POOL BUILDERS OTTAWA

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
Ottawa ON K2S 1B9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

83%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for POOL BUILDERS OTTAWA

Average customer rating:
8.1 10 (10 reviews)

Sort by

Alicia in Ottawa
Alicia in Ottawa
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Our dream pool from an exceptional company

Pool Builders installed our pool in 2018 and we have enjoyed two wonderful summers in our dream pool! From the beginning, Pool Builders were helpful and responsive, giving suggestions when asked, professional and helpful throughout the experience. We contacted them with questions this season as well, and they upheld the same standard we had become accustomed to with them. They were flexible with the install dates to allow us to do some of the work ourselves, and any options that were given were always no-pressure options. We were beyond impressed, and have referred them to close friends and strangers alike on a number of occasions. We couldn't be happier with Pool Builders!

Was this review helpful?
Hockey19 in Goulbourn
Hockey19 in Goulbourn
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Backyard pool

Very please with this company. Starting with the sales process it was very professional. Our install was simple- they delivered on-time and excellent equipment. The follow up has been good as well. I'd highly recommend them to anyone looking for a pool.

Was this review helpful?
Sandra in Toronto
Sandra in Toronto
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

A pool we will enjoy for years!

We had a great experience with Pool Builders and have a beautiful pool to enjoy year after year. This is a family run business and is one of the reasons why we chose them. They provided a proper itemized quote and offered competitive pricing. The quality of the build and pool equipment is great, we are happy with the features we chose. We especially like being able to turn the pool heater on from our phones at work, knowing we will swim when we get home. Pool Builders definitely went above and beyond for us to create the perfect pool to suit our family and needs. We recommend Pool Builders to our friends, neighbours and colleagues.

Was this review helpful?
Mandy in Maple
Mandy in Maple
0 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Pool Installation

Absolutely amazing. The Pool Builders team is second to none. From the very first meeting with Dominic, to the install, and the ongoing support from Shannelle.

They are clearly a family operation that cares about what they do and client satisfaction.

They are clean, professional, and were easy to work with for us and other trades (landscaping companies).

We cannot say enough good things and have recommended to several people and will continue to do so.

Thank you for giving us our dream backyard.

Chris and Mandy Karadakis

Was this review helpful?
Shaun in Stittsville
Shaun in Stittsville
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Pool Installation - Stittsville

Good morning Shanelle / Dominic,

My wife and I wanted to reach out to you both (and hopefully you can pass this message along to the rest of the company, especially your father) to thank you for the amazing service you have provided.

We would like to thank everyone at Pool Builders for the amazing job you all have done in giving us our backyard oasis. Everyone was extremely friendly and provided the best customer service throughout the whole process. Your professionalism was greatly appreciated and trust me when I say that we will be passing along how great of an organization Pool Builders is and will be recommending you to anyone who is in the market for a pool.

Good luck with the remainder of the summer installs and we'll be in touch to schedule our closing of the pool in the fall.

Thanks again so very much,

The Revill Family

Was this review helpful?
kellykins53 in Ottawa
kellykins53 in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Take the time to find someone else

We used Pool Builders to install our pool at the end of last summer, and I very much regret it. Their price was fine, we probably could have gotten cheaper, but we chose them because the sales guy seemed so honest. Unfortunately our experience of having the pool installed was terrible. They basically destroyed a section of our fence, saying that they are not liable for it and we now have to hire someone to fix it because it’s falling over, they messed up the concrete they poured so a section looks different from the rest, they took much longer to install than they said they would (30 days), there are creases in the lining where dirt accumulates and you can feel it on your feet, they put the caulking for the stairs on top of dirt so the caulking is already coming off, there are huge deep scratches in the stairs and the upper rim of the pool, the retaining wall they put up for the filter cost us over $1000 and it is so unfinished we have to hire someone to cover it up, they left the yard with their garbage on it (things like bottles), and the list goes on. I honestly feel sad just thinking about it, but I was hoping this review might save someone the stress and heartache of using them. I definitely regret it. There are lots of options out there, so take the time to find someone else who takes pride in their work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We started the excavation as per the 2018 calendar schedule late July and the project was completed late August, so I agree with Mr. Kelly James it was approximately one month, start to final fence inspection.

Here is my experience with James Kelly and Britton MacDonald

Prior to the excavation I met with Britton MacDonald to map out their pool in the backyard , at this time we discussed the access path for the excavation machinery and also the placement of the equipment pad. I'd like to give you a visual of the access for the heavy equipment to excavate and remove all the excavated material from the property. At this job we were restricted to an 82" opening compounded by obstructions such as a tree stump that we would have to travel over (it can not be excavated because the gas line is running in the center of the stump), a steel chain link fence, post and gate, a natural gas supply line and a gas meter, this is on top of their being a cedar hedge, a newly installed chain link fence and brick siding compounded by a 25' drop in elevation. Therefore I instructed Mrs. MacDonald that we must remove the chain link fence post to gain access to the back yard, she agreed as long as we covered the hole so that the fencing company contracted would not have to re-dig the hole, otherwise she would be charged extra (needless to say covering the hole did not work out). When discussing the pool equipment pad placement with Mrs. MacDonald I suggested installing the equipment pad some 20 feet from the pool at the same elevation of the pool deck, tucked in behind some bushes, but she declined. The equipment pad was installed approximately 12 feet from the pool and elevated 5 feet above grade, so a structural retaining wall needed to be constructed for the equipment pad, we were not contracted to build a aesthetically pleasing wall just a structural wall. Furthermore the pool equipment would be installed midway down this access slope so trenching would need to be completed prior to the labor crew coming in to build the pool, this further complicated the access to the work site. So picture you are excavating on a 45 degree slope between a house and a freshly installed chain link fence (if the chain link fence would have been installed after the pool installation it would have been much easier for all involved ) and then to make matters a little more challenging we got a major down pour of 25 mm of rain after the first day of excavation. Neither the fence or the house was ever damaged, only the fence gate and a small section of fence which needed to be dismantled to gain access was compromised.

I never met Mr. Kelly James he dealt primarily with my daughter Shanelle, whose main role is to coordinate the installation crews and deal with any concerns that may come up during the construction process so they can be resolved immediately to our customers satisfaction. A flag came up in the fall when the customer declined our free first year service for the initial pool closing.

He mentions wrinkles in the liner, this is most likely the invisible seam as you cannot see it but dirt can accumulate and you can feel it on your feet. As for the water bottle(s), we make every effort to pick up after a days work to remove all packaging materials and take garbage away. The caulking around the stair, this is an easy fix and we are more than willing to fix this issue. As for the concrete edging, yes the guys did miss a small section of the edging , this was a little trickier to resolve but the team got it done.

So this review of one star we find a little harsh as we take great pride in our work and we have built our business on customer satisfaction and word of mouth advertising for 42 years now. These complaints were never brought to my attention until now, and why now, March 2019 and not in September of 2018? The pool is frozen and nothing can be done, however we apologize for any inconveniences and we at Pool Builders would really like to make things right!
We started the excavation as per the 2018 calendar schedule late July and the project was completed late August, so I agree with Mrs. Kelly James it was approximately one month, start to final fence inspection.

Here is my experience with Kelly James

Prior to the excavation I met with Kelly James to map out their pool in the backyard , at this time we discussed the access path for the excavation machinery and also the placement of the equipment pad. I'd like to give you a visual of the access for the heavy equipment to excavate and remove all the excavated material from the property. At this job we were restricted to an 82" opening compounded by obstructions such as a tree stump that we would have to travel over (it can not be excavated because the gas line is running in the center of the stump), a steel chain link fence, post and gate, a natural gas supply line and a gas meter, this is on top of there being a cedar hedge, a newly installed chain link fence and brick siding compounded by a 25' drop in elevation. Therefore I instructed Mrs. James that we must remove the chain link fence post to gain access to the back yard, she agreed as long as we covered the hole so that the fencing company contracted would not have to re-dig the hole, otherwise she would be charged extra (needless to say covering the hole did not work out). When discussing the pool equipment pad placement with Mrs. James I suggested installing the equipment pad some 20 feet from the pool at the same elevation of the pool deck, tucked in behind some bushes, but she declined. The equipment pad was installed approximately 12 feet from the pool and elevated 5 feet above grade, so a structural retaining wall needed to be constructed for the equipment pad, we were not contracted to build a aesthetically pleasing wall just a structural wall. Furthermore the pool equipment would be installed midway down this access slope so trenching would need to be completed prior to the labor crew coming in to build the pool, this further complicated the access to the work site. So picture you are excavating on a 45 degree slope between a house and a freshly installed chain link fence (if the chain link fence would have been installed after the pool installation it would have been much easier for all involved ) and then to make matters a little more challenging we got a major down pour of 25 mm of rain after the first day of excavation. Neither the fence or the house was ever damaged, only the fence gate and a small section of fence which needed to be dismantled to gain access was compromised.

Kelly James dealt primarily with my daughter Shanelle, whose main role is to coordinate the installation crews and deal with any concerns that may come up during the construction process so they can be resolved immediately to our customers satisfaction. A flag came up in the fall when the customer declined our free first year service for the initial pool closing.

He mentions wrinkles in the liner, this is most likely the invisible seam as you cannot see it but dirt can accumulate and you can feel it on your feet. As for the water bottle(s), we make every effort to pick up after a days work to remove all packaging materials and take garbage away. The caulking around the stair, this is an easy fix and we are more than willing to fix this issue. As for the concrete edging, yes the guys did miss a small section of the edging , this was a little trickier to resolve but the team got it done.

So this review of one star we find a little harsh as we take great pride in our work and we have built our business on customer satisfaction and word of mouth advertising for 42 years now. These complaints were never brought to my attention until now, and why now, March 2019 and not in September of 2018? We apologize for any inconveniences and we at Pool Builders would really like to make things right!

Bill and Maureen Pim in Ottawa
Bill and Maureen Pim in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

I ground pool

We contacted Pool Builders last spring, we received a reply promptly, got a quote and had the pool installed on time and in budget, they were the most professional people I have ever dealt with, our back yard looks like it is out of a magazine, they are the most professional company I have ever dealt with, from Bob and all his family and all the support staff, I would recommend them and have without hesitation, thank you for a job so well done.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
10/10

Construction of an in ground pool

During 2015 Pool Builders constructed our pool and for their outstanding work my wife and I would like to extend our gratitude for the excellent, professional and dedicated Bob and his family as well as his staff did in building our pool. The attention to detail and care exercised was beyond our expectations.
In as much as Bob and his staff were subject to a backyard that was almost complete, his team rose to the occasion from not only the design stage but right through to the end of the construction process. Of particular note, we would like to personally thank: Josée for her creativity in developing plans that produced such great results; Shanelle for managing the building process with dexterity, diligence and determination, ensuring that all timelines were met as planned; Bob, his sons and staff for going beyond the call of duty, in providing options and solutions to the challenges of the limited space that they had to work within, and of course for delivering that crowning touch to our backyard oasis.
In short, there are no words powerful enough to describe how satisfied, happy and thrilled we are with our pool which will bring us and our family years of enjoyment.
We have advised Bob, to feel free to suggest prospective buyers to communicate with us as we enjoy spreading the good word regarding the outstanding pools they build.
Cheers and again a BIG THANK YOU to Pool Builders for quality personalized service.
Shelley & André

Jew

Was this review helpful?
Chad from Ottawa
Chad from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
1/10

Pool Installation

Purchased a pool from Pool Builders Inc. summer 2014, pool was installed on time and job looked good. However, we had issues with the pricing and what was agreed upon to be delivered. Pool Builders Inc. did not document any changes in contract, strong armed and threatened me when I complained. We made a deal with the company to refund some of the products, but they refused to give me fair payment (or any now) and have kept the lights they agreed to refund.
Pros:
· Installed a nice looking pool and completed ahead of schedule
· Gas company referred by pool builders was very friendly and easy to deal with
· Electrician refereed by pool builders was very friendly and easy to deal with.

Cons:
· Did not deliver on all functionality agreed upon (lights with automation system do not work together)
· I complained 2 months after install when I found about the lights not working with the automation system as they were supposed to and the company blamed me for ordering too late. However, they never informed me they couldn’t deliver on what was promised.
· Pool Builders agreed to refund lights and automation but then tried to charge me for ‘extra’ concrete poured that was not requested by us. They did not ask for more money until after I complained. After they removed the lights and replaced them with the standard they reneged on the deal and now have the lights I paid for and said they are keeping them to cover the cost of concrete. They have refused to give me any refund even though I have an agreement in email.
· Did not document any extras I requested in contract, very vague details about what they were installing.
· Agreed to install retaining wall with river rock and gave me price per sqft, after install was done I asked when they were doing this and was informed they no longer provide this service.
· Attempted/charged me for extras that were not in contract.
· Threated to take me to court for slander and loss of business if I complained to BBB

Was this review helpful?
RANDOLPH SANDERSON in Stittsville
RANDOLPH SANDERSON in Stittsville
2 reviews STITTSVILLE, ON

First Review

10/10

Supply & Install Swimming Pool and Accesories

Pool Builders Ottawa's price was very competitive and the best of 4 estimates solicited. The crew is very efficient, completing the work when promised. They are also very understanding of the owner's desire to also see that the work site is kept clean. No materials or equipment were unnecessarily left laying around the work site. Any concerns we had were quickly resolved by Pool Builders owner Bob Grandmaison. Pool Builders were also very good at revising their schedule to coincide with the landscaping work undertaken by another contractor who wasrunning behind schedule. All in all a very pleasant experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about POOL BUILDERS OTTAWA

Sale and installations of inground vinyl liner pools
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs pros in Stittsville?