Royal Peaks

Roofing
110 Aviation Avenue Brantford ON N3T 5L7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Roofing
Royal Peaks
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

50%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Royal Peaks

Average customer rating:
6.4 10 (8 reviews)

Sort by

Justin
Justin
1 review Brantford, ON
1/10

Roof

Normally I don't pay much attention to one-star reviews, so I will be thorough in my experience to justify it. It took me a while to write this after being dissatisfied, as I wanted to give every opportunity to make it right. I have been in construction and skilled trades for almost 20 years, and I understand things can happen. If I ever receive service to properly correct the faulty installation that rotted out the plywood, I will modify this review.

I had the roof installed 5 years ago. I got 3 quotes. A roof is not something I wanted to go bottom dollar on. My neighbor at the time had her roof installed by Royal Peaks. I ended up making the decision based on her thoughts and experience.

The first issue, which fortunately I caught before the install, as they had dropped off a completely different color shingle on the roof than what I ordered.

During the install, the installers were nice enough, and the job itself was performed in a timely manner. The plywood was in excellent shape, and no sheets needed to be replaced. The job was cleaned up reasonably well.

Two weeks after I had the new roof installed, I had water dripping from my ceiling in the kitchen. I was not impressed. I walked the roof and found a number of issues. Flashing was not secured properly and the vents they added were not cut out properly. Someone was sent, and I had no further leaks after that.

5 years later, in the fall of 2018, I woke up to a significant amount of water in my kitchen floor (which I had renovated, repainted after having the roof done). I went into the attic, and I saw a completely rotten piece of plywood, at the vent stack, the same place it had originally leaked. Turns out the last fix made the leak slower, which in fact made it worse as it created a lot of rot over the years, to the point where you can put your foot through the roof.

I called again, the service man came out and was pleasant enough. I already knew the issues that caused this, and he was honest enough to confirm them without me saying anything. He did enough to stop any more major water issues.

After that though, and about half a dozen phone calls with promises to have the issue properly corrected, I have given up.

I still have an area of the roof that needs to be removed to change the rotten wood. I also have a section of the ceiling which I have to fix for a second time, at my expense in my kitchen.

Even after the initial issues, I would have been happy just to have a roof that did not leak. I tried to give them the benefit of the doubt, at every opportunity.

However, at this point, I can not possibly recommend them to anyone, as all the promises that were made about the warranty and workmanship have not been fulfilled.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Brantford, ON
0/10

Horrible, unresponsive service - no shows to scheduled services with no communication.

I'm writing this review on behalf of my mother. She had some roof damage with some shingles coming loose. They came and did a temporary patch in May. There was some miscommunication about how much the patch cost and the proper repair that they were supposed to come back and do later. But rather than addressing the problem they just ignored her for 5 months.

At this point, she asked me to get involved and they said they'd come back and do the proper repair. So we'd schedule a day to come with Mark. But then Mark would never show - no call or text beforehand, just a total no show. So my mom or I would have to call back and schedule another day. Again, no show - no call or text or anything. He'd have some excuse each time but never bothered to spend 10 seconds to say he can't make it. Mark wouldn't even specify a time for when he'd come - so my mom would just be stuck at home all day hoping for him to come. After doing this same thing 3 times, we gave up.

Not once did Mark ever call to apologize or setup another service appointment - we'd have to call him and figure out when our next missed service appointment would be.

If they don't want to work with a customer - that's their choice. But don't make a commitment and then just not show up.

Do not use this service if you expect any service quality or communication! They have no sense of courtesy for their customers and you'll be nagging them each time with the hope they'll actually show up.

Was this review helpful?
Mike S.
Mike S.
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Roof and eaves trough replacement

We found Royal Peaks to be very professional and thorough in their work on our home.
They reshingled our roof, having lost many shingles in a severe windstorm back in May, and it looks great. They made sure the shingles and flashing as well as the vents were installed properly and securely. We could tell they knew what they were doing.
The company also sent two workers To assess and correct a problem we were having with our eaves trough which was constantly overflowing in heavy rain. They replaced the downspouts with larger units and sealed the joints properly and it has worked fine ever since.
We are happy with their work and communication with us, and we would recommend their services to anyone. Mike S.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Mike it was a pleasure meeting you and your wife . Cheers Mark

Dave
Dave
2 reviews Saint George, ON
10/10

Shop renewal

Called late in the season, but made sure to get in done before the first snow.. They guy did the shop roof, windows,garage doors, eaves,soffit and gutter guards. Work was quick and good quality , we are very happy with service and finished product. Mark was great and did not Nicole and dime us for replacement wood on roof and the upgraded garage doors, capping ect. They stayed firm on orig. est. would recommend and use again in the future.

Thanks again guys !

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Dave it was a pleasure doing work you . Mark

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Brantford, ON
6/10

New Roof Install

Ok to start we had our roof done 3 years ago. They subcontract all the work. They came in and did a great job time wise. 2 days in and out. After the first rain we noticed where all the valleys on our roof the water would just stream off the roof completely missing the gutters, we had two valleys from the roof by our front door causing the rain to pour down by the front door and totally miss the gutter. We phone the owner and informed him. He said he would come by and fix the issue. 2 weeks later we phone again, again someone would come and fix the issue. Needless to say they never came and corrected / fixed the issue.
This issue is caused by the shingles being to far over the lip of the roof. Poor install.
Further more they did not use and tar paper under the shingles. Which is a second defence of leaks. We would not recommend this company to replace your roof. Poor follow up to problems after install no support. Cut corners to save money.

Review has 1 previous version
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm not sure who would complain after 3 years ??? As a reputable contracting co who does not use subcontractors or inferior products and is the preferred contractor of numerous restoration and insurance companies backed by 34 plus years of experience who values there name . Terribly sorry to this homeowner, if had he contacted me direct as stated this would never have happened Mark Walsh / President

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Saint George, ON
4/10

Roof Shingles and repair and Eavestroughs

Professional and polite and thorough with estimate. Royal peaks contracts out the roof work and builds 1 piece eavestroughs on site. Installation of troughs is contracted out as well.
Roof work spanned over 3 days and eaves were made in 1 day but installation spanned 4 days as the weekend interfered. Flashing had never leaked before.The flashing for the roof was hastily removed and reinstalled by the contractor. First rain this leaked and Royal peaks was called. They came and added more caulking to try to prevent the leaks. Next rain it leaked again. They were called again and added more caulking. Next rain, it leaked again. This was fixed properly by a separate contractor who noted that the caulking was not done properly or thoroughly. It left areas for water to collect and eventually leak through small gaps in the work that Royal Peaks had done. Twice!
During the first rain after Royal Peaks completed the job I noted that 3-4 inches of water had collected in some of the eavestroughs due to sagging in the middle of the 40 foot long eaves. Also, some of the eaves did not collect the water from the drip edge and the water passed between the eavestrough and the facia. I also noticed holes leading into the attic at the corners of the roof repair. I called Royal and they had the contractor return. They removed screws in the middle of the eavestrough and tried to lift the middles to stop this from happening. It still collects 1-2 inches of water to this day. They added 6 to 8 inches by 3-4 inches of caulking to the holes at the corners where the attic holes were. Royal peaks returned to "fix" the problem with water between troughs and facia by adding a piece of flashing between the drip edge and troughs. They apparently did not bring enough material to complete the job and covertly dissapeared without notifying me they were leaving it incomplete. Follow up calls were ignored and they did not return my calls.
All I know is, if you were a senior or someone who did not have the ability to check the work yourself you would be left with issues that could cause problems immediately or down the road. Initally I was very happy with the work they did until it leaked and I checked the work myself. They were fine with leaving the flaws until I went up to the roof with them to point out the issues. Then, I guess I became a burden to them as too many issues were pointed out. Most of the issues have since been repaired by a separate contractor at extra cost to me.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Bill in Brantford
Bill in Brantford
5 reviews Brantford, ON

First Review

10/10

New roof and eves trough. 50yr Transferable warranty.

If you are in the market for a new quality roof and eves trough may I suggest you give Royal Peaks Roofing a call. They just finished our project last week and we are extremely satisfied with the quality of the materials used. The workmanship is second to none! Mark the company President knows the value of a satisfied customer and has instilled this into his tradesmen, they are polite and hardworking. Our home and yard was left as clean as or cleaner than when they started. Not the cheapest quote I received for our project, but then again you really can't put a price on total satisfaction!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Bill it was a pleasure meeting you and working for you .

Nicole Bauer in Brantford
Nicole Bauer in Brantford
3 reviews Brantford, ON

First Review

10/10

roof replacement

We have a large roof and they were so great. 20% less than any quote, done quickly and no extra fees for what turned out to be two sets of shingles coming off! great cleanup and awesome work!!
They have a great selection and their staff was very professional.
Would recommend these guys to everyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the feedback as we are always looking to improve.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Roofing pros in Brantford?