We contacted M.E to quote on our backyard landscaping project where we wanted to level off our property, add a cedar fence on one side and add a patio and stairs leading to the alleyway, level off an area for a shed and put down Sod.
We were impressed with the initial visits and Daryl's ideas and suggestions and decided to hire them despite receiving lower quotes. Our foreman Mark was prompt and the work progressed well and we were excited to see the completed project.
When the project was completed we were impressed with the look and especially with the fence, which is stunning. However, after out initial euphoria it became apparent that some of the details of the project had been overlooked and or hastily completed.
The level area for the shed, was not level and we had to have it redone at our cost. The Sod was missing from a 2.5' stretch at the back of the property where Mark's team left some of the debris from demolition of our old shed and old retaining walls. The sod died within two weeks. Upon which time it was discovered, as I worked to replace all the Sod with help from Home depot, that the Sod had been put down directly on rocks, broken bottles, old wood chips, 8" nails (which my 4 year old found) and old bricks that had been in the shed Mark's team had demo'd. We were not impressed.
We also noticed that the saw marks on the retaining wall did not go away as we were informed they would and that one of the patio tiles had concrete on it.
We complained to Daryl in August 2016, since that time a part of the wall by the stairs has shifted along with a portion of the patio. Daryl came out in March to address our complaints, but unfortunately showed up early and I was not able to talk to him as he left before I got home. He did however promise to fix the patio and the retaining wall and to address the discoloration of the stone work.
Its June, and I have left repeated messages with M.E. to get back to me to arrange a time to complete the work....
- Company Response
Hi Jason. I'm sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. We really appreciate your feedback, and glad that we had the opportunely to correct the issues you mentioned above. We understand that all has been rectified to your satisfaction. Enjoy your summer, ME Contracting