Affordable Comfort Heating And Cooling

Heating & Air Conditioning
18 Alliance Blvd Unit 19 Barrie ON L4M 5A5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Heating & Air Conditioning in Barrie  >  Affordable Comfort Heating And Cooling
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

66%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Affordable Comfort Heating And Cooling

Average customer rating:
8.7 10 (7 reviews)

Sort by

Joe in Ottawa
Joe in Ottawa
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Outstanding

I have used Affordable comfort a couple times. Once in the summer when my air conditioning was not working. I spoke to their office and was given a reasonable time frame as to when a technician would show up. Most companies give a 4 hour time frame window and Affordable Comfort gave me a 2 hour time frame. The technician was on time exactly in the window of time I was given. He had my air conditioning up and running in no time. I was given an extremely reasonable service call bill.
The second time I used Affordable Comfort was to install a free standing fireplace. The second technician was equally as polite as the first one. The installation was done very quickly. The technician wore boot covers to keep my house clean and made sure everything was clean before he left. My fireplace works great and looks amazing. Very well done. I am extremely impressed. Thank you Affordable Comfort.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Joe,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to taking care of your hvac needs in the future.

Cate in Toronto
Cate in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Tankless water heater warranty replacement/feeling ripped off

My 6 year old Rheem tankless water was leaking. I called Affordable Comfort and they sent out a technician who took an hour and a half to diagnose the problem as a failed heat exchanger and negotiate a replacement to be supplied. The charge was 185$. They said they would install a new water heater for 500$, which I thought was rather expensive, as the piping etc. was already in place, but thought that perhaps it took longer than I thought to install. In the meantime, there was some confusion about the warranty and the woman on the phone was somewhat less than polite in answering my questions. When I tried to call the owner, he was "busy", although the technician had just talked to him before and after this conversation.
On installation day, two men were here for slightly more than an hour. When the bill was presented, there was a 25$ administrative fee charged which I had not been told about and they would not waive. This was apparently for time spent dealing with the manufacturer on the phone. Overall, I feel that 800$ is an excessive charge, given that the water heater itself was free under warranty, the installation took only 1-1/2 hours, and the technician that diagnosed the problem charged me for a second hour due to the fact that he was on the phone to Rheem for so long; It seems like I was charged twice for that. In any case, the total cost and warranty details should have been clearly stated in the beginning and adhered to. The installation technicians were very polite and obliging. The owner has now promised to refund the 25$ administrative fee.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Cate,
I'm glad to hear that the installation technicians were polite and obliging. We went out of our way to help you since the installing company of your existing tankless was unable to. We did what we could to ensure you received your warranty tankless at the lowest possible cost and in a timely manner, saving you from having to purchase a new unit for $3000+. We have to charge a fee to send a technician to your home to diagnose the issue and charge for his time there. I feel it should be noted that he only charged the basic call out fee, and one hour of labour, although he was there for 2.5 hrs. The technician was required to speak with Rheem to get authorization to warranty your unit. We were also troubleshooting a pressure issue that had caused considerable damage to the existing tankless that the last installation company(s) were unable to properly diagnose and repair. We had to send a truck to pick up your new unit and 2 fully licensed and experienced technicians to your home to install the replacement unit and expansion tank. The discussed fee covered this and additional materials that were required. Once the unit is removed we need to complete the required paperwork and deliver the defective unit to a distributor so it can be returned to the manufacturer. Additionally we have to pay for the unit at full price and await a refund which also requires administration. I apologize I wasn't available to speak with you that afternoon. I was out of the office overseeing different job sites, however my technicians are able to reach me on my personal cell if they need to. Company policy is that we don't start any job without first explaining the costs to the customer and getting their approval. We received approval from you when the technician explained the cost and procedure for the process in a written estimate, which you acknowledged and signed. Let us know if there's anything else we can assist you with in the future.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Cleaning and repairing furnace and fireplace

We needed check up and cleaning of the furnace and fireplace.
Julie did a great job. She also suggested repairs. Then somehow the furnace stopped working. I asked for Tom to come and check things out. The furnace will likely need to be replaced but he got it going for now .He did not charge for his visit. They were both courteous and professional.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We always appreciate it when customers take their time to let others know they were satisfied with their experience. Thanks again and we look forward to helping you in the future.

carolkline in Barrie
carolkline in Barrie
4 reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

New furnace and central a/c

Tom and his crew from Affordable Comfort did an outstanding job installing a new furnace and central air in my home. The work was professionally done, all questions answered in an informed and user friendly way and I could not be more satisfied with the quality of their products and their work. Great job!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much Carole for taking the time to write a great review. It was a pleasure doing business with you and we are here when you need us in the future :)

Terri from THORNTON
Terri from THORNTON
1 review Thornton, ON
10/10

New Furnace

Our 20 year old furnace died this past Friday night on one of the coldest weekends of the winter. We called several companies and had numerous sales people use pressure tactics or try to upsell various (unnecessary) products to us. We were not impressed by any of them. Matt from Affordable Comfort offered to come over on Sunday afternoon to quote us. We were relieved to have someone talk to us about furnaces in plain language, without the sales pitch. The quote ended up being the best we received. Before he left, Matt offered to try and get the furnace running for us so that we could have heat for the night. My husband and I were blown away and extremely thankful. Of all the people that walked through our door, Matt was the ONLY tech who offered to do this for us. Sure enough, he got the beast going, and we were finally warm again. Needlesstosay, we called Matt Monday morning to book, and he arrived that same afternoon with Chris to install our new furnace. We will definitely be using Affordable Comfort for all future heating and cooling needs. Thanks again for going above and beyond and providing such amazing customer service!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Terri, it was our pleasure and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Steven Chen from Barrie
Steven Chen from Barrie
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Cooling System

Barrie heating cooling installed a new central AC system (the whole system inside and outside of the house) at my home.

I did a lot of researches online before selected Barrieheatingcooling and very happy to make a right decision.

Very professional and yet friendly. Dealt with the owners directly, and they were honest and kept their word about appointments.
By saying professional above I mean the new system not only works better but also looks much better than the old one from every aspect.

The work areas was kept clean which I really appreciated, they did a great job!

Steven, Barrie

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Steven for taking the time to write such a positive review. We truly appreciate it and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sabrina from Barrie
Sabrina from Barrie
2 reviews Barrie, ON

First Review

10/10

Water Heaters & Softener

My husband and I had Affordable Comfort Heating and Cooling come to our home to replace the water heater. They did such an amazing job, when we moved we called on them to install both a Tankless Water Heater and a Water Softener. They are very friendly, clean and professional.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much Sabrina.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Affordable Comfort Heating And Cooling

"Where quality meets affordability" We are located in Barrie and Wasaga Beach and service all surrounding areas. Specializing in residential and commercial heating and cooling. Our technicians are experienced, friendly and honest. We are always happy to answer any questions you may have and provide you with a free estimate.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Heating & Air Conditioning pros in Barrie?