Blue Lake Landscaping & General Contracting

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Bay 135, 3007 – 57th Avenue SE Calgary AB
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars  >  Landscape Contractors & Designers in Calgary  >  Blue Lake Landscaping & General Contracting
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

77%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Blue Lake Landscaping & General Contracting

Average customer rating:
7.6 10 (50 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Calgary, AB
1/10

Disasterously incompetent project work

We had blue Lake contracting create a large fence for us last summer. There are far more issues with it then I would care to mention here.

The work was not completed on time as scheduled, despite the weather being good. The quality of the workmanship was generally extremely poor (as confirmed by multiple contractors after-the-fact). Would not use, again!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am sorry as I am not sure as to any complaints of this nature. Please contact the office immediately 403 253 5253 to allow us to understand your compliant. Thank you

Brad
Brad
1 review Calgary, AB
8/10

Poured concrete in front yard

Had a cement side walk poured from city side walk to front steps. Then had concrete path poured from front side of house to back of the house.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the feed back Brad.

Owner
Owner
1 review Calgary, AB
6/10

Fence

The crew worked hard and built a great fence. There were communication issues with the company principals though. We went thought a number of loops to actually get the contract set. Jeff (the sales person) and Fab (the General Manager) didn't always seem to be on the same page.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your time, we are always working on making things more efficient, I understand that we had some difficulties with your contract and believe we have corrected them and improved our sales teams turn around. Have a great day.

c.mini
c.mini
1 review Calgary, AB
6/10

yard renovation and a fence

it all started with the estimator who did not take down any notes and when I wanted to show him the neighbors house up the street who had their yard done and what rocks I wanted in my yard he said he knows. well I did not get the rocks that I was looking for and had requested a visit from him to see what rocks he had chosen. he had chosen rocks that were way to big in size which thankfully I could change to a smaller size and accept the choice of rock that was chosen. I had wanted some rocks put under a previous deck and he had missed this on his work order so I had to remind him. He took it upon himself to order me just a white maintenance free fence when I wanted two tone so thankfully we could get this fixed. when the fence was put up it was not all the way to the ground as I did not want to see my neighbors weeds or have their grass cuttings in my yard. it ended up being 5 inches from the ground hence I then had to spend more monies to fix this problem! the post caps are flying off with the wind and I have to keep asking my neighbors for them back. they are to fix this issue when the weather is nicer - therefore removed all the caps until then. no one would meet me personally as it was all done by email. eventually I had to call the contractor to discuss all my concerns and meet in person. it would have been nice to have personally met the contractor after the estimator so we can go over what was to be done to make sure all was correct. this project put me over my budget as things were not done correctly. it would also have been nice if they would tell me that they would block my driveway during this period so I could get my vehicle out of the garage and park it on the street. After finally getting to see the contractor personally we got a lot of issues sorted out and explained to them in future they need to personally keep in touch face to face as to the progress and concerns that arise. I am happy with the work now that we got things sorted out and am looking forward to the summer to get to enjoy it more! They have promised to complete the job and I hope they keep there word on this.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide me with your feed back and once again I apologize our team did not give you the attention that was required. I have since than changed our sales approach which requires custom design as yours did. We have learned from this and will continue to improve thank you for the business and see you in spring to glue your caps.

John_D_Bertram
John_D_Bertram
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

front yard and deck etc.

Professionally done and workers very professional. What we have had done was a lot of heavy manual labour intense to remove the amount of top soil mostly by hand and they laid the stones. The deck is great.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello John, thank you so much for the kind words. It was a pleasure doing the work for you folks enjoy it.

Private User
Private User
1 review Calgary, AB
1/10

Does not support it's own warranty

So this company has been very difficult...They have major scheduling issues, they don't pay attention to detail and most of all, they don't support their own warranty. After a month of the tiles being installed, the sand underneath sank and the tiles we either floating or covered in water and they want to charge us to come out and repair their work. Better off doing it yourself, very disappointed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review and feed back, we do not recall any services we didn't attend to that were warranty related.Please contact the office at 403 253 5253 to provide more info as there is no first or last name to reference too.

Trevor in Airdrie
Trevor in Airdrie
1 review Airdrie, AB
9/10

Back yard

Super impressed with salesman Jeff first of all. Job took a little longer than we were quoted, but, overall we are pleased with the finished product. Looks great, thanks to all.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review Trevor, it means a lot to our crews to hear positive feed back I will pass it along. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Private User
Private User
1 review Calgary, AB
2/10

Patio

They don't honour their warranty. Patio installed in 2014 and it was beautiful, but quickly began to crumble in several areas. Countless requests made for repair in 2015 and 2016. Usual response was "sorry we forgot/what's your address again?". Finally May 2016 they looked at it and said it needed to be re-sealed. Final response October 2016 was "your little repair is not a priority". We will have to hire another contractor this summer before our $10K investment is worthless.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review, I don't have a name to look up but this seems like it could be that it was over 1 year or from salt applied in the winter we don't just refuse to do service please contact 403 253 5253. and ask for our GM Fab.

Jeanne E. in Calgary
Jeanne E. in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Deck construction

Peter and his crew are very professional and very efficient. They worked throughout their shift, fast and accurate. The deck is very stable, they made use of all the materials very efficiently. Highly recommends this company. Fab and Jeff accomodated and answered my questions in a timely manner.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Jeanne, I would like to wish you and your family a ton of fun in the sun on your deck this summer. Thanks again.

Luke R in Calgary
Luke R in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
8/10

Basement Finishing

Had my basement finished by Blue Lake in 2017. Bedroom, Den, Bathroom, Window Cut. Blue Lake was very professional and the finished product highlights the attention to detail. As with any renovation, the project ran into some unknowns, but Fab was fair, timely, and realistic when working around them. My project was completed on time even with added scope. The real highlight of Blue Lake is the contractors that were completing the work. Every single contractor framing, plumbing, drywall, painting, electrical etc. were extremely professional and seemed to always have comments or suggestions about making the final product better for us (without added cost). They seemed to actually care about the project. Furthermore, everyone was very mindful that we had a toddler and very pregnant lady in the house. If you are looking for a cheap, delayed, slapped together basement then I would not recommend Blue Lake, as they are in the business of providing a quality product without cutting corners.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words Luke, it means allot to my staff and me that your experience was a pleasant one. Hope you and your beautiful family enjoy the space and the summer ahead. Thank you once again for trusting Blue Lake Contracting in your project. Best wishes.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Blue Lake Landscaping & General Contracting

Blue Lake Contracting is a full service Calgary Renovation company that provides full scale Landscaping, Concrete and Renovations and design a company that offers a variety of services for any sized residential and commercial project.

Serving Calgary, Airdrie, Chestermere, Okotoks with all your landscaping, concrete, deck, fence, garage, basement renovation and home improvement needs.

CATEGORIES
Landscape Contractors & Designers and General Contractors
SERVICES
Decorative concrete, Paving stone, Interlocking Brick, Retaining walls, Flower beds, Landscape construction, Residential landscaping, Commercial landscaping, decorative rocks, Mulch's, Irrigation, Water features, Decks, Fences, Pergolas, Arbors, Material deliveries, Basement developments, Garage builds.
SPECIALITIES
Looking for a Calgary landscaping, concrete, deck, fence, garage, basement renovation or home improvement company? Blue Lake services Calgary, Airdrie, Chestermere, Okotoks with all your renovation needs!
WEBSITE
http://bluelakecontracting.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2001
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
28
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, Master card, Interact, financing, Cheque
MEMBERSHIPS
CHBA, BBB, CCA, Reno Mark, ACA, Certified in Alberta soils, Certified in moisture control,
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
1 year from date of completion
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.