HomeStars  >  Snow Removal in Toronto  >  Mega Interlocking & Custom Designes - No longer in business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

19%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Mega Interlocking & Custom Designes - No longer in business

Average customer rating:
1.6 10 (25 reviews)

Sort by

Dave from Toronto
Dave from Toronto
1 review Old Toronto, ON
0/10

Interlocking

Completly not satisfied with my experiance, but am satisfied with the end result. Believe all the reviews you read! Before the owner responds, yes i have paid in full and am NOW satisfied with the final product, not the road to get here.

First - i was sold a job that would be personally overseen by the owner. The only time he was here was during demolition and to collect payments.

Second - The job was completed 4 months after the promised completion date. The project did not even start until after the promised completion date. There was a 2 month gap between demolition and when mateial arrived.

We were given many promises that were not kept, and when we were finally able to reach the owner or project manager, they gave many excuses and additional promises that were not kept.

We were given all the assurances that the owner would take personal care in this project but it was sub contracted out. No complaints about the subs, they have addressed all our concerns.

Many times phone calls, voice mail and texts went unanswered for both the owner, sales and project manager.

End result is fantastic, we are happy from that perspective. Time will tell if it holds up. If you dont mind the delays and agrevation, perhaps I could recommend this company.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
kal from Unionville
kal from Unionville
1 review Unionville, ON
0/10

Interlocking and paving

You should not use Mega Interlocking (or their other name mega stone) at all. Unfortunately the story I have is similar to other postings so please take heed of our experience - if you end up in our situation you will feel very stupid, out a significant amount of money, and with an eyesore and safety hazard for an extended period of time.

I signed a contract for my backyard patio, walkway, driveway and front porch in early September. It was not a small job and I now deeply regret choosing mega interlocking however on the basis of the numerous high score postings on home stars I felt reasonably comfortable - I now suspect these are likely not actual customers. My experience started out with them arriving unannounced early in the morning to begin excavation and this actually made me feel that the job would complete quickly as it was only a few days after the contract was signed. However all they did was dig up the old driveway, front area and backyard and take a large deposit – the pictures show my current state - over 2 months has passed and this is what I’ve been living with. Once they finished digging the old stone up they informed me that it would be a couple of weeks before they could continue as they had to allow the ground to settle. I have had my front and backyard dug up for over 2 months now and they informed me early this week that they would not return until next spring to complete the job – when I asked why I was told that it had been too wet lately.

Once they have their deposit they will leave you hanging using your deposit to provide cash flow for the company with no actual restart date scheduled or brick delivered just a vague reference to once the ground settles. If you insist on using them do not give them any deposit at all at least until the brick arrives - once you pay them anything they will leave you with a mess in your yard and a sinking feeling your stomach.

I posted comments reflecting my experience and concern after a month had passed since the original excavation and David called me asking that I remove the posting due to a misunderstanding and committing to address the situation. I agreed to do this as I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt and frankly I didn't want to lose my deposit. He returned to my house 4 weeks after the original excavation date in the dark walked around the yard for 5 minutes and determined that the ground had not "settled enough to begin" but committed to completing the job within a month. At that point I should have followed through on my intention to cancel the contract and demand a refund but I gave him the benefit of the doubt. Since then the other professional contractors I have spoken to have laughed at the idea that a replacement job would require months of time for the ground to settle. If you value your money and peace of mind do not use them. The risk associated with these guys is too high in my opinion for anyone to use them regardless of the competitive pricing - you are better off not taking the chance that you may be one of the homeowners who are left with an eyesore for an indefinite period.

I trusted Harris their sales rep as he appeared to be genuine and capable and I have proven to be an extremely poor judge of character. I trusted their owner David wasting 4 weeks of additional wait time after he came to reassure me. I even accommodated David’s ask for an increase in the deposit by $2,000 the day they came to dig up the old stone. Like a fool I trusted him and paid the increase as he said there had been a mistake in the quote. Now, mid-November I am likely not to recover my deposit without taking formal legal action so I would encourage any of you in a similar situation to wait no longer – cancel your contract and try and get an alternate contractor to complete the job before the snow. I have been lucky to find a contractor who is so mortified by the service Mega Interlocking provided that he is arranging for his company to fit me into their schedule and help me out of this terrible situation. They are going to work on the weekend on the priority areas to ensure my home is restored to a safe and livable condition.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mr. Cal contracted us to do interlocking around his home. We came and remove all the old interlocking he had around his home about 1800 sqft approximately and we hauled it away. Then we came back to dug and remove approximately 24 tons of old foundation, hauled it away then added 30 tons of gravel plus removed a full dump truck load of trees that's 70% of the work we did. We had a back order for the materials, so I called and explained to Mr. Cal. He asked me if I could come see him and evaluate the condition of the ground, when I came the ground has been soft due to all the rain we had and the temperature was been below 10C. I explained to him that as a result of this condition we should do the work next spring. as u can see the pictures that are provided by customer show work is ready for stones.. to be laid

Nan from Whitchurch-stouffville
Nan from Whitchurch-stouffville
4 reviews Whitchurch-Stouffville, ON
0/10

Interlocking

I would NOT believe any of the 10 star reviews! I have experienced the same as many other 0 reviews that I have come across on the internet. Harris who comes across as a professional and well informed person sold the job to us and our neighbour on AUGUST 25th, we both picked the stone (basic nothing to glamorous or FANCY!), we were impressed when they showed up on September 10th to excavate and put down first layer of gravel, we paid then first deposit as we agreed, we keep our word and paid them (BIGGEST MISTAKE we have ever made) $5000. that was the end of that. Sent a friendly text to DAVID (claims to be the owner .. I wouldn't be so proud of that if I were him) on Oct. 2 at 9.27 am. asking when they will return, Response: "still waiting on stone colour" sure we believed him at the time. Oct 7 I text him again. "any news" response "still waiting" Oct. 13 "it's now 9 weeks where are the stones" - now it's getting a bit unbelievable that a stone company takes THIS Long to order stones. His response " be patient' Oct 15 inquired AGAIN his response " stones being MADE" seriously?!?!?!?! Oct 24, 25, no reply to any texts.... Oct 30 his response "ground Wet" (we signed in AUGUST!!!), Oct 31, and today Nov 8 we have snow on the ground (STOUFFVILLE) and guess what NO STONE!~!!!! and not only has David been so SHADY his so called project manager Leena called me 3 weeks ago promising stones the following week and nothing. according to her answering machine she only works Mondays and Fridays from 9-5 and we have called during those times ON NUMEROUS occasions and guess what no response ! most times the machine is full, which I'm pretty sure are from other they have mislead and Harris...well he's disappeared. I am advising any person out there who have saved their hard earned money to make their house beautiful to save them selves and go else where. Mega interlocking have been nothing but a nightmare. ALL those reviews out there are true about them. I am seeking legal action because I need my front and back to be accessible soon and before someone sues us by tripping on our front step. I'm frustrated and very angry.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our company was contracted to do some interlocking for this customer, unfortunately we got backed up because of product delay. Once that the product is here and ready the rain that we have had has put us back, unfortunate we explained this to the customer - to do this project properly we have to wait till the spring. We have a warranty on our work we have to make sure we do things right 100% of the time. As show on the customer’s pictures our work is ready for stones to be laid.

Pat Bond from Toronto
Pat Bond from Toronto
1 review Old Toronto, ON
0/10

interlocking

i cannot begin to tell you how unhappy i am with this company. it is clear that they spend more time posting phony positive reviews on this website instead of calling back paying customers. Please do not start business with this company. They have a pattern that is quite clear at this point, sign contract, get 1st deposit, drop off material, get 2nd deposit and then completely ignore any phone calls, and disappear. it's disgusting. we are left with nothing but a mess and raw material in our front waiting for the cold weather to come.
types of excuses we've received = brick still has not come in, the weather is bad due to rain, brick is on back-order, machines are not working, behind schedule
this was a truly horrible experience
you have been warned

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

this customer work has been finished and paid in full!!!!!
and is satisfied

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

Is this your business?

Receive leads and respond to reviews.
Claiming is easy and free.

Claim this business
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.