AAA Careful Moving & Storage - No Longer In Business

Formerly AAA Quick and Careful Movers
Piano Moving & Tuning
515-918 16 Avenue NW Calgary AB T2M 0K3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Piano Moving & Tuning
AAA Careful Moving & Storage - No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

48%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for AAA Careful Moving & Storage - No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
6.3 10 (8 reviews)

Sort by

margerrett in Calgary
margerrett in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Moved my working equipment

AAA Careful Moving & Storage - No Longer In Business
403-248-1881
515-918 16 Avenue NW
Calgary
AB
T2M 0K3
CANADA

I cant but full of praise for this company, they really help me, I contacted them some months back and arranged with them, they came on time and very professional, their staff and workers that came was very patient with me and understand that they will need to move it gently and they did, the equipment was very fragile and they understand, I was not with them in their truck but they really look after it and they did their job to the fullest.
Thanks

Was this review helpful?
JMacdonald from Calgary
JMacdonald from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Home move

I have had 5 moves for work relocation with my job requirements in the past ten years. My experience with AAA careful moving was horrible, stressful and by far the most unprofessional.

My family's belongings were heavily damaged in the move. The owner showed up with a truck that was much smaller than what we had requested and basically told us to move the excess boxes ourselves.

They quoted low but overcharged us by threatening not to deliver our belongings to the new house unless we paid him an extra $800 in cash along with the total move costs which was also demanded in cas.

As it was a business related move, I requested a receipt but was told I would not get one. This company is likely operating under the table and is extremely dishonest.

Do you homework on them. They have many negative reviews on BBB and open case complaints from past unsuspecting customers.

They work under the alises of AAA Careful Moving
AAA Quick and Careful Movers
A-AAA Careful Moving & Storahe
AAA Careful Piano Moving
1465014 Alberta Ltd

During the move I even heard the owner boast over his cellphone to a friend about his new website and that he had made a lot of false positive reviews to make his company "shine". Please be discerning when you read the reviews as most of the postivie ones have been pened by Bob Carpenter himself. I wish I recorded that so that he will not continue to operate such a dishonest and poor business.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hard to respond when he's all over the place. The name change is for two reasons - 1) we got into the storage business and 2) we couldn't pay our Telus bill when businesses were going belly up in the recession of 2008. They imply that we were trying to be shifty, like it's a crime to go broke in 2008. I'm sure many hard working honourable people (along with Lehman Brothers, Fanny Mae and Freddie Mac) couldn't pay their bills during those times. Although it's no great honour to go broke. We've done a thousand moves, since then, bound to have a bad review - probably my fault too - I get bitter, even angry, when people try to blackmail me.
We moved them from their storage and the stuff was piled high to the 12 foot ceiling - with no padding - and they blame any damage on us. We did not put it into storage (we would have used our own storage). All we want is to get paid for our work - sheesh.
I use the best men available - keep them well equipped - new web site is www.bioship.ca - a humanitarian business. Check it out. I hate to submit to blackmail - they wanted a free move.

Jeff Mottle from Calgary
Jeff Mottle from Calgary
4 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Moving Equipment from Garage into Basement

I contacted this moving company to move a metal lathe and mill from my garage to the basement. In moving the equipment down the stairs they used a dirty piece of plywood to drag it down the carpeted stairs and did not cover the carpet in advance. As a result there is now dirt that I can not remove from the carpet on the edge of almost every step. I've tried carpet cleaner to no avail. When I saw this I immediately mention it to them and they laughed an said it was my problem and that it's a machine and had grease. However it's not the machine that dragged on the carpet, it was their piece of wood!

They also got machine grease on the walls which has left marks due to the acidic nature of the grease. I mentioned this and was told what did I expect, it was a machine with grease on it and that "I did not tell them it was greasy". Not only did I tell them it had grease on it, anyone with eyes could see that from 10 feet away and I specifically told them to leave the plastic on it so grease did not get anywhere. They also told me they moved another lathe and mill the previous week, so they obviously have experience with machinery that is greasy.

When I called them to complain after I could not remove the dirt with rug cleaner I was told they would not cover it and that it was my responsibility to cover the carpets and clean the machine before they moved it. Last time I checked, movers were supposed to cover your carpets. They even had the moving blankets there at the front door, but never used them on the stairs! They also nicked the wall in the workshop with the edge of the metal stand. A wall I JUST painted not two days ago. The stairwell was repainted 2 months ago. As far as professionalism, this company is suspect at best. The fact he was telling me a story about how he just came from a job where he overcharged a customer to move a cabinet and seemed proud that he screwed them over should say everything.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Very tricky move - he said we should have left the plastic on the lathe. Small 600 lb lathe that was covered in grease moved to a basement, and he complains about grease on the wall. I noticed he did not offer to pay for our laundry bill - we were all covered in grease when the job was done. In his own words, you could tell it was covered in grease from 10 feet away. I should have walked from that job but I don't like to turn down a challenge, and this certainly was.
Try to get a grip on greased steel through a plastic bag and you'll know why we took the plastic off. We got it down in place - it was no easy move - with minimal problems - got to love the gratitude. We did not cover the lathe with grease - and then he blames us for getting grease on the wall??

Bart from Calgary
Bart from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Moved baby grande piano

While they were not the cheapest piano mover, I decided to go with the middle of the road price. I was pleasantly surprised with the service. They weren't the best dressed but they functioned like a team.
Easy going, professional men who know what they're doing. Thank you.

Was this review helpful?
Joe Peterson in Calgary
Joe Peterson in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Moving Antiques and my Piano

This is the second move you folks have done for us.
You guys put a big smile on my face. I had the pleasure of using the services of AAA Careful Moving & Storage last year and I needed them again. I needed to have some antiques of mine moved and the gentlemen that arrived to my home were very kind.
They were very patient as well. At my age, I can be a little overwhelming to handle. I will keep your moving company in mind if I should have to move once again.
I definitely will be recommending you to all my friends that are still kicking. Hah Hah

Thank you for the great customer service.

Joe Peterson, Calgary

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Joe, it was a pleasure doing business with you.

Sharon Johnson in Calgary
Sharon Johnson in Calgary
1 review CALGARY, AB
10/10

Moved antiques and household items

You guys put a big smile on my face, I had the pleasure of using the services of Metropolitan Movers who use this company in Calgary. I needed to have some antiques of mine moved and the gentlemen that arrived to my home were very kind. They were very patient as well. At my age, I can be a little overwhelming to handle. I will keep your moving company in mind if I should have to move once again. Thank you for the great customer service.

Sanjay Gupta

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You're very welcome Sanjay. Thanks for the business.

Jennifer in Airdrie
Jennifer in Airdrie
1 review Airdrie, AB
0/10

Moving

They showed up with a too small truck!Their motto became "at least we got 95% of it, you'll have to deal with the rest". Our stuff was SO DAMAGED!!!!!! And KIDS were hired on the other side of the move on that morning to remove our belongings from the DISCOUNT rental truck they had. BOB C actually has NO qualified staff or truck and the staff that did the original pack up quit on the job the day of our move! BOB AND SARA C. operate out of their home in Forest Lawn, Calgary, they have no office site. They also demanded full payment in cash up front once they were at our new home, they would not open the back of the truck to show us if our load was safe before we paid him cash. He threatened to leave with our belongings! When we met BOB C at our new home, he was beligerent, unprofessional and called us names and laughed at us while he had the teenagers unload all of our belongings into a foot of snow on our driveway in the freezing rain. Our mattresses were dragged thru dirty snow and our precious belongings were left to melt in the freezing rain. BOB AND SARA C are scammers! They have no intention of taking care of your needs or your belongings! On the day of the pack up, they left in the middle to go pick up their young child, and brought him back to our house to "play". He also accompanied his parents to our new home and sat in the moving truck for hours! To be clear, BOB C's phone number is 403-477-9330 or 403-248-1881 his wife SARA is the receptionist. www.carefulmoving.ca. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!! We have pictures for proof!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Oh boy this was a good one. We moved a sheriff and his wife from Airdrie to Whitecourt. They kept us waiting in Whitecourt with for two hours. While we waited we shovelled the entire two car garage driveway and the sidewalk - we had nothing else to do. More than a foot of snow, by the way.
When they finally arrived we had to wait for quite a while as they could not get into their house - some mix up with the realtor.
Not that I mind helping out but they somehow tried to make it look like our fault?? With that attitude I got angry and said sorry but we'll have to unload on the driveway as we couldn't wait forever and they weren't willing to pay for a delivery the next day.
Anyway, they finally got a key for the garage right when we were finished unloading so we moved everything into the garage - even though I was tempted to say forget it. Trying to figure out where they get the notion that we are "scammers". We no longer rent trucks, but it was a huge 26' truck and we had all the equipment. The sheriff and his co-worker made thinly veiled threats to us. "See you on the highway" and stuff like that. All because I didn't yield to their trying to bully me into more of a discount than what they already got. I didn't charge them for us having to wait for hours - and we had to move everything twice. Got to love the gratitude.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about AAA Careful Moving & Storage - No Longer In Business

AAA Careful Moving & Storage
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Piano Moving & Tuning pros in Calgary?