fault and taking no ownership. They essentially held our items hostage. At this point I had to agree to paying for additional 3 hours otherwise they were going leave all my belongings on the curb or take them back to the storage. We agreed I wouldnt have to pay the $200 for an additional 4 days of storage because of the water damage, which is crazy already because a full month is $500, so it makes so sense that only 4 days is that much!!
The supervisor was rude, condescending and arrogant, no customer service at all.
2 days later we discovered 2 items were missing, proceeded to request they look for it or compensate again. We agreed to $150 cash for one they couldnt find and dropping off the other. To then be met by Reshela, supervisor, 4.5 hours late, who had a letter for me to sign essentially paying me off to not provide my feedback or reviews. After I didnt agree, took the $150 back as their stance was this was for my difficulties; however this was a direct compensation for the lost item. So now Im left missing this item, damaged belongings, no compensation for the missing item, paying almost $500 extra than I should have.
Such a bad a experience and 0 customer service from the office. No one has called me to apologize or try and make anything better. I would not recommend this company to anyone moving or needing storage. You are not allowed to access the storage unit, which should have been the red flag, its clear they had a leak and were trying to hide it, who knows if they even have insurance to cover it, or if was sitting in someones garage, as I never saw photos either!
- Approximate cost of services:
- Company Response
Firstly, we’d like to show and express our apologies in terms of a couple of your items not being in the condition that we’ve picked them up in. It was truly out of our control due to a leakage in the storage, unfortunately we were not aware of that until we picked up your items for delivery, as we opened the storage, placed your items in and closed it until you requested for a delivery date. We offered you to resolve the incident by dry cleaning your couch cushions and refinishing the top of the wooden table by a professional WoodWorking Company. You requested financial compensation in the amount of $200. We agreed to that. You accepted the payment and signed a document where it stated that you would have no complaints in terms of this particular matter. We truly believed that this problem was resolved.
Secondly, as you're aware we start at 9:00 am, but as an exception for you we started loading the truck at 8am, which was also confirmed to you through email. As well as accommodating you by switching your move in a very short time span because you weren't able to book your elevator time slot on Friday and wanted a Monday slot. Please keep in mind that reloading the items from the storage to the truck takes time, as well as driving to your location from our storage. It is the client’s responsibility to book the elevator time slots accordingly in order for the job to be finished. Due to the limited elevator time, the movers did not have enough time to unload your items in the time of your elevator booking. We offered you options to unload them into a storage room in order for you not to pay for the waiting time or deliver the items on a different date when you can book the elevator, or wait on the spot for the new elevator time to be available. You chose to wait until the elevator was free again, all of the working and waiting time the customer is responsible to pay for. This issue was also handled on the day of the move. Both matters were solved based on how you wanted them handled.
Thirdly, as for the conversation you had with one of our crew managers, we have listened to the phone recording to make sure the conversation was respectful and in fact it was, no harsh tone was used. But we still apologize if you’ve perceived it in a rude manner, was not the intention.
Also, today (April 21st, 2023) you were not given an exact time of arrival of our representative; the representative informed you that he had to go to the office to pick up the cash and go to the storage to pick up the dolly in which then he would give you an estimated time of arrival. And then he informed you he was on the way to you and provided you with the estimated time frame. Again, we apologize for the miscommunication.
In terms of your missing items (the dolly and the night stand); one of the managers went to the storage to double check it once we received your email. The storage was completely empty. The dolly was found in our truck, as the movers thought by mistake it is our company's dolly (as it looks the same as ours). Once we confirmed that with the crew manager, you were contacted by our company representative and informed that we can deliver the dolly to you and we can compensate you in the amount of $150 for the night stand, as a good will gesture. As per the pictures and prices in your email, the brand new night stand costs $69.99. With steps that we took to resolve this issue we thought the matter would be handled as you receive your dolly back and receive brand new night stands (instead of the old piece of furniture).
We’d like again to apologize for the inconvenience and deeply regret the circumstances that took place.
We are terribly sorry you felt our services did not meet your expectations, however, all measures were taken to provide you a professional moving experience.