Rankin Landscape And Design

Landscape Architects
Toronto ON M3J2P1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Landscape Architects in Vaughan  >  Rankin Landscape And Design
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

62%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Rankin Landscape And Design

Average customer rating:
8 10 (9 reviews)

Sort by

Jenny in Toronto
Jenny in Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review

10/10

Landscaping

We hired Deborah to help with our landscaping in our backyard. We had a problem with uneven terrain and a large bare area that turned into mud with the slightest moisture. It was not kid or dog friendly. Deborah had great suggestions for how to transform this and was so open to incorporating our suggestions for kid friendly natural elements. We are very pleased with her work, and she returned the following year to replant any plants that didn't survive. Very good pricing as well.

Was this review helpful?
J from Toronto
J from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Landscaping

We hired Deborah to help with our backyard, which was uneven and had a large space of dirt. It was not kid or dog friendly. She had great ideas for transforming it and was so receptive to our ideas for incorporating kid friendly elements which were also pleasing to the eye. She cleaned everything up and then also did some landscaping in the front yard as well. Deborah was very helpful in answering any of our questions and returned the following year to re-plant some of the plants that didn't survive. Also excellent pricing for the work done.

Was this review helpful?
Allison in Toronto
Allison in Toronto
10 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Garden Clean Out/Relandscape

I first used Rankin Landscaping last summer (2013) and wanted to ensure I posted a review. My garden was an absolute, overgrown disaster that had gotten beyond my ability to deal with on my own. Deborah and her crew got both the front and back yards done in one day! They also provided me with some cost effective solutions to maintain the garden until I can get a full and proper landscaping done - very much appreciated. Deborah really has a talent for understanding space, colour and your needs as a home owner, and it becomes very clear as you deal with her that she is extremely knowledgeable. I can't wait to work with her again on my garden!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Allison. We enjoyed bringing order back to your gardens and look forward to working with you again!

Martyn Bassett from York
Martyn Bassett from York
1 review York, ON
10/10

Backyard Garden Renovation

I hired Deb and her team and they did a great job landscaping my backyard. Deb's design skills came through as she created a space that combined proportion, colour and variety. I would highly recommend her for your landscaping projects.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review. We enjoyed creating a more functional garden space for you.

Kim from Toronto
Kim from Toronto
1 review ,
10/10

Townhouse back yard

Deborah and her crew turned the backyard of my newly purchased townhouse from an eyesore into a garden oasis. The work was done on time, on budget and turned out much more beautiful than I anticipated. Both Deborah and all of her crew members were a delight to deal with. I would highly recommend this company.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Kim! We were also very pleased with the results. I hope your garden oasis will continue to be a peaceful place to entertain and relax in.

shelly in Toronto
shelly in Toronto
4 reviews Toronto, ON
3/10

Landscaping

Communication was extremely difficult with this landscaper. I became insistent on communicating everything in writing even though the landscaper wanted to discuss verbally. In the end, the job had to be done over and even then, some aspects of design were irrational. She made excuses for not considering the 'look' of the design from the street view!

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry that you were disappointed with aspects of the design after initially being so happy with the end result. I wish we could have resolved everything to your satisfaction.

liebersu
liebersu
3 reviews NORTH YORK, ON
10/10

Landscaping

We have worked with Deborah Rankin over the past three years and are extremely satisfied. It began when we completely overhauled our backyard and with Deborah's help, it is now a beautiful oasis. We rely on Deborah's advice and have been thrilled with the results. The work is done on time and on budget. We highly recommend Rankin Landscape.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It always gives me great satisfaction when my clients are so happy with their gardens.

Gail M. Burgess from Toronto
Gail M. Burgess from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
9/10

design and planting of garden, ongoing maintainence

Rankin Landscaping has handled my gardening needs for the past 4 years. From design to implementation, Deb has worked within my budget, finished on time and even suggested ways in which I could reduce my costs. She and her crew have worked in a professional manner, at all times. I have recommended Rankin Landscaping to several friends who have been pleased enough to become repeat customers too.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks very much Gail. We have enjoyed working in your gardens and watching them evolve over the years. I really appreciate the referrals too. It's always rewarding when my clients trust me and recommend me to their friends.

Sonya in Toronto
Sonya in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review

0/10

Tidying of garden, weeding, add annuals and mulch

Deborah provided an estimate that was below other estimates to prepare my garden for the sale of my home. She was to clear weeds, add mulch and annuals and then remove rubbish. I was out of the country working on the day she performed the work. I got a call statign she had vastly underestimated the amoutn of work and the amount of mulch provided. I was held hostage to the fact that I needed the work done prior to my home going on the market. The original estimate for the labour escalated by 67%, the cost of mulch went up and the work done was not great. Even though I paid more, there was still not enough to cover the areas needed. As well, nueroud perrenials were removed when they could have been replanted in remaining bare spots where not just weeds, but plantings were removed.

when I flew back into the country for a long weekend to wrap things up, I spent days trying to arrange to (over)pay Deborah. She did not respond until a week later, when I had left the country again. As I was caught up in the millions of details of a move, including selling my home from a distance, I did not prioritise tracking her down and paying her for several days. She then chose to call my daughter and harrass her and then my estate agent! So unprofessional. I will pay the total, even though the work was shoddy and destroyed many perrenials and the cost was well over estimate, but I do warn you to stay away from this unprofessional company.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I regret that you were not satisfied with the work done. There are inaccuracies in the events you have listed. I'm sure it would have been a better experience for both of us if you had been home to discuss the issues as they arose. I am sorry you were unhappy but glad the house sold as quickly as it did.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Rankin Landscape And Design

Rankin Landscape and Design can create a perfect outdoor space, custom-designed to suit any budget. Our services: gardens, maintenance, landscape, design and concept, spring and fall cleanup, pruning, annual planters, spring bulb planting, garden redesign, maintaining an existing gardens, specialize in tree shrubs, perennials, revitalize overgrown gardens
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.