Roofworks Ltd. - No Longer In Business

Roofing
Calgary AB T2X 1B9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Roofing in Calgary  >  Roofworks Ltd. - No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

71%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Roofworks Ltd. - No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
8.2 10 (12 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Ruined the job

Very unreliable, I had to actually fire this contractor as they were cutting corners and messed up the job. Ended up costing me more money in the end. My advice to anyone is stay clear of this contractor at all costs.

Was this review helpful?
Steven Morris from Calgary
Steven Morris from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Emergency Roofing Repair

I called Roofworks and had a very damaged roof from a hail storm last spring, and asked for emergency roofing repair. The guys showed up the next day and provided me with suggestions and high quality synthetic replacement, patched it right up. After the job was done, i recently gave them a call in March of 2014 to redo my whole roof in a different colour, and i am super satisfied with the work done.

I would recommend Roofworks to my family and friends any day of the week for their timeliness and quality of the job done.

Steven

Was this review helpful?
Jason  from Calgary
Jason from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
9/10

Renovation

As a Custom Home Builder in Calgary...I have been very impressed with the professionalism. service and quality from everybody at Roofworks. We have worked together on very large scale and small scale projects. Timelines have always been met. They are also very good at handling any unexpected issues that may arise during the coarse of construction.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Jon Kommes from Calgary
Jon Kommes from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Roofing

Very pleased with their effort to do my roof. I needed the roof done in short time frame and they were able to accommodate us.
Very professional and easy to work with. Would use again in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
roland from Calgary
roland from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

new roof

I called Tom at Roofworks and asked for a quote for new shingles He emailed a price the same day We gave the go ahead based on quote, Material was delivered 3 days later then his team showed up and removed existing and installed new roof and did a site clean up .Great service and workmanship

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Roland, thanks so much for your positive review on Roofworks. We appreciate you taking the time to write this commentary. If there is anyone you know that would benefit from our service, please share your experience with them as we now offer a $100 referral bonus. It was a pleasure doing business with you.

Charles from Calgary
Charles from Calgary
1 review Cochrane, AB
0/10

Roofing

Worst experience in construction. Started roof and did not complete the roof until 7 months later. Left garage all over property and left big patches of grass damaged as well as damage one tree. Will not pick up garage saying the job is complete. Do not hire roofworks

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Charles, thank you for providing the feedback regarding your experience with Roofworks. All comments we receive combine to make us a stronger and healthier company. In the very unique experience we had with the client in question, we felt it necessary to address some curious points you put forth.
Firstly, we did indeed utilize the efforts and skills of 5 separate crews who have ironically satisfied thousands of homeowners, numerous builders and several projects with The City of Calgary. Unfortunately not one of these highly qualified and experienced professionals were able to satisfy the needs of the customer on contract (who has decided to remain anonymous?).
Secondly, there remains some confusion as to why actual roofing pictures of the work performed remain absent from your commentary as this was in fact the reason for Roofworks to even engage in this project. Instead, pictures of landscape and part of the project underway exist with no final demonstration of our completed work.
Thirdly, for our business to be profitable, we must complete each project in a very timely and efficient manner and to spend 7 months on a project of this relative size is indeed ridiculous. Again, for reasons unknown, there remains an absence of a complete explanation as to why this particular job took so much longer than any other we have experienced. For example, numerous client changes and additions while the job was underway, client shutdown of the job as he needed to review what was happening in great detail, refusal of crews on site, refusal of crews to finally work with the client and numerous visits to a Calgary based supplier to gather ever increasing facts and details on product composition etc. Again, curiously these points were overlooked in your commentary.
Lastly, Roofworks simply settled to our disadvantage with the unmentioned client to end a very unfortunate relationship that we hope will not be repeated with either ourselves, or for that matter, our competition. For Roofworks, it was however a truly valuable experience that we did learn from. Charles, in the end, despite the overall experience Roofworks had with this client, we do appreciate the time you took to share your feedback on his behalf.

Josh from Calgary
Josh from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
9/10

Replace roof

I used roof works after seeing them at the Calgary Home and Garden show. They did my roof back in may of 2013. I had several quotes but went with these guys for two reasons; the owners were at the show and came off as genuine straigh forward guys, and two because their quote was way below the competition. The salesman Josh was a great guy and worked around my schedule to come to my a house a few times to chat before I signed with them.
I was expecting some hiccups considering they're new and the quote was cheaper than everyone else. Luckily all the issues were the ones I was hoping for like when the bin would get dropped off, when it would be picked up, what day they would start. The main things I care about like quality of work, quality of product and price were great.
The owner Dan was receptive to my issues and seemed genuinly sorry for the mixups. I'd definately recommend Roof Works to anyone looking to get a roof done.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Sandra Helm from Madden
Sandra Helm from Madden
1 review Madden, AB
10/10

new roofing shingles

Roofworks provided prompt service and did a very tidy job. The quote was reasonable and the workers were courteous and quick. All old materials were disposed of efficiently. The advice they gave as to what shingle type and colour to use was very helpful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Marie Desmarais from Calgary
Marie Desmarais from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Roofing

From word of mouth, I learnt about ROOF WORKS. I contacted Dan Comeau, the president, who understood quickly what I needed and gave me clear advice. I could visualise the product he uses on the web. The exact measurments of my property were provided by Eagleview. Two days later, Tom Taylor, the sales man, came with large samples of various tiles and a brochure of precise aerial measurement report. I signed the contract without hesitation (following BBB advice). No extra cost of material, no waste. The garbage to be put daily in a truck for the dump. Within a week, the roofers (a great team from Albania) tackled the job with expertise; no complaints, no delay except for thunder storms... -no risk taking on a pretty slanted roof. On time, they were like ants, agile, secure, moving the tiles, cables, and equipment. Polite, pleasant, in a nutshell SKILLED healthy guys. Ken, the leader, refused to be called the foreman; "we are all brothers" he said. Brothers they were. There was a slight detail to be fixed; they came as soon as notified, and fixed it promptly at no extra cost.
I could not have had a better experience. IT FEELS GREAT TO LIVE UNDER MY ROOF, RENEWED & REFRESHED in the former army base of Garrison Woods! Many thanks to all! Come back in 30 years!!! MD

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Jordan from Airdrie
Jordan from Airdrie
2 reviews Airdrie, AB
10/10

Roofing

Roof Works assisted us with our unique National Home Warranty Insurance claim - due to the quality of the original shingle installation on our new home. Being in our home less than two years, we were not expecting to have quality issues so early in. Both Dan and Kevin were very easy to deal with and were there to assist us with any required documentation for the insurance company. They went out of their way to ensure that our roof issues were corrected. They also made the decision to upgrade to a better quality of product, easy and affordable.
The installation crew was great, they were very professional and polite. The crew was very respectful and courteous, to the point that they would inform us of their presence when working around bedroom windows. The were very helpful in explaining the installation process and kept the site very clean.
As parents, we also very much appreciate how the crew conducted themselves. Language and conversations were appropriate and we did not have any concern in having our children out while the crew was present. This is notable as we are living in a community that is building up, and as a result of such - have numerous trades and crews around our home on a daily basis. There was no concern at all with the Roof Works crew.
We would recommend Roof Works to anyone that requires their services. They were very professional, honest and affordable. They made process of getting our roof re-done easy and painless. They also were very helpful in ensuring that were were going to get the quality of roof that was discussed and promised. An overall pleasure to work with.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Roofworks Ltd. - No Longer In Business

Dealing with an insurance claim? We'll pay your deductible up to $500 AND deal directly with your insurance company. Just think it's time for a new roof? We'll provide the highest level quality and service you deserve.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.