Home Service & Repair Specialist

Roofing
Georgina ON L0E 1R0
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Roofing
Home Service & Repair Specialist
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

40%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Home Service & Repair Specialist

Average customer rating:
4.7 10 (21 reviews)

Sort by

Joymax from Toronto
Joymax from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Eave trough cleaning

Home Service & Repair Specialist
905-237-5525
Georgina
ON
L0E 1R0
CANADA

My service was done by a technician name Damian. His attitude wasn't the best and the same can be said for his quality of work. I hired Home Service & Repair Specialists to do our eaves trough cleaning. My expectation of cleaning was removing any debris ending up in the eaves trough. However, Damian definition of cleaning was to use his hands, without using any tools, to just pull out only visible dirt. If it was that simple, why would I hire someone to do a simple job? When he claims his task was completed, I took a look at my lower level eave trough and noticeable leafs and dirt still remains. After pointing that out to him, he insisted it was impossible to remove everything and refusing to redo that part of the house. I would recommend future potential customers to stay away from this company. If you do a little research, this company does not receive many positive reviews (I regret that I did not do this before hiring this company).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

as per the add you did pay for a hand cleaning, if there were any issues with the job performed please feel free to contact the office or contact me directly,
Shawn 647-379-3499.
as always it is extremely easy to get a dissatisfied customer to display his or her thought online without contacting management. but once the job is done and you are happy with it, so easy to forget and move on. with out so much as a whisper online about the fantastic service you have received. As always I am happy to hear from a satisfied or dissatisfied customer just the same, also willing to correct any situation that requires my attention.
Shawn Hackney

Sajini from Milton
Sajini from Milton
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

Gutter replacement, de-ice electrical line, roof repair etc.

Home Service and Repair did a good job on my home, on multiple items which needed fixing eg: Replacment of a gutter, ran an electrical de-ice line, rapaired my roof and downspouts, cleaned gutters etc.
Their services are well priced, James who worked on my home is outstanding. Lisa (scheduler) very professional and ir's a dependable company. They completed all services in a timely manner. I will definitely continue to use their services in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you, Sajini for your generous review! We would be more than happy to help you out with any problems you may have in the future.

Aubrey M. from Pickering
Aubrey M. from Pickering
1 review Whitby, ON
9/10

Eavestrough repair

Professional and courteous service. I was given a clear explanation of what was required and when the work would be performed. The work was completed to my satisfaction and as scheduled.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Aubrey, it was a pleasure helping you out!

Christine Barber from Toronto
Christine Barber from Toronto
1 review Scarborough, ON
10/10

Home Service and Repair Specialist

I called Home Service and Repair Specialist after I received a flyer with their company ad in it. I needed eavestrough cleaning and some repair. When they came they also notified me that it looked like raccoons were trying to get into my home through the roof vents. I had noticed loud noises on my roof at night and I certainly didn't want raccoons in my house. Chris put my fears at rest and told me that they could fix the vent situation and do the eavestroughing the next day. The next day they came and did a great job of putting my mind at rest. In my estimation they're an amazing company, they totally put the customer first and foremost and this was demonstrated on my initial call to the company's receptionist Lisa. As a satisfied customer I guarantee they won't disappoint.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

So happy we could help you out, Christine! Thanks for the fabulous review- it has been a pleasure helping you!

paul pappas from Toronto
paul pappas from Toronto
2 reviews Scarborough, ON
10/10

Eavestrough Cleaning

I was fortunate to have the dynamic duo of Chris & Larry clean my eaves. Not only was the price reasonable but they were very personable, professional & accomodating. Chris was good enough to give me a free 15 point roof inspection report that will prove invaluable down the line. These gents did such a good job that I would not hesitate to call upon them again for any future requirements.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Paul! We greatly appreciate customers who are as pleasant as yourself!

mabel  from Toronto
mabel from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

eavestrough repair

I wish I had read the reviews on this company before I contracted the company to repair my eavestrough. I contacted the company in early June for an estimate of the repair. Tim came promptly on Saturday to inspect what work needed to be done. He gave me a written quote, requested a small deposit and assured me that they will do the work by the middle of the following week latest. But he asked me to call the office on Monday for an exact date and time. I called the office Monday morning and spoke to Lisa who gave me a morning appointment for the middle of the week. That appointment was cancelled in the morning on the day. The reason given is that a thunderstorm was forecast for the afternoon, although my appointment was in the morning. She rescheduled me for Saturday but again no one showed up on the appointed time. The next time I spoke to Lisa, I asked about Tim who wrote me the contract. She said he is no longer with the company. She then put me in contact with the owner of the company, Shawn who said they were overwhelmed with work but rescheduled me for 1 pm. June 25, a week and a half later. Shawn called in the early afternoon of June 25 to cancel the appointment because of rain, although it was not raining in my area and it never rained that day. He rescheduled for July 4. I had an uneasy feeling about the company so I called the office and spoke to Lisa later on that day. I asked if the company knew what the repair entailed since Tim has left the company. She assured me that Tim briefed the team before he left. Just to be on the safe side, I took a picture of the broken eavestrough with my iPhone and e-mailed it to the office. A serviceman, James from the company came today, July 4 at the appointed time. He took a look at the eavestrough and said he cannot do the job by himself and that he did not have the colour and the length required. I told him that I had sent a picture to Lisa and Lisa told me the company knew what work had to be done. James called the owner Shawn and told him the job requires two men. Shawn asked to speak to me and said he would not be making money on the job and therefore would refund the deposit. James refunded the deposit.
Although I did not lose money on my dealing with this company, I lost time and the delay possibly caused some damage to the foundation wall ( there were a few torrential downpours during the time, but not on the missed appointment days) and I endured a lot of frustrations. They are unreliable and not forth-coming. After over a month and three missed appointments later, the owner said they would not do the repair because he would not be making any money, notwithstanding a written quote on the company's stationery and invoice was provided.
I will not deal with this company again and DEFINITELY DO NOT RECOMMEND this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Mabel, unfortunately the technician who came out to your home for the initial estimate made a mistake and underestimated the work that was to be done on your home. Inclement weather did delay the work that needed to be done , and when we were able to have a senior technician out to your home to complete the work order, he did discover that the work had been underestimated.The technician and the owner were unable to complete the work for less than the cost of the materials, and you were fully refunded. We do apologize for the inconvenience.

Janina from Toronto
Janina from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Eaves Trough

Home Service & Repair Specialist
905-237-5525
Georgina
ON
L0E 1R0
CANADA

We had a new eaves trough installed in Sep. 2013 and complained for 2 months that it was leaking and that the water was not draining but holding in the trough. The only reason Shawn, the owner came over in Nov. and disconnected a part of the eaves so that it would drain was because of a review I had written on this site. The eaves was and still is leaking, he nor anyone else from his company are still not replying to my requests and all we want is to have the new eaves fixed properly and entirely, we paid good money for it. So absolutely no customer service, poor workmanship and you can judge for yourself by looking at the pictures. We've had several neighbours come by and tell us how horrible the eaves looks. We might as well have kept our old leaky eaves trough and saved ourselves $1,400 and all this hassle. Shame on you Shawn.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm sorry you are so discontent with the way the Eavestrough looks on your garage. As I mentioned several times while I was there fixing the eavestrough, your garage has sunk into the ground on the front right corner. The only way to get the water to run to the location you requested was to do what I have done. I'm not sure what has changed since I left your house and you you were so very please that the problem was solved. But please feel free to call me on my cellphone and liken before I'll happily do something to correct this issue again.
Thanks
Shawn

STEVE KNIGHTS from Keswick
STEVE KNIGHTS from Keswick
1 review Keswick, ON
10/10

Insulation

I recently used Home Service and Repair to have my roof done. I inquired at the time about having my roof insulated in the fall. The owner Shawn called me to follow-up and I was happy to use him again for my insulation job. Shawn personally insulated my roof, which was a very difficult roof to insulate based on the low clearance and multiple chambers. Shawn did an awesome job and explained the work he had done. I look forward to saving money on my heating bills this winter! I highly recommend Home Service and Reapir based on my experience with the owner Shawn. 10/10

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, Steve! We greatly appreciate customers such as yourself and are happy to have provided you with what you needed.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Home Service & Repair Specialist

Home Service and Repair Specialist is a home service company based on good ethics and hard work. Licensed & Insured, we aim to please our customers, offering high level of satisfaction in areas such as roof maintenance and repair, eavestrough cleaning and repair/ replacement of soffit/ fascia/ siding, attic insulation ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Roofing pros in Richmond Hill?