United Roofing Inc.

Roofing
3195 9 Street SE CALGARY AB T2G 3C1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Roofing
United Roofing Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

62%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for United Roofing Inc.

Average customer rating:
9.7 10 (93 reviews)

Sort by

C.J. Buscholl from Okotoks
C.J. Buscholl from Okotoks
1 review Okotoks, AB
10/10

RE-shingle whole house

After all the hail in 2012 my roof had taken a beating. I called 3 different contractors, all three said they would come out and take a look. I never heard from them again. I was then reading reviews online, and heard of United Roofing. Lots of positive experiences, so I sent in an email. The next day I was called and had a meeting set up. Ron came out, and was very pleasant to deal with, and was very informative and the price was right. We agreed and about 2 weeks later presto, new roof. The owner Daniel then came out to inspect the job his crews had done, now I work in construction and have NEVER seen a roofing supervisor/owner crawl up onto a roof to check up on their guys. He brought me up to show me what they had done. I am very pleased with the work, the price, and the communication from United roofing. ESPECIALLY after the problems I had getting other companies to even come and look. I would HIGHLY recommend them!

Approximate cost of services:
$8,100.05
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you are satisfy with our services.....

Chris from Calgary
Chris from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
9/10

Roofing, Siding, Eavestrough

After a hailstorm in August, we were contacted by Patrick of United Roofing as preferred contractors of our insurance company. I was unsure at first as I was not familiar with United Roofing. When I first met with Patrick he did not attempt any high pressure tactics to go with United, and I appreciated that. At our initial meeting we went over our claim in detail and he left several brochures for me to peruse at my convenience. He was very patient in answering all of my questions. Patrick answered several follow-up e-mails promptly and completely.

Prior to each of the three projects (roof, siding and eavestrough) we were contacted with a start and completion time. All of the workers were polite and did not hinder us in any way. After the work was completed, the site was cleaned up and a follow up was completed. Any small defects were rectified quickly and completely.

I was pleased with the work and the two representatives from United Roofing - Patrick and Daniel - were easy to deal with. I would definitely recommend them for future projects.

Approximate cost of services:
$25,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Chris, I think you did a good decision in choosing the Malarkey shingle.
Thank you for your business!!!

Larry in Calgary from Calgary
Larry in Calgary from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

New Roof & Siding

Overall a very good experience with United Roofing. Patrick was very thorough and the job was done on time and on budget. The crews cleaned everything up and were very professional. The work really transformed the look of our home.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,000.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Larry. We are glad that you are happy with result.
It was nice dealing with you.

Kathleen Alexander in Calgary
Kathleen Alexander in Calgary
2 reviews CALGARY, AB
10/10

Roof repair/replacement

I highly recomment United Roofing. We had them replace our shingles with asphalt several years ago..Job well done. When November high winds damaged a section, I called and they were on the job the next day and the later repair was handled really well for a fair price.

Approximate cost of services:
$1,200.00
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Kathleen. We appreciate your business.

Chris in Bragg creek
Chris in Bragg creek
7 reviews Bragg Creek, AB
0/10

Metal roof beams capped, fascia/soffit and new gutters

On September 20, 2011 I signed a contract with United roofing Inc of Calgary for a standing seam metal roof. Also I needed my beams capped, fascia/soffit and new gutters installed. The total cost being $31334.10. At the time Ron the sales man guaranteed me that when I signed the contract that the materials would be ordered the next day and they would start the install in one month. I wanted the job to be completed by the end of October and was promised that the entire job would take no longer than on week. I wanted no sub contractors to be used and was told that Ron's company will do the beam capping, fascia/soffit and new gutters but it is all part of United roofing.
The problems started two weeks later when he came to remeasure the roof. On September 20 he went on the roof took measurements and told me it takes a month to get the materials in. Now he's back doing the measurements again and no material ordered but said they will get the job done before the end of October.
On the 24 of October I called Ron since he did not phone me and no one is showing up to do the work where he blames me for ordering a color that is hard to get. He recommended that color and he was late ordering but some how it is the customers fault. I signed a contract with special order material or I would have canceled then. Ron insured me that they could still do the job and would take extra care tarping the roof if it snowed.
On November 4, 2011 Ron called and said they would start on Monday the 7. Monday morning Ron phoned and said he could not get the blue wood which was in the contract for three weeks and if they would get started today with regular wood the new roof would be finished by the end of the week. That day no one showed up till 2:30 pm and it was a sub-contractor that works for United Roofing. Also a garbage bin was delivered that day where it was dumped on my lawn with no plywood to protect the sod from damage. The bin company they used have unreliable trucks so when it was time to pick up the truck was not working. Garbage was flying around my house for weeks and when I phoned Ron he laughed and said they had the same problem before.

No other work was being done ( beams capped, fascia/soffit and new gutters installed) while the roof was being installed. The sub-contractor ran out of metal roof since not enough was ordered. Ron came at the end of November to cap the beams at 3:30 pm till about 7:30pm. Itold him I was not happy with him coming so late to do the work, the overall job and how long it was taking. He told me it will be finished by the end of next week and I'll be happy with the final job. No one showed up, I phoned Ron where he said he was busy with other peoples roofs since the wind storm and is my roof leaking in a rude tone. I tried to phone the owner of United roofing but he was not available. Ron came back two more evenings in the middle of December to finish capping the beams leaving a dangerous mess each time he left. The soffit was finished on 24 of December and gutters in January 2012 by a sub-contractor that the sub-contractor hired.
In January not all the work was done and I was not happy with the job that was done. I had to write on a peace of paper what I was not happy with to give to Ron since telling him did not get through to him. United Roofing did not work in a professional organized manor had would not recommended the company.

Patrick the owner came in the Summer of 2012 and said he would fix the problems and install snow stops which are code that was not part of the proposal to make up for the trouble. In the fall Patrick replaced the skylight flashing, put on a chimney cap, replaced boots around vent stacks and put flashing on side of house.
In January 2012 the skylight started to leaked, soon after leaks around the chimney cap. Later in the month I got a leaking around the new vent boot he put on. I email Patrick where he said he would come in spring to fix the leaks call if they get worse.
In the spring I found seams coming apart and the roof lifting off the OSB. I called the manufacturer and supplier if it would be warranty work do to defect in the product. A representative from another company told me it was incorrectly installed. The colour on roof is custom order and had the same warranty as all their products.
I got a skylight company to redo the work at my expense where they found that the flashing was incorrectly done and covering the skylight curb. I also had to paint the ceiling to cover up water damage.
I was told by the representative from the other company that the OSB extending over the Fascia is also incorrect and will cause problems since OSB acts as a sponge.
The problems I had are:
Flashing done wrong around skylight caused damage to my ceiling.
New chimney cap leaked
New boot cap around plumbing stack leaked
Roof sheathing OSB over the fascia should be behind or inline
Roof panels were measured 3 inches too long causing hard rain to miss the gutters
Roof panels coming off OSB and seams coming apart do to being installed on a uneven surface.

Review has 1 previous version
Approximate cost of services:
$31,000.00
What could this company do to improve their services?
Treat your customers with respect and do not do take on a job you cannot do.
Any advice to offer fellow homeowners facing a similar project?
When you sign a contract have every item priced that if something does not get done you know how much to take off.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about United Roofing Inc.

United Roofing Inc. is a roofing company in Calgary and Edmonton. Our team has been entrusted with commercial roofing, building envelope, below-ground and waterproofing since 2007.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Roofing pros in Calgary?