Your Reno Guys

Basement Renovation
1638 Cyrville Road, Unit 2 Ottawa ON K1B 3L8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

73%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Your Reno Guys

Average customer rating:
8.1 10 (49 reviews)

Sort by

kathleen briere in Manotick
kathleen briere in Manotick
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

basement renovation

We hired Your Reno Guys to finish our basement in fall 2015 and are very satisfied with the result. We chose them out of 4 companies because Alex made a good impression, we were given a detailed itemized quote, and their price was competitive. During the work, everyone was friendly, very responsive to our questions and requests, and the crew cleaned up daily. John ensured we were satisfied throughout, and we were very happy that the project came in on budget and on time. We would definitely rehire and recommend Your Reno Guys!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kathleen, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. It was great working with you and we look forward to working with you on other projects in the future!

ky2566 from Ottawa
ky2566 from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Bathroom Renovation

We hired Your Reno Guys in summer 2014 to renovate our master bathroom - tile, tub, vanity and painting. We picked Your Reno Guys after meeting with five different contractors on the basis of what we felt was a fair quote, and the level of comfort we had after meeting with John.

This was our first reno project, and John and his team were wonderful in walking us through the process, explaining each step, walking us through each design and reno decision, and answering all the questions we had. The team was friendly and professional, cleaning up the job site every evening and taking steps to minimize the impact the reno had on our day-to-day life. The project was finished on time and on budget, and Your Reno Guys was great at coming back to complete a few final touch ups to make sure that we were happy with the final result.

We would work with Your Reno Guys without hesitation on any future projects, and have already recommended them to a number of friends.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate it! We also appreciate the recommendations! We look forward to working with you on your future projects!

Louise Haberl from Ottawa
Louise Haberl from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Bathroom renovation

We hired Your Reno Guys in May 2015 to do a full renovation of our bathroom. It is a small room but serves as our main bathroom, so it was important to get it done right. I was extremely impressed by this company. Three things stood out for me: top customer service; the quality of the work, and the timeliness of completing the work. John Gordon and his team were highly organized, with plumber, tiler, and painter ready to go when each stage was completed. It's not always easy these days to find good customer service but this company definitely provides that. Madison and Ikuban and the team a whole were excellent in this regard. I can recommend this company without hesitation.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Louise, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is always our goal to ensure that we are providing the very best customer service and we appreciate that you took notice of this. We trust that you are enjoying your bathroom!

Sandra from Ottawa
Sandra from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

I want to thank John and all of the Your Reno Guys crew who were involved in my kitchen renovation. I am very pleased with the results and am now enjoying my new kitchen.

John, you have a great crew of people working for you. I appreciate all that you and they did to make my kitchen a place for me to enjoy.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words, Sandra. We trust that you will continue to enjoy your new kitchen!

Yvette Roberts in Gloucester
Yvette Roberts in Gloucester
2 reviews Gloucester, ON

First Review

8/10

Replace basement windows

It took a while for the windows to be ordered. The work was well done. He performed the work without being disruptive and cleaned everything before leaving. I have always been happy with the work from Your Reno Guys.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Yvette, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate it! We are sorry to hear that it took a while for your windows to be ordered, however because Your Reno Guys does not produce or install windows, we had no control over that aspect of the renovation. We’re glad that you have always been happy with the work provided by Your Reno Guys and we look forward to working with you again soon!

Karl El-Koura from Ottawa
Karl El-Koura from Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
3/10

Kitchen Renovation

When my wife and I decided to do some renovations in our kitchen, we only called John of Your Reno Guys. He’d done a complete reno of our bathrooms about two years ago and we were so happy with that work we didn’t consider anyone else for this (smaller) project. As usual, John’s guys were polite and friendly and their work was great – until the backsplash went in. We’d asked for bright white grout, but something went wrong at some point and the grout came out looking patchy – dark grey in areas, shifting to light grey in others, then to white. At first John was defensive over the phone and insisted it was white, but agreed to come take a look. He then sent two of his guys to try washing it with a water/vinegar solution, and when that didn’t work he told us that we could try a dye to fix it ourselves, or pay him to fix it. We sent a polite email saying that was fine, we’d do it ourselves, but we were disappointed that we had to pay to fix the mistake when we just wanted him to put in white grout in the first place. This is where things went south – John sent us an angry email suggesting we finish the project ourselves. He also blamed the grout manufacturer for the discolouration. (We've since spoken with a local tile store, who said that in their experience that problem is caused by improperly mixing the grout). I called John right away and apologized that my email had upset him; John was still very angry and told me that I had insulted his craftsmanship. I asked him what he meant by finishing the project ourselves, did he really want to just abandon the project, and he said yes, he had so much other work he didn’t care about ours. By that time, I was so upset that I told him that was fine. My wife is six months pregnant and we just wanted him out of our lives, and wanted our kitchen back.

The odd thing is that sometimes John reacts very well to problems – when we told him some of the tiles were cracked, he sent guys over to fix them right away.

If you decide to go with Your Reno Guys, just think twice (three times really) before expressing any displeasure with the work, unless it’s something obvious like cracked tiles. Also, watch your lock box – we came home one night to find the lock box wide open with the key to our front door sitting there for the taking. Finally, just be warned that John will often ignore your requests for the work you want to do yourself – for example, since the disposal was just of the old floor tiles and subfloor, we told him we'd take it to the dump ourselves. John went ahead and cleared the waste and charged us an extra $125 over the quoted price for the disposal. Similarly, I told him I'd install the dishwasher myself, but his guys went ahead and installed it and charged us (but they didn’t stabilize it into the cabinets!)

Overall, we really enjoyed working with John when things were going well. But as soon as things went south, in our opinion John became very aggressive, rude, and unprofessional. For that reason, we won’t ever be using his company again and wanted to put up this review so potential customers have a balanced view, and a heads-up about some of the things that can damage the relationship.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Karl,
Thank you for the compliments about working with us in the past, we take pride in our excellent workmanship and we have always enjoyed working with you. As for the issues you experienced this time; the bright white grout that you chose from the available options is what was installed on your backsplash. I’m sorry you didn’t like the end result of the shade that you chose. As is the case with paint, there are so many shades of grout. After you expressed concern, we tried to come up with a couple of solutions as it is always our intention to please our clients. We tried to wipe the grout with a water/vinegar solution and then suggested dying it when that did not work. We don’t have very much control over manufactured
products. On the matter of the debris, that was a miscommunication on our part. Our staff is trained to clean up job sites at the end of each day because we respect people’s homes. The dump fee was $40 and it took our worker one hour to complete the task. We did call to negotiate, but thankfully you agreed to pay since you received the service. As you know, we didn’t complete the final painting at your request. In summary, you have done three renovations with us, all of which you have been thrilled with until the point where you were unhappy with the grout colour you selected. We wish we could have done more to please you, however sometimes it’s not
always possible. If you would still like a $125 credit for the garbage
removal even though you received the service, we would be happy to
refund.

Monica from Ottawa
Monica from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
9/10

Bathroom Renovation and Electrical work

Your Reno Guys
613-744-0733
1638 Cyrville Road, Unit 2
Ottawa
ON
K1B 3L8
CANADA

I had a great experience with Your Reno Guys. I recently purchased my first home, a condominium unit in an older building. The bathroom was horrible - very small, narrow and pretty ugly. John came by to provide me an estimate and right off the bat, he showed that he has vision and made great suggestions for how I could expand the bathroom to make it more functional and add value to my place. He also showed a lot of integrity in giving me advice on the kind of materials that should be used to waterproof the new tub/shower, etc., even saying that I should make sure those materials would be used even if I didn't go with Your Reno Guys. That really impressed me, as it showed that he really cares about quality and workmanship. Once the project started, everything went very well and was completed within the time frame we had discussed. The overall cost was also very close to the estimate, and any increases had to do with changes I made to the original scope of the project (e.g. I wanted some additional electrical work done throughout the unit, etc.). And the final bathroom ended up being so gorgeous. I'm thrilled!

John's approach is very transparent and direct, which is great when you're looking for a contractor. In addition, any minor hiccups were dealt with promptly and professionally, and I really enjoyed dealing with John's crew and staff, all of whom were professional, friendly and showed a lot of pride in their work. He has put together a great team, and I will certainly contact them in the future! You can't go wrong by reaching out to Your Reno Guys.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much, Monica; it was great working with you! Congratulations and we trust that you are enjoying your new home..especially the bathroom!

Tracey Lonsdale-Harris from Ottawa
Tracey Lonsdale-Harris from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

2 bathrooms and basement renos including tiles, carpet, granite counters, lots of painting and some carpentry and dry walling with a little plumbing too.

These guys did great work. They offered simpler and less expensive options and were very honest and straight forward in their estimates. Excellent communications. They were also very flexible when we changed the scope of the project.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Tracey, thank you for trusting us to work in your home. It was a pleasure working with you. All the best!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Your Reno Guys

Whether your bathroom, basement or kitchen needs a major or minor renovation, Your Reno Guys are the Ottawa renovation experts that you need. We were awarded Sales and Services Business of the year in 2014 by the Orleans Chamber of Commerce. We are a reliable and well-established team of experts ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Basement Renovation pros in Ottawa?