The Hayter Group

Heating & Air Conditioning
3277 Nauvoo Road Alvinston ON N0N 1A0
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Heating & Air Conditioning in Essex  >  The Hayter Group
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for The Hayter Group

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (18 reviews)

Sort by

Roland M in Petrolia
Roland M in Petrolia
1 review Glencoe, ON
10/10

New house. Plumbing and heating

We had the Hayter Group install all our plumbing & heating in our new house

They service and stand behind everything they sell.

My first call will always be the Hayter group for any of our plumbing and heating needs whether it is an install or a repair. We can count on them when we need them

A strong supporter in the community to many service groups with their "give back program" as well.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Roland: Thanks for the positive review, you are a valued customer and we will always be here when you need us!

Drew from Chatham Kent
Drew from Chatham Kent
2 reviews Chatham-Kent, ON
0/10

Gas Line repair

My gas line was leaking and I choose Hayter to do the repair. They quoted a flat rate of ~$60 plus ~$80 an hour (for as long as took) to do the repair. However the kid who arrived took two hours to tell me that he couldn't complete the job, and I had to wait (without gas) for the quote. According to Hayter I had to replace the entire gas line!

The quote was $3,500 and I choose to shop around, when I finally decided to go with Hayter they advised they wouldn't honor quote because they forgot to include "another guy" in the quote.

I decided to back out and had to pay for the initial visit ($258). I went with Absolute heating and comfort, who arrived within ~20 minutes of my first call, and fixed the issue on the same day. They traced the issue to a single union (coupling) and fixed it for $343 (or about $80 more than I paid Hayter to quote the issue).

TL;DR Hayter charged me $258 to tell me that I needed an entire gas line, when in fact I just needed one coupling replaced (at about %10 of the cost).

By the way; the kid from Hayter didn't close the access to my crawl space and left it open when he left.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

After reviewing the customer's file, this is the first time that the customer expressed a concern. The history was such that there was a gas leak and we were requested to diagnose the leak. Our qualified service technician suggested that the customer consider replacing the gas line. As to the quote, our policy is to honor our quotes and we would have welcomed the opportunity to discuss this with customer.

As far as we were aware, the work was completed and paid for in March. We tried to discuss the customer's concerns upon receipt of this posting however, we have not been able to contact him through either email or telephone.

Brad Adams from Brantford
Brad Adams from Brantford
1 review Brantford, ON
10/10

Microfit Solar project

The Hayter group installed a solar project on my farm work shop. It seems rare to find a company who tells you what they are going to do, and they actually do it. Always professional and working to keep me up to-date on what was happening. Even when a small problem arose, they dealt with it the best way possible. Matt & Crosby were both great to work with. I would work with them again hands down.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Brad: I'm glad you have a good experience working with our team. Thank you for your business.

Heather from London
Heather from London
1 review London, ON
10/10

Geo Thermal Install, Solar Install

Needing a new furnace and air system we researched options and companies. We went with The Hayter Group for their commitment to costumer service, detail and knowledge. We installed both a geo thermal system and 49 solar panels with The Hayter Group. We continue to recommend and rely on The Hayter Group for all our plumbing, heating and cooling needs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a pleasure doing business with you Heather. When you need us in the future, please feel free to call anytime, we'll be there for you.

G Moore from Sarnia
G Moore from Sarnia
1 review Sarnia, ON
10/10

MicroFit Solar Panel Installation

Hayter designed and installed a 5.9 kW solar system and did all the associated application, approvals and engineering. The work was done professionally and all Hayter staff were friendly and efficient.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This is good to hear, if we can help you any further please do not hesitate to contact us.

Lee-ah from Alvinston
Lee-ah from Alvinston
1 review Alvinston, ON
9/10

Gas Furnace & Hot water heater

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

When my 30 year old furnace stopped working I called Hayter plumbing and heating and they were able to install a new furnace for me the next day. I was happy with the service they provided and hired them to come back and install a hot water heater for me. I will be calling them again whenever I need work done in my home.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Bruce from Watford
Bruce from Watford
1 review Alvinston, ON
10/10

Geothermal, Solar & Plumbing

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

Worked well with the other trades that were on site at the same time and got the work done by our deadline. We are always happy with the service Hayters provide.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Steve from Glencoe
Steve from Glencoe
1 review Glencoe, ON

First Review

10/10

Geothermal heating & cooling

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

Hayters removed my propane furnace and installed a geothermal system. The technicians were friendly and professional. They explained how to operate the new furnace to me and left the work area clean.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Hayter Group

Geothermal, Solar, Furnaces, Air Conditioning sales and service from The Hayter Group. We install and service Geothermal Furnaces, microFIT program Solar Panels, High-efficiency Gas Furnaces, Heat Pumps, Oil Furnaces, Propane Furnaces, Wood Furnaces, Central Air Conditioning and Radiant Floor Heating Systems across South-Western Ontario. Quality brands include; WaterFurnace, Panasonic, Napoleon, ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.