The Roof Whisperer

Gutters & Eavestroughs
11 Shallmar Blvd, suite 705 Toronto ON M5N 1J6
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

94%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
best of 2018 winner 2 timesbest of 2018winner 2 times

Reviews for The Roof Whisperer

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (334 reviews)

Sort by

AWCrone in Old Toronto
AWCrone in Old Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Dishonest and Poor Workmanship

  The Roof Whisperer
647-979-5652
11 Shallmar Blvd, suite 705
Toronto
ON
M5N 1J6
CANADA

I used Roof Whisperer to replace a large broken skylight. I began experiencing leaks in surrounding ceiling not long afterwards. I had them come back and Arthur told me I needed an entirely new roof (in a 6 yr old house) They never got back to me with a quote and I had 2 other companies come in and look at our roof. All the reports were that our roof was of the utmost top quality and in fantastic condition but that the issue was that the skylight that had been installed was too large for the space and the Roof Whisperer had thrown in some crappy workmanship to hide this fact and we were getting tons of water leaking in through it. On top of that they installed a large, flat skylight on a flat roof, with no attempt to build a proper curb to create an angle so that the water would run off and not leave stains and dirt. Not only did they do a horrible job with the skylight install, but when I had them come back months later (not knowing any of this yet) to address my leaks Arthur tried to sell me on a 10 day job of a complete roof replacement that was in NO WAY NEEDED and also wouldn't have fixed their botched job to begin with!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hi AWCrone,
Thank you for your review. I do apologize on behalf of everyone at The Roof Whisperer for your bad experience with us. We do rely on our workers when it comes to their work and their opinions. In your case we had a bad apple in our crew. ILIR fortunately no longer works for us. He should have sloped the curb and special order the skylight to fit in skylight opening . It could have been much better, easier and less work. Also he did not do a thorough assessment on rest of roof. However I should have come out personally and check the work after was completed.Lesson learnt. I did offer to make it right free of charge but I did not get a response.
I have to add also that I did best to my knowledge to find and show to you all deficiencies on the roof. Membrane and roof were 6 years old but many things were wrong. There missing flashing on each side of dormers in front. There were three leaks that were not related to skylight at all. Membrane around skylight was in good condition and no way it was leaking there. One leak was in bathroom front of house which I believe was where water was pooling on flat roof. One leak was lined up with damaged pipe stack where I could fit my hand through. The other leak was lined with pop up nails and torn membrane 4 ft away from skylight.
In no way I was trying to sell anything and that is the reason why I did not send a quote till you have to other opinions.
I do hope whoever fixed the roof or the skylight has managed to resolve all roof leaks.

GailB
GailB
1 review Toronto, ON
8/10

Front of house replacement of shingles, waterproofing and new eaves troughing.

I believe this company did a very good job. They showed up on time, and were professional in all interactions. With the heavy rains and high winds we have had lately we experienced no issues or problems so it was very reassuring to know we had this work done.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi GailB;

Thank you for your review. We strive to do a good and professional job each and every time. We are pleased that you are happy about our work.

The Roof Whisperer Team

Jonathan in Toronto
Jonathan in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Avoid at all cost. Terrible experience

Worst experience ever! Stay away from Authur, replacement of my roof was delayed again and again, they finished half of roof and took them almost two weeks to come back and finish the other half. I can't get response for days and they forgot to replace one of the skylights. And tried to jam it on me by arguing it wasn't part of their quote, it took a number of angry emails before they came back to replace the skylight.

I can't believe they have so many positive ratings based on my experience. Maybe they have new staff or something. Either way, owners beware!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jonathan,
I do value honesty and telling the truth and there are always two sides of the story. Firstly it did not take two weeks to come and finish the work but it was a long weekend. We could not finish the work on Friday and came back on Wednesday. We had some cap shingles to put on and final clean up. Also in quote it says replacing two skylights and not 3. It is very clear in the agreement where it says 2. Two were in garage and third one on main house which we talked about replacing it with roof since you did not need it at that time. I also was honest enough recommending to not replace the main house as it was in good condition even though you were doin a major renovation. I could had easily told you need a new roof like everyone else did. Reason why I replaced the skylight was not because of your offensive emails but because I did not want to believe that you are trying to take advantage of us. Also at the end you refused to pay even after numerous requests and job was completed. It gave me the impression you were trying to take advantage of when you did not pay your invoice.
Jonathan you need to chill out and be respectful to contractors! We work hard everyday. I will not allow anyone to abuse us and our hard work!!

teresa nairne in Toronto
teresa nairne in Toronto
7 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Two second floor bathrooms vented to the exterior

We do thank Arthur and his team greatly for taking care of this issue for us.
Five years ago we had an extension done to our home and bit by bit we have been finding things that either were not tackled properly of were not tackled at all...One of them being the venting of our two second floor bathrooms to the exterior. We recently realized that they both were venting into the attic and that there was no connection to the exterior which could have caused a major problem (condensation etc...).
I have to say that nowadays, finding a contractor that gets back to you for, let's call them, "minor" issues is a "task" in itself so, we were not only pleased that Arthur got back to us but also because the job was done perfectly and because, for Arthur was not only matter of fixing this problem for us and "leave" he, actually pointed at yet another issue that needed to be addressed (one of our downspouts) of which we would have had no idea if it were not because Arthur showed it to us...
Arthur even took down a big branch of a tree that got caught in the latest wind storm we had in Toronto. The branch was so up high that we couldn't have been able to reach it...Arthur helped us also with this...
So, for anyone out there, Arthur and his team were great and so was Jean who will answer all your questions over the phone!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Teresa;

It was a pleasure working with you. Thank you for your kind words. We do strive to do the best possible for our clients.

The Roof Whisperer Team

E. Starke
E. Starke
3 reviews Stirling, ON
10/10

Friendly, clean, efficient and honest service

After 20 years I needed my shingles replaced. Arthur was recommended to me and he and his crew did a great job. While everyone else was "too busy" from a recent wind storm (2 months previous) Arthur quoted quickly and did the job within a week. When they left, you would never have known they had been there! This is a higher-end company that does really good work but charges a reasonable price. In future, I won't use anyone else.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello E. Starke;

Thank you for taking the time to write these words.We try to do the best work possible at all times.

The Roof Whisperer Team

Ivar in Toronto
Ivar in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Emergency Roof Repairs

We experienced some leaks earlier in the year and then had some windstorm damage. Both times The Roof Whisperer was onsite as promptly as possible and did a thorough and solid job. The first visit they not only fixed the issue of unsealed roof vent nails but sealed all the nails on all roof vents. The second time we had several areas of our roof where the wind had taken the shingles off down to the wood. Again they were onsite as quickly as possible and did a thorough job of completing the repairs. Fast, courteous and efficient.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ivar;

Thank you for keeping us in mind when you are having any roof issues. We appreciate it.

The Roof Whisperer Team

R.  Leishman from Toronto
R. Leishman from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Roof repair

Had shingles off from wind storm . Called other companies but no response. Called Arthur at the roof whisperer and he was out in a half day. Completely satisfied and would call him again . Very good to deal with . And very straight forward .highly recommended . Robert l.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hi Robert;

Thank you for contacting our company and and allowing us to do the work. We appreciate your recommendations.

The Roof Whisperer Team

john sloan from North York
john sloan from North York
4 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Emergency roof inspection and repair

Due to recent storms, needed a roofing company to inspect and repair visible shingle damage. Called over a dozen companies and only response from lady in Roof Whisperers office. She is a bonus for the company, understanding and friendly. Arthur and company showed up the next morning and completed the job. Very efficient, excellent price and very satisfied customer. You will not find a better roofing company or personnel.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello John;

We appreciate the kind words of recommendation. We try our best to be warm and friendly, give a good price with an excellent job done.

The Roof Whisperer Team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Roof Whisperer

As a professional Toronto Roofing Contractor we offer our customers our dedication and experience in this competitive field.At The Roof Whisperer we are constantly keeping up with the newest and up to date technological advancements within ever changing construction industry, which allows us to offer our customers a wide variety of services to solve their problems and fit their budget. Our experts are fully trained not only in roofing methods and materials but also in the actual Occupational Health and Safety Standards, with many years of hands on experience and training making us one of the leading Roofing Companies in the GTA. Our company service includes inspection and assessment, consultation and recommendation of best options, materials and estimates that are tailored to the customers individual needs.

We can be at your home within 24 hours to assess your roof problem. So if the words Honest,Fair,Quality and Dedication mean anything to You, then The Roof Whisperer is for You!

BECAUSE WE ARE NOT INTERESTED IN JUST FIXING YOUR HOUSE, WE WANT TO HELP YOU IMPROVE YOUR HOME.

Check our website www.theroofwhisperer.ca or give us a call to book a roof assessment 647-979-5652

Our Services Include:
*Repair/Replacement for Flat Roofs, Shingle Roofs, Cedar Roofs, Slate Roofs
*Gutters & Eavestroughs
*Siding
*Roof Snow Removal
*Chimney Repair (Capping)
*Skylight Repair/Replacement
*Vent Repairs and Installation
*Roof Maintenance
*Inspection, Tune Up

CATEGORIES
Gutters & Eavestroughs, Roofing, and Skylight Installation & Repair
PRODUCTS
To book an assessment Call us at 647-979-5652
SERVICES
Flat Roof Repair/Replacement, Shingle Roof Repair/Replacement,Chimney Repair (Capping), Cedar Roof repair/Replacement,Slate Roof Repair/Replacement,Vent Repairs and Installation, Roof Maintenance,Inspection (Tune up)
BRANDS
VELUX,CertainTeed,Soprema,AirVent,Duraflo
SPECIALITIES
Skylight Replacement,Skylight Repair- we are Velux Certified installers, Flat Roof Repair and replacement
WEBSITE
http://theroofwhisperer.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2009
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
10
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa,MastercardCash,Cheque,Interac
LICENSES
Metro Licence B2179,Baumler Approved,Certainteed Shingle Master,Soprema PAQ'S Certified,Certified Ve
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB-Better Business Bureau Accredited
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Velux Skylights Certified Installer,SOPREMA PAQ
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
Leak Free roof starting at $499.00
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
100% Workmanship warranty guaranteed up to 10 years.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.