B Sq. Design Studio

Landscape Architects
42 Laird Dr. Suite 201C Toronto ON M4G
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Landscape Architects in Vaughan  >  B Sq. Design Studio
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

80%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for B Sq. Design Studio

Average customer rating:
8.7 10 (9 reviews)

Sort by

Doron Dekel from Toronto
Doron Dekel from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Garden with pond, deck, stonework and more

We hired bsq (Robert), on a recommendation from a friend, to design a Japanese-style garden at the front and to do a face-lift of our existing garden at the back. The front garden design was quite complex, involving a fish pond, a deck, a miniaturized hilly landscape with many different plants, stone work, and a concrete driveway with etching patterns. We are overall totally happy with the result. The front garden is uniquely beautiful, and the renovation of the back garden looks great. The contractor they brought in to do the actual work, Lawrence, was excellent - well equipped, hard working and assisted by great workers.

Robert was well organized, pleasant, knowledgeable and informative. The only reason I didn't give him 5 stars is that the project was very slow to start. We missed a whole season before the design was complete and the project got underway.

Was this review helpful?
JJS
JJS
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Extensive Landscape Plan and Construction

My wife and hired bsq for our extensive landscape project that included, design plans of our front, back, and side yards, pool, cabana, pergola, and sunken patio + all plantings and we are extremely pleased with our final product. We hired Alex after an initial meeting - he's a super nice guy and was able to take our vision of a modern landscape design and make it a reality. We found Alex to be extremely accommodating, took a lot of the stress associated with such a big project and kept things moving along. He also was great at communicating with the Town for permits, engineers, and an arborist to make sure all building plans were submitted to code to ensure a smooth forward-moving project.

As well, Alex has access to an extensive group of very skilled sub-contractors to complete the work who also share in his vision. He encouraged us to obtain quotes to compare to what he could get to ensure the most cost efficient project. He was on budget and time and very open to making changes on the go - we added things as we went :)

We would 100% recommend Alex and bsq Landscape Architects and would use them again in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Janet in Scarborough
Janet in Scarborough
5 reviews SCARBOROUGH, ON
1/10

Landscape Design and contractor supervision

I was referred to bSq by a reputable source. Their designs were creative. The project was very large. The timelines for drawings and their callbacks were delayed. But what was the kicker for us was the disregard for the Toronto permit process which landed us in hot water, despite our asking on a number of occasions. Alex clearly knew that these permits might be needed, as he helped us draft a letter to the authorities after the fact. His excuse? - he did not think that we would go through with the project because of the cost, so when we said yes, he was not prepared. All this after 7 months of back and forth. I would not recommend this company for this and other reasons that I have not listed here.
Addendum: after posting this review, we now know that there is a neighbour who has lodged over 60 complaints against people in our area.Our municipal councillor is involved and considers this harassment. However we were told by 3 municipal departments that regardless of the work, we required prior permits for tree 'injury' and TRCA approval. My suggestion for anyone using this company is that you get your permits in order so that your reno goes smoothly.
Lastly, the retaining wall renovation was always on the drawings and discussions. It was not added in at the last moment as is noted below.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

There are two sides to this story Janet and I wish you had considered ours. You made no mention of all the work we did surveying your challenging site (3 separate trips on our part) and prioritizing your build so you could get competitive bids in order to build 1st thing this Spring. We went way overtime time dealing with your site and getting your project underway and it was a significant loss for us.

Janet, I am sorry that you had such difficulties with permits.
What you did not mention in your review was that the actual scope of work that required the permits was not added until the very end of the design and planning process and that it was the repair of an existing retaining wall. At this point you had also prioritized getting costs for the expanded scope of work which is what I did for you resulting in 3 bids and the lowest bid/successful contractor that was tens of thousands of dollars less than your contractor.

Whether or not you had to have these permits is still a grey area as you were replacing an existing set of retaining walls and again you did add this scope to the project at the last moment.
Your suggestion that I clearly knew these permits were needed is false and I actually offered to help you draft whatever letters you needed and to prepare whatever drawings you needed to resolve the issue immediately and at no additional cost.

I found out from this contractor on site that every official that could be possibly contacted from the City, the TRCA and the Ministry of Environment was contacted and requested to visit your site as soon as construction started for any and every reason possible. This is completely abnormal which suggests to us that you have a neighbour in the area who clearly does not like you and/or your project and did their best to make things difficult.

For example, the Ministry Official who was asked to look for "endangered species in peril" on your site admitted that he could not understand why he was even sent in the 1st place but someone had called and demanded it.

In the end I am just really sorry that you are unhappy with our services and that you faced these issues during construction.
I wish you would have worked with us to resolve them.
We would have done this as fast as possible and at no cost just to prioritize your needs.
I hope that everything has been resolved for you and you can enjoy your property as much as it is possible to do so.

S&B in Hillcrest Village
S&B in Hillcrest Village
5 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

Backyard Landscape Design and Build

We found b sq. at a major home and garden show in Toronto and were really impressed with their design aesthetic, use of materials and general philosophy. We did compare a few other options for this major backyard overhaul job but in the end Alex @ b sq. gave us the most thoughtful approach upfront, which continued on through the rest of the project. The master plan gave us everything we wanted in a downtown Toronto space without seeming like to much. When it came time to build Alex, Justin and the team did an amazing job bringing everything to life. They did so ahead of schedule giving us more time to finally enjoy using our backyard.

Was this review helpful?
Karen Erwin in Toronto
Karen Erwin in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Backyard Redesign, Landscaping, Stonework

We hired bsq to completely redesign our small Toronto backyard , including a deck, stone patio, fence and planting, as well as to rebuild our front porch and update our front walkway/steps with stone - he basically landscaped everything in the front and back! He provided detailed drawings, including 3D drawings from different angles so we could see EXACTLY what it would look like and picture ourselves using the area. Alex is very creative and was able to design a space that is beautiful and perfect for our family. He also provided detailed quotes and stuck to his original estimate.

Alex and his crew were an absolute pleasure to work with and I would recommend them without hesitation to anyone looking to have landscape design/construction work done. I can't say enough good things about them - Alex is professional, responds promptly to calls and emails and he and his crew were always professional, on-time, respectful of the neighbours, and most important to me, were very knowledgeable, talented and take pride in their work. Because of this, bsq warranties their work and honours it. Also, they worked HARD and sometimes long hours so that we could have our new space for the summer!

The end result exceeded our expectations. We would -- and have many times already to our neighbours who love our landscaping -- recommend bsq to anyone. We look forward to working with you again!

Was this review helpful?
Laura Couvrette from Old Toronto
Laura Couvrette from Old Toronto
2 reviews Old Toronto, ON
10/10

Backyard landscaping project

Alex and his team transformed our small downtown backyard into an oasis that allows us to relax and entertain with ease. Their design ideas and tricks made all the difference for our small space.

Was this review helpful?
Tara in Davisville
Tara in Davisville
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Back landscaping and deck

After two years of indecision we finally decided to get the back done. B sq. worked with us on every detail (and I am very fussy!) covering everything from landscaping, plantings to deck-building, suggesting innovative design solutions and new materials to fit our unique and awkward small space. They were prompt, polite and came in on time and on budget. A pleasure to work with. The result is functional, sophisticated, modern and beautiful.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Tara for the great response. We really appreciate your kind words and we look forward to helping to see Phase 2 of your project through this season. Robert

Ronald Roth from Toronto
Ronald Roth from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Re landscaped outside in both front and backyards

Full re-landscaping, paving and stonework in front yard. New driveway and stone design feature on front walkway. Added parking area for one more car.Built in BBQ station and partial relandscaping of backyard. The project came in on time,on budget and b sq. Design Studio were a pleasure to deal with. Their ongoing customer service and guidance was great. We wouldn't hesitate to use them for future projects.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about B Sq. Design Studio

bsq Landscape Architects offers full Landscape Design and Landscape Planning and Development. We can also provide the oversight and management to source the appropriate sub-trades for the installation of pools and spas, complete lighting and irrigation systems and custom specialty woodwork and metal work. Full tender packages can be produced ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Landscape Architects pros in Vaughan?