Home Service & Repair Specialist

Roofing
Georgina ON L0E 1R0
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Roofing in Richmond Hill  >  Home Service & Repair Specialist
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

42%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Home Service & Repair Specialist

Average customer rating:
4.7 10 (21 reviews)

Sort by

Billy in Mississauga
Billy in Mississauga
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Shingles Replacement

Hired this company to replace a few shingles that were blown away during the last storm. Their advertisement quoted $259 including up to 21 shingles. I called and they quoted $650. I insisted on the $259 package. They said they can do that but I have to wait 1 week for the service and if the repairs require more than 1 bundle of shingles the price will go back to $650. I agreed knowing that I do not require a full bundle. They showed up on time, but insisted that the damage was "extensive" and they will require more that 2 bundles. They were dishonest before the job began, but I wanted the roof done at that point. The guy said cash only and no receipt. I told him no receipt no work. I left the house and let them work. When I came back, there was a nail removing tool left on the roof under 2 shingles on the side facing the street. I called them to alert them to it, as this is negligence and a huge liability. It could have fallen down on somebody's head and killed someone. They promised to come and removed it. They performed the work on a Friday. Tried to call them on Saturday, nobody answered the phones. Called on Monday several times, no answer... I got a handyman to come and remove it on Tuesday. Called them again on Tuesday just to test and their reply was: yah, yah, yah we will come and get it. Nobody showed up...

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Georgina, ON
0/10

Very upset! Deposit was paid and they dissapeared!

BEWARE!! This company is fake! We paid a deposit of $4500 as the owner Shawn said he didn’t have enough money to buy glass for the job. He was hired 1.5 years ago and this has still dragged on. We are now March 2018 and he is completely MIA - I’ve asked for either my money back or for the job to be completed. He will not respond to calls or messages! This piece of work got away with our $4500!

Was this review helpful?
Milena Scaini from Toronto
Milena Scaini from Toronto
1 review Georgina, ON
0/10

Downspout Replacement

I hired Home Service Repair Specialist originally to clean the eavestrough in June 2017. While he was there, I asked if he could replace a downspout as well. I had used a plastic downspout which did not work well. Shawn said he could do this. He "took measurements" and came back another day shortly after to replace the plastic one I had. He obviously didn't measure properly because he started with a cream coloured length of pipe (the colour of my downspout) and then finished off using a brown length of pipe. He saw me watching and said he could replace it if I wanted. I told him right then and there that I wanted it replaced all in cream. He said he would have to come back another day. Summer came and went and I realized he never did come back. Since September, I have been calling, texting and leaving messages at work and on his cell. Whenever I was able to reach him he reassured me the pipe was in his truck and when he was out my way he'd stop by. At the beginning of November I spoke with him again and asked whether I was getting the run around. He had the nerve to say replacing it was a courtesy because the original (verbal) quote was without the extra length. I told him if he couldn't measure properly that was on him not on me and therefore certainly not a courtesy. He said he would call the office and have them put an appointment in the calendar. I have not heard anything further and have not been able to reach someone at the office to verify whether it is in his calendar (which I highly doubt).

Was this review helpful?
Suzanne in Etobicoke
Suzanne in Etobicoke
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Eavestrough Cleaning

Bought a voucher from Living Social for Eavestrough Cleaning & Roof Inspection. Didn't require the Roof Inpection as I reshingled recently, so this review is about just the eavestrough cleaning. My initial call was efficiently handled by a super friendly and helpful woman, who booked Shawn to come the following week. Shawn called to confirm his arrival time, and brought all the gear he required with him. My eavestroughs were full of leaves, gunk and sprouting trees and Shawn cleaned them out better than I could have done myself. He left zero mess on the patio/front porch, and I'm so pleased I didn't have to go up the ladder myself. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vaughan, ON
0/10

Dishonest Sean, charged for full roof didn't change completely and what he did some shingles where backwards!!

He charged for the whole roof, didn't do it. We were just shown by a reputable
Company with video and pictures how shingles were put upside down!! Sean is dishonest, has absolutely no clue of roofing, and when it comes to the warranty.. guess what? He will promise he is coming and never shows up, now doesn't even answer the phone.. we are now left changing drywall from the roof in our garage because is becoming moldy, and he doesn't care .. just please don't hire him for your own good and make sure he is not working under another company name his name is Sean if he gives you this number 647-379-3499 don't call . Do yourself a favor

Was this review helpful?
Deborah in Toronto
Deborah in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

eavestrough cleaning

I had a living social voucher saving $100 and expected the job would be superficial given that I wasn't paying full price. I was so wrong. Shawn cleaned everything beautifully and he's a really nice person, very professional!

Was this review helpful?
Janina from Toronto
Janina from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Eaves Trough

Such a shabby job in installing the eaves trough, wouldn't drain into rain barrel and was holding on one side of the eaves trough after 2 weeks of installation, no one would answer my calls or emails and it was only after I sent the owner a note indicating that I had written his company a poor review did he contact me. He was able to drain the water but ever since doing so when it rains or snow melts, water leaks from everywhere. He refused to return to fix this poor and very unsatisfactory job and I'm $1,400 out of pocket and have a useless eaves trough. Consumers Association of Canada as well as the Better Business Bureau are aware and now I'm making you aware. Be very wary of Shawn as he's moved out of the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Marc in York
Marc in York
14 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Roof Inspection and Eave Cleaning

I got sucked into a Living Social deal using this company for the second time (forgot about the 1st time). The first time the fellow only cleaned the front & rear, not the side. The second time, they came and said they could not do the roof inspection because it was a three story house. It is clearly a two story house (slightly above grade basement), that a child of 4 could identify.
The company that cleans my windows goes onto the roof to clean my skylights, and these roofing specialists could not. The service guy told me to get them to do an inspection (the window cleaners, that is). The Office Manager told me that they would have to charge me extra because it was an unusual house. It's a regular two story townhouse with a flat roof.
It was too late for me to get a refund from Living Social, so they gave me a credit to use somewhere else.
I guess this company gets most of their business from Groupon, LivingSocial deals. I would pass and try someone else.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Marc, I am sorry that you were so dissatisfied with our services. We certainly do charge extra for homes that are three stories or higher, because we need different equipment to access the third story (or even a higher than usual two-storey), the risk is higher for our technicians, and it generally takes more time to complete the service. Living Social is well aware of this, and includes this in their advertising for the service. We have very little business through Groupon, and most of our Living Social customers are long-standing ones who have requested our return for many follow-up repairs and full re-roofs. The bulk of our business is based on large-scale repairs and/or replacements of roofs, skylights, ventilation, insulations, etc. In the future, if you are very concerned, I would recommend sending pictures of your home so that we can work with you to come up with a reasonable answer to any miscommunication.

Jenn from Ottawa
Jenn from Ottawa
2 reviews Georgina, ON
10/10

Roof vent replacement

When selling my house, I discovered there were squirrels in my attic; they had chewed through most of the vents in my roof. This was something that needed to be dealt with immediately, or I would lose the sale, and I called Home Service & Repair Specialist in a panic. Lisa was very understanding & helpful on the phone, and Shawn and his guys squeezed me in immediately! They showed up exactly when they said they would, and had the job done very quickly for a very fair price. They made sure there were no squirrels in the attic (and were impressively tolerant of my insistence as an animal-lover that they be very sure on this point!), and then replaced the vents without incident. They explained exactly what they were doing, showed me the old vents and the replacement vents, and were generally very professional. I'd be very happy to use their services again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much, Jenny, for this review. It was our pleasure to work for you and we would happily help you out again!!

Paul Berner in Toronto
Paul Berner in Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Roofing

They were reliable, arrived on time and completed the work satisfactorily. They were available in the event of any problems. Very good customer service at their office. Lisa does an excellent job.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much, Paul, for this glowing review. It was our pleasure to work for you and provide you with the customer service you deserve! Please give us a call if you ever need anything in the future!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Home Service & Repair Specialist

Home Service and Repair Specialist is a home service company based on good ethics and hard work. Licensed & Insured, we aim to please our customers, offering high level of satisfaction in areas such as roof maintenance and repair, eavestrough cleaning and repair/ replacement of soffit/ fascia/ siding, attic insulation ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Roofing pros in Richmond Hill?