Canadian Built Home Products

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
1526 merivale rd Ottawa ON K2G 3J7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

24%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Canadian Built Home Products

Average customer rating:
5 10 (10 reviews)

Sort by

Laila from Ottawa
Laila from Ottawa
2 reviews Nepean, ON
0/10

Windows

We first contacted Canadian built in April of 2013. We contacted them at that time due to pricing and neighbour referrals. We then decided to complete project in two phases. May 2013 and Sept 2013. We also put down payment based on both phases.
First phase was completed great in May 2013. Then in August I called office and left messages to see when phase two windows would be replaced. I tried a few times then finally got someone who said they did not know they were supposed to order for second phase and completion date was to be Sept 2013. They said May delay until October. Then I did not receive further follow up and winter was on its way. I then followed up again in the new year waiting until winter was finished. I did not feel that another company was an option at the time as cbhp had my deposit and I thought they had my windows already there for phase 2.
After a few attempts as lines were not picked up at the location, I finally reached someone who then said they would pass info on to Alex who will get back to me. Within two days Alex returned my call and agreed to meet me.
We met and went over the contract that had previously been signed. He told me his personal situation which I was sympathetic to, but told him the impact from poor management of the company led to poor service. We revisited costs and he added slight reduction to the price. So they came and installed phase 2 in May 2014 when the originally should have been completed sept 2013. I again had to contact him for follow up even in May 2014.
After the windows were done, Alex came by to see the work and obviously collect remainder of payment. It was not until my husband came home and noticed one of the windows was not the correct one- that is it opened the wrong way. It slipped past my mind as we had signed contract a year ago and I would have hope company would have been watchful of this as well.
I then contacted Alex that afternoon, he said that he would replace it. I called him again beginning of June for install date and he said most likely June 23. So that date passes and nothing from company at all! I emailed him several times , called office no answer and called his cell and left messages.
All I wanted was to complete this replacement as he already had my full payment for an unsatisfactory job. I also had told him I needed a date as we were expecting company and the room with that window was going to be used so I wanted this done as soon as possible.
There are so many reasons I am dissatisfied as noted above. I was even referring his company to friends and neighbours until recently when he has not even been courteous enough to contact me. I was respectful of his situation and still decided to continue work with them even though we had to wait a whole year for completion. I waited a number of days to post this as I had told Alex in numerous messages that I was hoping he would contact me first so I did not gave to go this route.
Customer service and reputation are big for a company and this company has lost my confidence in both.

Was this review helpful?
Sue from Ottawa
Sue from Ottawa
1 review Orl, ON
10/10

Front Door with Sidelight

Courteous, friendly, personal service from sale to delivery by courteous, experienced and knowledgeable staff. Prompt attention to a minor cosmetic repair post installation.
I would recommend CBHP in a minute!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Danyelle Bourret from Pakenham
Danyelle Bourret from Pakenham
1 review Kanata, ON
10/10

windows and doors

The new windows and doors are beautiful. Tremendous difference. Jay and Chris you guys are the best installers! Awesome workmanship! Awesome quality! Love my house again! Can't wait for Winter.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you, I hope that in the winter time you will be even more excited :)

Anita M.
Anita M.
4 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

windows and door

Very happy about the great work done installing the windows and patio door....the house looks like new!!! The entire process from sales to finish was courteous and prompt. ...even clean up, great jobs guys !!! and the entire crew was so friendly and polite. It was a pleasure to have this staff in our home.I would highly recommend this company
to anyone thinking of changing their windows and doors.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you very much, it was a pleasure working with you. I hope to see you soon in you neighborhood when we get lots of business from your referrals.

Art Dempsey from Ottawa
Art Dempsey from Ottawa
2 reviews Kanata, ON
10/10

window and door replacement

Very satisfied with both the quality of the windows and doors and the workmen who installed them. I would recommend them to anyone that asks. Looking forward to years of comfort and enjoyment in our renovated home

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you very much. It was a pleasure working with you.

Andre from Ottawa
Andre from Ottawa
1 review Orleans, ON
10/10

Windows and Doors

We have ordered all of our windows from Canadian Built in April. The windows were installed last week. This company was recommended to us by our friend. We were a little cautions to go with this company because of the reviews that we saw. However Alex explained the reasons for these reviews and offered us a zero down deal. We decided to take our chance. We are extremely happy with the work, friendly service and the products. I will definitely recommend this company to my friends and family.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you. I am happy it was worth it.

Eric from Gloucester
Eric from Gloucester
1 review Gloucester, ON
0/10

front door

I too bought a door in June 2013. I paid in full (I'll never do that again). Same as Chris and Marie, it is now November and still no doors. All the phone calls are unanswered and emails are ignored. I sympathize with Alex's situation but he is not the only person working at that location. Someone else should have notified the clients of delays. I even went to the office in person only to find an empty building at 1877 merivale with a realtor sign out front. Again no forwarding address listed...nothing. I was called in mid Oct that the door would finally be ready. Since Sept I had to file legal papers to get refunded and buy another estimate from another contractor. CBHP is not returning calls to take responsibility and refund me those costs. All you had to do was KEEP IN TOUCH WITH YOUR CLIENTS!!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
MARIE from Nepean
MARIE from Nepean
1 review Nepean, ON
0/10

DOOR AND SIDE LIGHT

WE MADE A DEPOSIT OF $760.00 ON A DOOR AND SIDE LIGHT ON JUNE 20/13 TO CANADIAN BUILT HOME PRODUCTS. WE STILL DO NOT HAVE THE WORK DONE AS OF OCT. 21/13. WE HAVE BEEN GIVEN MANY EXCUSES ABOUT WHY THE WORK WAS NOT BEING DONE. I HAVE ASKED FOR THE DEPOSIT BACK THREE TIMES AND WRITTEN A LETTER ASKING FOR THE DEPOSIT BUT HAVE NOT RECEIVED IT. THEY DO NOT ANSWER THE PHONE AND WHEN A MESSAGE IS LEFT THE CALLS ARE NOT RETURNED.
IF IT IS POSIBLE FOR YOU TO FORWARD MY EMAIL TO CHRIS FROM OTTAWA AND ANIS FROM NEPEAN I WOULD APPRECIATE TALKING TO THEM ABOUT MY EXPERIENCE. mapaquillan@hotmail.com Thank you.
The company has not changed. I phoned today, Nov. 25/13 and although Alek was in the office he did not return my call. I still have not received a refund of my deposit.
Please Chris, Anis, and Eric email me. Lets talk about this problem.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hi Mary we have spoke to you and responded. It is unfortunate that we have made you wait so long for the product. However due to personal tragedy in the family of the owner of the company we have been unable to react fast enough on you complaint. 99% of our customers are extremely happy with our products and services, We will install your product in the next 2 weeks and compensate you in a form of a proper discount, Again we apologise for any trouble our situation may have caused you. Thank you for your review.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Canadian Built Home Products

Canadian Built Home Products Corp. has been satisfying customers since 1998. We believe in high standards of workmanship and quality products. We specialize in windows and doors as well as other products and services related to improving your homes appearance; and making it greener and more energy efficient. We started ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Windows & Doors Installation & Service pros in Nepean?