4 Md Mechanical

Appliance Repair
Courtice ON L1E 2J7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for 4 Md Mechanical

Average customer rating:
4.6 10 (11 reviews)

Sort by

Peter in Toronto, ON
Peter in Toronto, ON
1 review Saint John, NB

BEWARE - 4MD Mechanical Sells Overpriced Water Filters!!!!!

I was sold a $60 Home Depot water filter for over $200 by 4MD Mechanical (see photo).

This will apply to water filters for Viking, Maytag, AMANA, JENN-AIR and KitchenAid.

4MD Mechanical will claim that they are not allowed to install non-Viking parts in a Viking fridge (my fridge), although they did. Viking is not taking any responsibility.

They indicated that we could only buy the water filter through them although it is sold at Home Depot (see photo).

I asked for a refund as their invoice does not state their refund policy. I also sent them an email before they charged my VISA stating that they were no authorized to charge my card and they did. They will not process a refund.

This appears to be an unfair selling practice.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

un responsive ? please i have 8 emails to you explaining that as an authorized viking service compny we have to use oem parts for your protection should we put in a similar part that is not a manufactures oem part and it should fail causing water damage to your property you would have no coverage from manufacutre or your insurance company as the proper part was not installed
also we installed a part from viking the viking invoice # and price was forwarded to you
no we will not take back the filter you purchased from home depot and refund you for the viking filter we installed for two reasons 1 its not a viking filter 2 we need a viking invoice to show where filter was purchased from in case of any liability
i have also advised you many times to contact viking if you have an issue with pricing as they set the prices not us
now it was explained before the service was started that we have to install a viking water filter in your viking product Antonella agreed to this she is the person on the work order and in toronto (not peter in saint john)
so why you came up with this scam to try and return a home depot part to us to replace the viking filter we installed i do not understand
in a last attempt to make you understand
try going to your car dealer and ask them to order and install canadian tire parts

James in Ajax
James in Ajax
1 review Bowmanville, ON

Bosch Dishwasher Warranty Repair

Our brand new Bosch Dishwasher only ran once cycle and died on us. The company (Canadian Appliance Source) that we bought the dishwasher from was completely useless (but that is another review) and we had to go through the manufacturer for warranty. Bosch customer service gave me the number for 4MD as they are the 3rd party company that deals with all Bosch repair issues in my area. I called 4MD and left message. Within two hours they called me back to get my information, I received a call at 8:30am the following day to tell me they would be there between 1pm and 3pm. They showed up at 1:30pm, fixed the issue on the spot and now my dishwasher is running like it should. The people on the phone were polite and friendly, the gentleman who fixed my appliance was extremely knowledgeable and was also polite and friendly. I can't say enough about this incredible company. Wish I could rate more than 10 stars!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you for taking the time for this review

硕 in Waterloo
硕 in Waterloo
1 review Waterloo, ON

Washer repair

It is really a bad experience. I had a warrant and my washer cannot spin. So I contact the warranty company, and 4MD Mechanical INC stuff came to fix it. He is a very kind person and it is really helpful. And he gave me a receipt with 0 charge. And I double check with him I do not need to pay. But I found there is a 129.9 dollars charge on my credit card. Because I believe it is a large company so I provide my card information with no doubt. But this made me so disappointed. Charging this 129.9 without any notice and without any letters of explanation. I did not receive the receipt or invoice for 129.9. The only receipt is 0 dollars receipt that the worker gave me.
And I call the 4M MECHANICAL INC, the service really hurt me. I tried to explain this situation. I just wanna a explanation because I think it is illegal for a company to charge the money without any formal receipt or notice. But the stuff answered the phone even cannot try to hear me, she only said this must be my fault, they cannot do anything. What you get was your deserved.I am not going to blame anyone. I just wanna a explanation. Because what I received is the 0 dollar receipt. And I did not receive other receipt. But she even cannot believe me and do not wanna to help me figure out why this happened. She just say she need to answer a lot of customers, she cannot talk to me anymore if I do not agree with her. And she said the worker came to my unit would not say it was free. I think the company is not trying to helping me, is trying to get rid of the annoying customer. I just do not know why she is so sure, she is not on the scene, she even did not check, and put all the fault on customers. And I said I did not received any letters or email of the receipt. She just said because I did not check mailbox. The attitude makes me so annoying. I trust your company, but I even cannot get a polite explanation. She hang up my cellphone and said do not wanna to waste time. I did not put my voice high, but she did. Just as the company makes the norm, and every customer should obey. If some mistakes happen, it must be customers faults. The attitude was so rude. Really brutal. Why a large company do thing unreasonable. Bad management.
And now your company's reputation for me now is only worth $129.9. So brutal, rude costumer service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

you were advised that (*No warranty coverage if issue is related to the installation or misuse) by us and the manufacture if you note on the invoice that you posted the pic of it is noted on the bottom of the work order
the technician left you a work order stating what he had found
in this case no issues with washer it was working fine
the manufacture will not pay for these calls which is why you were advised by us and manufacture what is not covered
the reason you were left a work order with no amounts is this is a tenant/landlord situation and it is not our decision to decide who's paying for the service
once we are informed then the bill is processed
if you have an issue with what is covered by the manufacture you will have to contact the manufacture
now at this point i am assuming i am speaking with the tenant
if so not only were you advised, you supplied us with the visa before trip
you can always check with the owner to see if they are willing to pay for a customer education call or call the distributer 1 (800) 361-0799
if either of them wish to cover the cost of the call i have no problems refunding the charges
i do apologize if you found our receptionist short or rude
when distributer advises ahead of time, we advise before service, it is on the work order in black and white
and then we get a phone call after the fact we try to explain again unfortunately if you did not understand the procedure with as much notice as we can provide before the service usually we try and keep the calls down to under 30 min after that there is nothing new we are going to be able to input to help you understand

ps everything thing i have written here is just a repeat of what the receptionist has advised you on your last phone conversation ,also our receptionist is not racist as you inferred
she can not see over the phone she has tried her best to explain the situation
i show 5 emails sent out regarding invoice your #15217
i can not attach due to privacy laws
with your permission i will post these for you to see

thanks for your input

C & G in Toronto
C & G in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Washing Machine Repair

Kirk and his partner were very helpful. They explained the situation well in an understanding manner. They were very professional and answered any questions we had.

They took the time to find the route cause of the problem regarding our blomberg washing machine and ensured everything was working properly.

We definitely recommend and will ask for their services again in future

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you for taking the time for the review

Daniel from Toronto
Daniel from Toronto
10 reviews Toronto, ON

Kitchen Hood Vent Repair

Great service, great timing, great effort!

It took a few days to get a hold of 4MD (probably because they were busy), but after we connected I got booked in short order and the service technician came out a few days later, right on time. A quick diagnosis confirmed that the blower motor had seized up and a new one was needed. 4MD ordered up the new parts, called us back when it came in, and came back promptly to replace the part. They even took the time and effort to see if this could be covered under warranty before they charged us (it wasn't because we were well past the original manufacturers warranty), but I thought it was extremely good of them to try. Thanks for the good work, I'll be sure to call again if I need help on my other appliances.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you for taking the time to enter review
sorry we couldn't get the manufacture to make a warranty adjustment

Reb in Toronto
Reb in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Dryer not blown hot air

This was a warranty claim and my warranty company sent out this company. The problem with my dryer was it was only blowing air no hot air. When Steve arrived at my house he was completly ignorent. He took very little time to look at my dryer. He than wanted to show me what was wrong. He explained that it was the safety thermal and the reason it died is due to por venting in my home. I asked how could this be possible my home is newly built 2016. He did not care just said it had to be fixed I said OK please can you replace the part he was hesitant said it will just keep happening. I also called my husband and got him to explain the issue to my husband asy husband does hvav with my father. After speaking to my husband he agreed to replace the advising it would happen again we said we would have the venting looked at by my father who has been doing heating and air conditioning for 35 years. My father and husband left work immediately to come and inspect the problem and their was noting wrong with air flow or the venting at all. I calley 4md to explain. Once the part came in Steve came and replaced it and said dryer was working and left. My dryer only worked for about an hour and than the same thing happened again. I called them back and said I wanted someone else out to my house and refused to let Steve back in my house. 2 days later a man named Ian who is Steves brothe based on the resembelence came and said that it was my venting and I needed to get it fixed. I said I have had my venting inspected and their is nothing wrong Ian would not listen to reason from me or my husband and said well that is what it is. I called the warranty company aND they after many arguements agreed to let me bring in abother opinion and I have I very repituble company in Keswick. What happened was when the diognostic was done 4md damaged my high Limit part they even tried fixing it by put a screw in and rather than telling me about it tried to cover it up. I will he reporting this company to the bbb and submitting the report from the tech I brought in myself and the pics of the damage 4md did.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

ok so Steve was out you high limit cut out was open causes are over temp usually caused by venting issue there is also a high limit stat that it will cycle on it is a safety device and is not meant for cycling he observed your air flow to outside was slow 2 of the 4 flaps on cap opening partial he advised you to have a venting professional in as there is a venting issue and venting is 2nd story built in can not be accessed

you advised your venting had been inspected by a professional and was ok

Steve returned installed parts both thermal limiter disc and high limit stat
he tested it was heating
you proceeded to use the dryer and heating stopped
i returned and found thermal limiter open again
i spoke with both you and your husband and was advised you father was up in the attic and inspected vents were fine

1- i advised you that your second floor dryer vent does not run to attic it runs down through first and second floor so i have no idea what your father was inspecting in attic

2-although your father worked in hvac for 35 years you require a certified venting company exhaust vents require different certificates training and tools

3- your dryer install instructions show 3 elbows with max run of 47 feet
your dryer has at least 4 elbows and 2 of them are joined direct together
joining any elbows back to back is not recommended by any manufacture as will cause back flow and reduce exhaust flow, 3 elbows are the max listed in install instructions
which usually means that is the most manufacture will allow
now the most likely reason for your limiter opening is slow vent and cold weather creates an ice ball in venting restricting it further
a certified vent cleaning company has tools cameras for venting built into walls as you have and proper experience to advise on proper way to correct venting

4- i too have pics when i was there of your vent cap not opening proper ,the dryer apart and clean,and the screws installed to mount thermo limiters and stat in place
there was nothing wrong with install when i was there to do a follow up inspection
Steve did not try and re manufacture a part a limiter can not be held together using a screw
it is a stamped part
my pics are date and location stamped by goggle
if the pics differ from mine i will be charging that company with fraud
thank you

Casey in Toronto
Casey in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON

Washer & Dryer Fix

4MD did a great job fixing my washer and dryer.

Kelly booked me in and they gave me a 2 hour window for service.

Keith showed up right on time. He fixed a pretty garden variety clothes jam in the blower wheel (at least I think that's where it was) and showed me how to properly troubleshoot and fix my washer next time I run into trouble.

Keith is also a funny guy.

Can't recommend these guys enough. Fast service, friendly, and didn't break the bank.

Thanks 4MD

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience with us
i am glad you were happy with Keith


Bojana in Toronto
Bojana in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON


This company does not honour their work and does not care about customers.
It is unfortunate, because from the sound of it they seem like a smaller, possibly family run, local business.

I had an issue with my dryer. I ran the dryer without the lint trap inside ONCE. I didn't know at the time, but several socks got sucked in/fell into the opening.
The dryer worked fine for more than a month and then suddenly stopped. It would heat and run, but the drum didn't spin.
I had no idea what it could be, so we called the landlord to set up an appointment with a technician.

Their technician arrived over 2 hours late. He opened up the dryer in minutes and pulled out a sock. After some thought I recalled that time I ran the dryer without the lint trap. I knew I'd be on the hook for this one. The technician closed up the dryer got my credit card number and left quickly. $130 bucks for less than 10 minutes of work seemed steep but I understood that this was my mistake and paid up.

I made sure to turn on the dryer to see that it was spinning before the tech left.

Couple of days after the tech was here I did laundry.

The first load worked fine, but on the second load the drum stopped spinning again. I was fed up with it, and hung all my clothes out to dry. My husband and I recently got married so we were very busy over the next couple of weeks with seeing family etc so we didn't get in touch with our landlord and 4MD for one to two weeks.

The company supposedly has a 30 days work guarantee so our landlord told us that we should be covered because it is within 30 days. We were wrong.

When the 2nd technician came, who was actually on time, he opened the dryer and after looking more into it, dug out another sock. Again, this tech was done in about 10 minutes also. Again, we were charged $130. This time the tech took the time to turn on the dryer himself. He said that there is a loud noise when the dryer runs, but he said that it is coming from a vent overhead and that we should contact the building manager about it. I didn't really care about the noise - as long as my dryer was spinning - but followed up with the building manager.
It is SO OBVIOUS that the first technician didn't remove everything that needed to be removed and that is why we had to call again.

I understand that socks in the lint trap are not covered by warranty obviously it was my error. But why should I pay for one mistake twice??

But my worst experience with 4MD was yet to come. Not wanting to argue with the technician since I know he has places to go and doesn't have much authority anyway, I decided to call the company. I was patched through to the "billing department" aka Ian, the owner, the same guy that the tech called on the phone to ask if he had to charge me.

When I tried to explain, he was just not getting it. He brought up the fact that the first technician would have tested the dryer and that if it still had socks in it, it would be making a noise. But obviously that's BS because the dryer was working for a month with the socks in it and we didn't notice any vibrations or noises which were out of the ordinary.

He threatened that if I didn't want to pay he would just send it to a collections agency. This would be totally fine with me, if the dryer was under my name, but we are currently renting a condo and we didn't want to make any trouble for our landlord.

The owner did not understand the problem, and if he did, he was being very MANIPULATIVE. He tried to make me think I was crazy and that I ran the dryer without the lint trap again. (After I had just paid $130 for the same mistake. Yeah, ok.) His last excuse was that we waited two weeks to call. Can you imagine? Zero customer service skills. I am not sure if they have a contract with our building but I will be letting our building management know.

I DO NOT recommend this company. The techs are ok, as can be expected, but the owner is, well, you can judge for yourself from the stories here and from his replies on here.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

As explained on the 45 min phone call with you
my first tech ran the dryer before he left
the dryer is a blomberg the blower wheel is not some great void
the blower wheel center inside diameter is about 3 inches and plastic
as explained a bounce sheet is enough to throw the blower off balance
so even if my first tech was blind it would have been quite evident if there was another item in there by the overwhelming noise
the manufacture does not cover calls of this nature
please contact them to dispute why removing clothing in the blower is not covered under warranty (this is who contracts us for warranty work)

i have to pay my techs for doing there job regardless if you pay or not
i am unaware of any condo in Toronto that my techs can get in and out of in under 10 min let alone pull washer dryer out disconnect vent take internal venting apart and reassemble

as far as manipulating?
you placed the call for service
you or the owner were advised ahead of time in writing and verbal on what is not covered by warranty (unfortunately this sites rules will not allow me to post that as it is personal)
when my second tech went out, had we not assembled the dryer correct or something we have done wrong then we would have repaired at no charge
but due to a few factors

1 the size of the blower wheel very little room for 1 socks let alone 2 socks,
two socks in a 3 inch circle next to impossible to overlook
2 the fact that you verified on the phone with me the first tech ran dryer after repair and no noise
3 the amount of time that had passed before you placed second call

with this i made a judgment call that the second sock entered blower after service
so if you do not wish to pay yes we would send to collections as the time spent on phone alone had already put us at a loss even after you paid

had you have taken the time to listen to any of our phone conversation rather than insisting you do not feel you should pay
you may have heard the 3 times i mentioned to you the filter does not have to be out it can be installed backward witch creates a gap that small clothing can fall through
hoping you read this to prevent unnecessary service calls in future

for the dryer working both times on first trip out
and the unfair review
thank you

to everyone out there my apologizes
i am not the smooth things out kind of person
i am honest and to the point
i have no problems admitting i am wrong if this is the case
i have no problem paying for mistakes that have been made
if you are expecting stories,excuses or BS to justify any repair we do.
please do NOT call us
i fire my techs that are not honest with me

Lynn  from Etobicoke
Lynn from Etobicoke
1 review Toronto, ON

Stove repair

Three visits for same problem, costing over $500. Oven door wouldn't open after self-cleaning. Paid for two service calls and new door latch. Same problem with next cleaning - door locked, wouldn't open. Third service call - not fixed, just another bill. Two brothers run it and defend each other's work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

lets be honest
08/26/14 we stopped down to your house to unlock your oven door as we did not have door lock in stock so that u could use your oven
09/17/14 we returned with light assy and new latch you requested installed fixed door LOCKING issue and broken LIGHT
parts 180 service call and labor 154.95 1 service call 1 hr charged for 2 trips
02/19/15 call placed door locked on self clean
arrived report below
you were charged a service and 1/2 hr for 114.95
for a tripped breaker 5 months after latch was changed
you then called back stating the oven was not working again i spoke with you
asked if you had checked the breaker you responded you had it was ok
from there i advised it could be a faulty breaker or an intermittent issue with the range if it was an issue with the range we did something wrong it would be no charge ,if it was an other part intermitting it would be continued labor and whatever part was required if breaker was faulty you would need electrician
you chose to call an other company witch is fine
to discover that relay in oven was burning out so you paid an extra service call for other company at your choice
i feel we have tried our best to be fair
especially considering all the times you rescheduled appointments
for the record i run 4md
thank you

GVC in Toronto
GVC in Toronto
6 reviews Scarborough, ON

frige repair

A TOTAL DISASTER. They were sent by the warranty company to repair a fault on our fridge, which wasn't cooling. They created an estimated $1,200 damage to my kitchen when the fridge toppled over, smashing contents and damaging floor tile and fridge door panels. That estimate didn't include the cost of the ruined food that had to be shovelled off the floor and garbaged, along with the broken glass bottles, water, soy sauce etc. What a mess - took hours to clean it up. Fortunately nobody was seriously hurt but we had to fight with company owner Ian for several months and finally, but only with the help of the warranty company, we got $500 towards repairs. However we never got an apology from 4MD. On top of that, after creating the damage, they had to return the next day, as despite their "repair", the fridge still wasn't cooling! Don't use them!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

wow the stories people invent
yes we did service the fridge under manufactures warranty
yes the fridge is approx 7 feet tall and while my tech was moving out the unit as it is top heavy approx 350 lbs empty. It did tip over
and the fridge door swung open and it landed on the corner of fridge door panel causing the painted mdf panel to get a dent in corner approx 3/8 inch indent
no damage to ceramic tile floor
#1 food loss? customer was asked to empty fridge before tech arrived as it had to be pulled out for a major job
my techs mistake not leaving job and saying call back when unit empty trying to be helpful.
The fridge was not cooling for weeks, food should have been tossed out.
Besides the mess, it could have been a good thing as some one may have been sic from eating spoiled products.

2 the panel the unit fell on our job there was no dispute from us or delay customer asked for $1200 for a mdf wood panel 3X4 pained mushroom colour claimed it was solid maple under paint
i was not willing to pay $1200 for a panel i priced out solid maple
marbel cabinet manufactures in whitby who also provided a painter who would match up paint finish for $376
i called the customer and explained there quote to me over phone with no written estimate, was too high explained i would come down remove door panel take it to manufacture and painter for exact match, customer wanted $1200.
i explained i am responsible for repairing what my tech damaged, which i was attempting to do
after calling customer steady close to 2 months to remove panel for re-manufacture
customer giving new excuses why he is not available i gave up sent him a cheque for 500.
Good for the customer he has a fridge with a dent and 500 in his pocket.


The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about 4 Md Mechanical

appliance repair home stars recommends to solicit customers to keep scores up 4md will never do this as we respect our customers and understand there time is important we do appreciate the customers that have taken the time to enter a report positive or negative
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Appliance Repair pros in Courtice?