natural gas home energy solutions

Heating & Air Conditioning
Toronto ON M5R2E2
HomeStars  >  Heating & Air Conditioning in Etobicoke  >  natural gas home energy solutions
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for natural gas home energy solutions

Average customer rating:
4.6 10 (7 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
2 reviews Toronto, ON

I have a Baxi boiler, stopped working this morning so no heat or hot water. Called my usual repairman who was unavailable today (coldest day of the year) he said he'd call around & try and help me out. I had a call back within an hour from this company, the technician said he could come within 30-45 minutes and that's exactly what he did. It was a minor issue and he was able to fix it right away.

Was this review helpful?
Moe in Lorne Park
1 review Mississauga, ON

I couldn't get the pilot light in my furnace to light up. I called them to come over and take a look at it. Given that it was a Sunday, they charged their weekend rate of $106 which I was fine with. They also claimed that would be the cost assuming they were able to fix it on the spot. The guy came over and within 15 mins the problem was solved as he simply had to replace the thermocouple (pretty much a copper wire). He attempted to charge me $106 + $40 (labour) + $165 (for the thermocouple). He essentially wanted ~$350. I got him down to $250 but am still peeved. The thermocouple costs $8.00 at homedepot!!! I called another furnace company to check out what he did. They also agreed that the whole job should have simply been a service call of ~$100. The parts were a negligible cost. They simply came over trying to trump up the costs anyway possible. When I called the manager to speak to him, they hung up on me and refused to further pick up the phone. NEVER use this company!

Was this review helpful?
Eileen Steele from Chambly
1 review Richmond Hill, ON

company called said they would be buy tomorrow to clean the furnace, we never asked for it to be cleaned. We weren't happy last year when we were changed over $100.00 for the guy to change a filter. I called the company to cancel the appointment since we didn't ask for it and when I called the company I ended up speaking with a very drunk person who then called me back at 11:36 p.m. and again at 3:11 a.m. I have called the police about these phone calls.

Was this review helpful?
Chris from Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON

They send their maintenance guy over. He took his time opening things up, looked around with a flashlight and said, yup, it looks good. The whole thing took less then 15 minutes, including the time to take put on his boots and collect a cheque. Seemed a little to quick, but I'll give them benefit of the doubt.

Their website has been blacklisted on Google for malware, making it hard to recommend them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Kevin from Toronto
2 reviews Old Toronto, ON

Our technician was Carl Bodensieck and he was recommended to us by a contractor who has used his services before. Carl quickly arranged for a site meeting and assessed our needs. We have a 90 yr old home with a radiator and boiler system and were looking to change over to a high efficiency gas furnace, forced air system with AC and a new water heater. Carl promptly sent us the quote and began work. With a home like this nothing goes according to the plans set out by the heat loss planner (who designs the system). Carl is a problem solver with great attention to detail and he does everything he can to meet your expectations. The job was completed on time and according to the budget. Thanks for the great work. We have already recommended you to two of our friends/family

Was this review helpful?
Chris from Etobicoke
1 review Etobicoke, ON

I paid $4,961.83 for a brand new Trane furnace to replace my old oil furnace.

1. They did not fill out the government incentive application and return it to me to send it in. When I kept calling after 4 months they said that they moved offices and they lost my application. Eventually they back dated an application and sent it to me after I emailed the owner my proof of purchase.

1. The employees have poor customer service skills. I kept calling and no one would return my call. The employee said that all she could do us pass my message and the owner is busy with large jobs to call me back. I can't believe they would say that to a customer. Yes I ONLY spent $4,961.83 and I suppose that's not large enough to get a call back.

3. They connected the output exhaust air to the outside but did not connect the input cold air intake to the outside. They said it will cost me $200 for them to come connect it. Unbelievable!!!

3. I did a propane conversion and paid for the propane conversion kit. They didn't leave the owners manual or the original valve parts to convert it back to natural gas. Now I have natural gas in my street and they said it will cost me $150 of the natural gas valve parts. These parts were part if the original natural gas furnace that I paid for and should have been left behind with the manual.

4. The furnace fan wasn't wired to come on when you just turn the fan on. When I called them they said that I don't have A/C so they did not connect the wire for that. I told them the furnace fan has nothing to do with A/C. They wanted to charge me to come back and turn connect the fan wire to the thermostat.

Overall very disappointed. They only care about getting your money and don't do a good job. I will not recommend them and when it comes time to install my A/C next summer I will not hire them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

First off let me start by stating you are in Freelton Ont. not Etobicoke, and you had heat so this was NOT an emergency. As far as the intake for the furnace it is an OPTION. It was not requested on sales contract nor was it required by code. You were not charged for the parts to convert it back to natural gas, you were charged the labour for it was explained to you. You were charged $150 for the intake and that covered labour and material (no profit) you were also charged for the disconnection of the propane and running the gas line to the meter, again labour and material (no profit) as far as the fan being wired up, it was explained to you that you only had 2 wire from your thermostat if you wanted the fan to operate you need 3 wire or 4 if you want to add A/C. You were also offered a wireless thermostat at cost and you were also offered the wire for free to run it yourself and we would hook it up. The owners manual was left twice as you had the basement floor redone I'm sure the first one was lost. You didn't bother to have the furnace removed while this was done which resulted in the drain hose being cut which we were blamed for (a year later) so now the furnace sits in a pit 12 inches below the basement floor with NO DRAIN. So please lets be completely forthcoming with ALL the story.

maureen from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

First Review


We had some issues with a technician but when the owner got involved, we resolved it very quickly. I was pleased to get to know a new technician, who was very helpful.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.