Affordable Comfort Heating And Cooling

Heating & Air Conditioning
54 Cedar Pointe Drive, Unit 1207 Suite 022 Barrie ON L4N 5R7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Affordable Comfort Heating And Cooling
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

76%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Affordable Comfort Heating And Cooling

Average customer rating:
8.5 10 (13 reviews)

Sort by

Rick in Barrie
Rick in Barrie
1 review Barrie, ON
9/10

Furnace

Very pleased with all aspects of furnace purchase and installation. I would have no problem recommending this company for all your heating or air conditioner needs. Their prices are very competitive.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Rick,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience! Stay safe and we look forward to working with you in the future!

jodiegifford in Oakville
jodiegifford in Oakville
0 reviews Flesherton, ON
10/10

Ductless heating & cooling

Needed a ductless heating and cooling option for an older home. It was a pleasure to work with Tom and his team at Affordable Comfort Heating & Cooling. Tom ensured that he provided suitable options for us that also met our budget. The install team were very personable and professional and we are very happy with the outcome.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Jodie, you guys were a pleasure to work with too!

Vera
Vera
2 reviews Durham, ON
1/10

review of the last 2 years Dealings wtih Tom at Affortable Heating, Barrie

We have chosen Fujitsu Heat Pump simply based on its excellent product along with a lot of research.

On the date of sale you have represented Fujitsu on reputation with your sales pitch confirming the Best of the Best.

We include a review of the past 2 years of your services to so many problems we have encountered. Keep in mind, the levels of Fujitsu representation along with quality of some of your services, as part of a respective customer feed back to ensure proper Fujitsu representation and customer satisfaction.
With all respect we are sure you appreciate such.

In your files you have all our contacts with our concerns which most show relations to installation errors.

Date of sale you informed us you will mount the dual unit on the West wall of the house which we did not agree with, due to our research, ensuring us it would be Whisper Quiet. You see, customer was right.
Beginning of noise disasters for a long periods of time thus unable to use the until until removed from wall. You installed a cheap stand which also needed replacement along with other stuff like mickey mouse not levelled platform and no rubbers installed.
On the other services, of noise concern, Your technician was over and on a return walk to truck he also heard a nasty BANG which led to adding additional lengths of lines. That reduced the crazies, but still unacceptable. Talk about weird noises later. We have describe the noises many time in the past.

An entire summer without AC as the unit was pushing in tons of humidity.

Of course as anyone would think that Fujitsu is not a good product after all.
As you recall we kept pushing for service, which you did form an army to visit us which included, two Fujitsu CEO’s, a humidity expert and your expert technicians.

What Happened that day?

- one CEO just stood there and was taking photos of a deer in the back field

- the other one pulled out a measuring tape and measured the wall..
that was it. About 10-15 mins.. which your technician, also witnessed.

- two technicians just watched.

- humidity expert talked about humidity and blamed our home as it was too much for Fujitsu units to handle.

All in all recommended to go back to our old system of using our portable dehumidifiers.

Your Technicians agreed.
Conclusions was the units are working as Fujitsu designed and all running normal..
NOTHING IS WRONG!

Now our thoughts are heavily swayed to believe Fujitsu should have been our last choice. Sure was giving Fujitsu a BAD NAME!
But we were unable to stick to that thought.

We kept asking for service your Technicians must have cleared his mind and found the problem... with a red face he admitted to us that he mixed up the wiring.. therefore .. IT WAS INCORRECTLY WIRED! And the experts and CEO didn't see that... Well Thanks a lot!!
What does that say about your above experts?

Back to crazy, unacceptable noises.. Your visits outcome was always the same, while standing here and there, all is normal.. Good Bye!
You didn’t even try to find a potential culprit.

We decided on a second opinion on the noise problems.
We sent you a copy of their findings and recommendations March 4th 2020.
March 7th 2020, Your technician came over and found all is well and Fujitsu is normal. You didn’t even attempt to try their recommendations. Dated March 4th 2020.

Even with the extra cost, we decided to hire them, as we didn’t believe Fujitsu to be responsible for such.
We attach their description of work done. Invoices March 23 and April 6th 2020.

You were not interested nor concerned about the in-line set..???... but that was your professional decision on representing Fujitsu, customer satisfaction.
While in fact... They found the in-line charge to be extremely low.
Only weighted out at 25oz. When factory charge calls for 4 lbs 3 oz to run properly... Also installed rubber pads under the unit.

To this date we are happy with Fujitsu. Minor sounds are acceptable.
THANK YOU to the other company, for true expertise is what we say!

We have endured tons of aggregation, miseries and upsets with your deal and has been extremely hard on us older folks. Keep in mind the trust we had in Fujitsu. Just buy and enjoy trouble free investment.

The other company had to charge us a total of $943.69 to correct your errors.
We find it just and fair to ask you to send us the above amount. We are sure Fujitsu will be glad as well.

You see Tom.. sometimes one needs to listen to the customer.

In a small reply, dated March 9th 2020, of our on going noise complaints.
Tom Strongly states “CASE CLOSED”
note.. warranty expires March 15th 2020. our comments.. thus guy has been a nightmare to us .

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Vera,
I'm sorry that you felt the need to try and tarnish our excellent reputation when we went above and beyond.

Firstly, we are an "Elite" dealer for Fujitsu, meaning we go through extensive training programs with them specifically on their products and install a large quantity of Fujitsu units annually. We know these units inside and out. The units that were installed are "whisper quiet" as promised by Fujitsu and this was confirmed by several of our technicians and finally the Fujitsu representative and the CEO we requested to your home to go over the install and give you their own opinion of the installation and operation of the units. The result was them explaining that the units were installed excellently and operating as per specifications. There's not much more we could have done given the situation.

We had also addressed your humidity concerns several times, so when this was brought up during their visit they explained that if you turn the units off and open your windows at night it's counterproductive for controlling humidity in the home. We also addressed that issue and explained to you, as soon as you committed to leaving the units running during the night and keeping the windows closed the humidity issue was gone.

It's unfortunate that you felt the need to have another company who is not familiar with Fujitsu units come out and provide you with a second opinion. It was clear by their notes that they are not experienced with these units. Claims that the unit was noisy because there was only 25oz instead of the recommended 4lbs 3 oz, is false, the units wouldn't be able to run at all and would be locked off on a low refrigerant error.

We wish you the best of luck and hope you guys stay safe during this pandemic

Jessica N.
Jessica N.
0 reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

Top Notch Company!

Affordable Comfort is one of the best companies I’ve ever dealt with. The aim and achieve superior customer service and take extreme pride in their workmanship.
I really appreciate the chipper office staff on the phone, the speed at booking my appointment, the much more manageable 2 hour window (opposed to the 4, 6 or even 8 others offer!) and last but not least the quality equipment professionally installed!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your awesome feedback! We are always shooting to surpass expectations!

Pino S.
Pino S.
0 reviews Wasaga Beach, ON
10/10

Ductwork install

Install ductwork in an old home. Difficult job qith lots of twists and turns. Job well done on a timely manner

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Pino!

Joe in Ottawa
Joe in Ottawa
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Outstanding

I have used Affordable comfort a couple times. Once in the summer when my air conditioning was not working. I spoke to their office and was given a reasonable time frame as to when a technician would show up. Most companies give a 4 hour time frame window and Affordable Comfort gave me a 2 hour time frame. The technician was on time exactly in the window of time I was given. He had my air conditioning up and running in no time. I was given an extremely reasonable service call bill.
The second time I used Affordable Comfort was to install a free standing fireplace. The second technician was equally as polite as the first one. The installation was done very quickly. The technician wore boot covers to keep my house clean and made sure everything was clean before he left. My fireplace works great and looks amazing. Very well done. I am extremely impressed. Thank you Affordable Comfort.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Joe,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to taking care of your hvac needs in the future.

Cate in Toronto
Cate in Toronto
2 reviews Barrie, ON
1/10

Tankless water heater warranty replacement/feeling ripped off

My 6 year old Rheem tankless water was leaking. I called Affordable Comfort and they sent out a technician who took an hour and a half to diagnose the problem as a failed heat exchanger and negotiate a replacement to be supplied. The charge was 185$. They said they would install a new water heater for 500$, which I thought was rather expensive, as the piping etc. was already in place, but thought that perhaps it took longer than I thought to install. In the meantime, there was some confusion about the warranty and the woman on the phone was somewhat less than polite in answering my questions. When I tried to call the owner, he was "busy", although the technician had just talked to him before and after this conversation.
On installation day, two men were here for slightly more than an hour. When the bill was presented, there was a 25$ administrative fee charged which I had not been told about and they would not waive. This was apparently for time spent dealing with the manufacturer on the phone. Overall, I feel that 800$ is an excessive charge, given that the water heater itself was free under warranty, the installation took only 1-1/2 hours, and the technician that diagnosed the problem charged me for a second hour due to the fact that he was on the phone to Rheem for so long; It seems like I was charged twice for that. In any case, the total cost and warranty details should have been clearly stated in the beginning and adhered to. The installation technicians were very polite and obliging. The owner has now promised to refund the 25$ administrative fee.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Cate,
I'm glad to hear that the installation technicians were polite and obliging. We went out of our way to help you since the installing company of your existing tankless was unable to. We did what we could to ensure you received your warranty tankless at the lowest possible cost and in a timely manner, saving you from having to purchase a new unit for $3000+. We have to charge a fee to send a technician to your home to diagnose the issue and charge for his time there. I feel it should be noted that he only charged the basic call out fee, and one hour of labour, although he was there for 2.5 hrs. The technician was required to speak with Rheem to get authorization to warranty your unit. We were also troubleshooting a pressure issue that had caused considerable damage to the existing tankless that the last installation company(s) were unable to properly diagnose and repair. We had to send a truck to pick up your new unit and 2 fully licensed and experienced technicians to your home to install the replacement unit and expansion tank. The discussed fee covered this and additional materials that were required. Once the unit is removed we need to complete the required paperwork and deliver the defective unit to a distributor so it can be returned to the manufacturer. Additionally we have to pay for the unit at full price and await a refund which also requires administration. I apologize I wasn't available to speak with you that afternoon. I was out of the office overseeing different job sites, however my technicians are able to reach me on my personal cell if they need to. Company policy is that we don't start any job without first explaining the costs to the customer and getting their approval. We received approval from you when the technician explained the cost and procedure for the process in a written estimate, which you acknowledged and signed. Let us know if there's anything else we can assist you with in the future.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Cleaning and repairing furnace and fireplace

We needed check up and cleaning of the furnace and fireplace.
Julie did a great job. She also suggested repairs. Then somehow the furnace stopped working. I asked for Tom to come and check things out. The furnace will likely need to be replaced but he got it going for now .He did not charge for his visit. They were both courteous and professional.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We always appreciate it when customers take their time to let others know they were satisfied with their experience. Thanks again and we look forward to helping you in the future.

carolkline in Barrie
carolkline in Barrie
8 reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

New furnace and central a/c

Tom and his crew from Affordable Comfort did an outstanding job installing a new furnace and central air in my home. The work was professionally done, all questions answered in an informed and user friendly way and I could not be more satisfied with the quality of their products and their work. Great job!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Carole for taking the time to write a great review. It was a pleasure doing business with you and we are here when you need us in the future :)

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Affordable Comfort Heating And Cooling

"Where quality meets affordability"
We are located in Barrie and Wasaga Beach and service all surrounding areas. Specializing in residential and commercial heating and cooling. Our technicians are experienced, friendly and honest. We are always happy to answer any questions you may have and provide you with a free estimate.

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.