Alair Homes Calgary

Design/Build
4511 Glenmore Trail SE Unit 75 Calgary AB T2C 2R9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Design/Build in Medicine Hat  >  Alair Homes Calgary
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

9%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Review for Alair Homes Calgary

Average customer rating:
1 10 (1 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB

First Review

1/10

Home Renovation

Alair Homes Calgary
403-408-9951
4511 Glenmore Trail SE Unit 75
Calgary
AB
T2C 2R9
CANADA

Be careful and do your research before you choose this company.
You start with an estimate,verify the scope of work and the materials to be used. Sign their contract with a $2500 non refundable deposit. Carlin would not accept the check inside the home,we had to step outside the front door. This should have been a red flag for us right away.
His tradesmen then came in to estimate the job themselves and the overall total went up by 60,000. I trusted Carlin to estimate the renovation with some accuracy. His hvac estimated the cost of his work 120% above two other hvac companies that I asked to come in separately. The other two were within $100 dollars of each other.
Alair Homes of course is cost plus.
This was enough for me to fire Alair homes Calgary and contact Renomark and a few other associations to complain about how they conduct their business. Alair attempted to charge us an additional $3000 on top of the $2500 yet no renovation had even been started. I have no tolerance for this type of company and will continue to share my story with as many people as I can.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review and as with any client concerns, we take it very seriously and are committed to finding clarity and resolution. As you have stated, we do start our process with a free estimate, which is as accurate as the information that has been provided to us. In the free estimate you explained to us your vision and your intended outcome. After you chose to proceed, we moved into the Design & Estimation (D&E) phase where you signed the D&E Contract and you provided us a deposit for the initial costs. We then spent the time necessary with you to obtain the selections, drawings, designs, renderings and quotes etc. If you choose to add selections to the project scope at any time or there are unforeseen issues (eg: wiring not up to AB code), your overall total budget will increase in price. We work hard with our clients to help them achieve the desired out come on their project and as things have to be adjusted on occasion due to your basements layout you chose, wiring, plumbing and heating ducts that have to be moved, altered and brought up to code, we still strive to help lower the project cost if possible by adjusting the projects scope, adjusting products and making sure we are getting fair pricing.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Alair Homes Calgary

Alair Homes in Calgary brings experience to you that comes from 100's of renovations and new custom home design-builds, Alair stands above the crowd. We operate with a policy of 100% transparency meaning that we share with you the quotes and invoices for all costs as we develop your project ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.