Platinum

Fire & Water Damage Restoration
Bay 34 12180 44th St. SE. AB T2J 3V1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

39%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Platinum

Average customer rating:
4 10 (8 reviews)

Sort by

sam from Calgary
sam from Calgary
1 review , SK
0/10

hall way Floor asb

Beware of this company, ensure you request a detailed written quote up front on what their services cost and how much their equipment will be. if they are not willing to provide that, call somebody else, no matter how panicked you are. It is worth your time and will likely save you money. We learned this the hard way PS. Ask for written quote up front on what their services cost . The will get you Hiden fees they clam to be a EMG

Was this review helpful?
Nathan from Calgary
Nathan from Calgary
5 reviews Calgary, AB
2/10

Asbestos removal

We used Platinum back in 2010 for asbestos removal on one room due to a water leak in the ceiling. Our home has asbestos in the stipple and they sprayed the stipple before putting up the walls, which has created a large mess for us. They did a great job in 2010 which is why we didn't do the diligence we should of last year, when we needed our entire basement completed. It was a painful exercise.

Throughout the project, it was difficult to get the project manager to return e-mails or phone calls. The usual technique was to keep calling him until you got him personally. First red flag we should have noticed. Second red flag was a poor quote. It was missing things, and there we a number of mistakes. We had three iterations to make it just okay, nothing like what we received back in 2010. Nonetheless we had them in four five days over which time we couldn't inspect the work as it was high risk. There were issues with monitoring, but relatively minor.

On the last day, the third party inspection company was supposed to review the site before the removed the barriers but they never showed up. Platinum decided to remove all of the barriers after they inspected it themselves. When I was called in to have a look it took one steps before I noticed problems. There was loose stipple right under our door into our family room, which was adjacent tot he work area. It turned out that there was loose stipple in between crevasse throughout the basement. Looking up there was small patches of over spray that were missed, but that was nothing compared to what was in the basement.

In the family room in the basement there was an eight foot by 10 inch stretch of overspray that they had missed. When questioned, they said that the lighting was poor. They provided all of their own lighting. They had failed to remove light or the stipple around the lights because the electrician they hired never showed up. There was various patches of over spray throughout the basement around the perimeter. I was not pleased.

The PM came in a few days later as he was out of the office and agreed that they had screwed up. So they needed to come back for another couple of days to finish the job. We carefully went over everything they missed, stipple between door frames, around electrical around the perimeter wall. I was guaranteed it would be "all removed". They decided it wasn't high risk, which meant that they didn't have to take the same precautions as they did the first time. Another disappointment given the increased risk to me and my family.

When they were done the second time, they got about 95% but still missed too much. Stipple between the door frame and the wood frame in three locations. Stipple in crevices around the stairs and framing. They agreed to remove the door frames and a window frame (twice) but never did. They also managed to spill oil on our front cement pad. A complaint was required for them to come clean it up later.

There were a ton of other little things that made this a very frustrating month for us. However, in the end, I would not recommend Platinum with their current management. Life is too short.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Christine Fleming from Fernie
Christine Fleming from Fernie
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

restoration after a major water leak

Initially we were pleased with the prompt response from Platinum. We were given a timeline of 3 weeks for removal of wet drywall,carpet, and baseboard after our hot water take failed while we were away on holidays. The timeline was extended to 6 weeks but ultimately it took almost 16 weeks. (We have moved out of the city and were trying to sell our home) They didn't bother to inform us that they couldn't meet their deadline and when we would inquire as the their progress they would either not bother to respond (one time for 3 weeks) or would tell us that the carpet rep was out of town and unavailable. The work was finally to be done on April 2, Didn't happen. When we asked about this we were told that the carpet was arriving on a train and would be installed on April 7 with cleanup to be completed the next day. Didn't happen. They finally finished the job April 12. They certainly wanted payment as soon as they finished a segment of work and were quite quick to ask for their money. Too bad the work wasn't done as promptly.
I understand that sometimes it takes longer than anticipated but their communication skills are ABYSMAL and made this a thoroughly frustrating experience.
I wouldn't recommend this company to my worst enemy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Platinum would like to acknowledge the communication and timeline issues related to this job. Although it may sound like rhetoric, customer satisfaction is a primary concern for us.
It really comes down to this: if a customer is unhappy, we have failed to achieve one of our primary goals in business.

We sincerely apologize for this, and have taken steps to improve various internal aspects of our business as regards communication with customers. We have also made some significant personnel changes in a concerted effort to further improve our customers’ experience with us.

Thank you for your feedback…we assure you we are listening!

M Smith in Calgary
M Smith in Calgary
9 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

mold removal

I called Platinum regarding mold in my garage. The staff were excellent. Thank you James & Cristal. Timelines were met & James was very informative; took the worry out of the process. Professional, courteous, informative. Will recommend to anyone with a mold problem!!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Courtneay Jaquemot from Calgary
Courtneay Jaquemot from Calgary
3 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Great Customer Service

Great Customer Service , quick , clean and efficient . They are passionate about what they do. Would recommened to anyone in the stressful situation which requires there services !

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Gary Bergmann in Calgary
Gary Bergmann in Calgary
2 reviews CALGARY, AB
10/10

Post in home water damage cleanup.

Platinum Inc. has been an excellent company to deal with. When we experienced water damage in our home, resulting from a leaky bathroom pipe, they handled the water damage to our home right away with professionalism & integrity. The estimate to clean up damages were within the actual end cost and the work crew was very respectful of our residence & very thorough during the whole process. Thank you Cristal for being friendly and helpful and thank you Steve for being accessible after hours if we had any further questions or concerns. In our opinion, we found no deficiencies in any way concerning Platinum Inc. and we highly recommend them to other homeowners should similar circumstances arise. Platinum made dealing with a distressing issue much easier to cope with.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
calgary homeowner in Calgary
calgary homeowner in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Restoration & Clean Up

Beware of this company, ensure you request a detailed written quote up front on what their services cost and how much their equipment will be. if they are not willing to provide that, call somebody else, no matter how panicked you are. It is worth your time and will likely save you money.

We learned this the hard way. We called this company after discovering water in our basement after a storm. While they arrived quite quickly, they offered very vague details on scope of service and pricing. Our priority was to get the water cleared and determine what other damage may have occurred. In our panic, we acknowledge we didn't ask for a detailed quote when the workers entered our house, relying on their word that one would be provided within a day.

We had pulled up the carpet up before they arrived and they then took out the underlay and cut out affected drywall (we are still skeptical that the drywall needed to be removed.) Total area affected was less than 85 square feet. They also brought in a dehumidifier and two fans. We provided a deposit of $500 that we were led to believe was for work performed that day. We never had any further work done by them, had their machines for a total of 2 days before requesting they be picked up. Our final invoice was originally for over $1500 and didn't provide a detailed breakdown of the fees being charged. We eventually determined that's what they wanted for: a maximum of 2 hrs work on the initial day, the machines and "disposal" of the small piece of underlay and drywall they had removed. When we disputed the cost, they tried to say they had told us there would be a $1500 minimum which is not true, because we would've told them thanks but not thanks, given how small an area was actually affected.

They seemed quite surprised we would dispute the charges, and felt that by knocking off 20% that would satisfy us. They never were able to grasp that we felt a discount off services that were never agreed to was not a "deal". Ultimately, without a written quote, there was no way to prove that their charges were excessive. Our dealings with them when we were disputing the invoice was less than favorable, with the end result being that if we didn't pay we'd have to get a lawyer involved and that "you can't please everyone and that's just how life is sometimes"

As such, we are left with a severe distaste in our mouths toward this company and a felt the need to warn others about this company and how they operate. The old adage of "buyer beware" is apt when dealing with Platinum Restoration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Platinum

We are a full service company for mold remediation, asbestos abatement, water damage restoration, sewage backflow cleanup and complete repair and rebuild after any cleanup
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Fire & Water Damage Restoration pros in Calgary?