Less Mess Enviro Bag

Garden Maintenance
Un Known Vaughan ON L4K
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Garden Maintenance
Less Mess Enviro Bag
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

26%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Less Mess Enviro Bag

Average customer rating:
2.3 10 (23 reviews)

Sort by

Grant in Toronto
Grant in Toronto
1 review Brampton, ON
0/10

premium garden soil

What it is is not soil the weeds will not grow in it;it is soooo bad

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Michael in Thornhill
Michael in Thornhill
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

I wouldn't call this soil

The garden soil I bought is full of plastic pieces and all my vegetables are not growing.

The garden soil they gave me has no nitrogen, no phosphorus, lots of potash, and plastic.

The website promises a green vegetable garden. That's not going to happen in this garbage.

How's that supposed to happen when garbage soil is delivered?

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Abbotsford, BC
0/10

BC Buyers BEWARE

Ordered 3 bags of Premium Garden Soil and 1 bag of Mushroom Manure. The description on the website claimed both products were screened for even particle size. The driver(a local soil company) that delivered the products showed up without warning but fortunately I was home and he did a fantastic job. However the product was NOT what we wanted-large amounts of 4 to 6 inch pieces of wood and debris in the 'premium garden soil' (was actually probably topsoil) and huge clumps of obvious excrement in the mushroom manure(nonaged steer manure). LessMess refused to acknowledge any error or discrepancies. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

Approximate cost of services:
$600.00
Was this review helpful?
Marc
Marc
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Top soil

What a mess indeed! As I understood clearly, Less Mess was supposed to inform me on the eve of delivery of their top soil. I was waiting for such information either by email or telephone (which I NEVER received) in order for me to put the expected X mark. On May 5th, the bag of topsoil was unloaded unbeknownst to me not even at any corner of the driveway (as per Less Mess recommendation), but at almost the midpoint of the driveway too close to an old and valuable bonsai tree. Despite all my explanations Less Mess is simply unwilling to assume its failure to inform me on the eve of its delivery. For that matter they insist to charge me $60 should I request the bag to be moved farther in the corner. A 74-year-old man simply cannot move the bag by himself. Would moving the bag as a common courtesy or as good public relation be too much to ask from such a big and successful company as Less Mess? Otherwise it leaves only a bitter taste in the mouth of one whos too old to beg for a service that a customer properly deserves.
Order #1026181

Approximate cost of services:
$169.00
Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

BIG Mess

Ordered garden soil; received contaminated plastics bits, plastic bags, glass, stones, painted wood.Requested switch, received same.
Full refund requested-REFUSED-CHARGED delivery fee of $55+tax.
Manager claimed ALL GARDEN SOIL contained household waste.

Approximate cost of services:
$180.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused. We get our material from the best source and filter the soil multiple times to maintain a consistent and high-quality product. There are times that items will get through but we are sure to abide by all regulations that require us to keep a clean and healthy soil mix. As a measure of good faith, we exchanged your bag for free but will charge a fee if you'd like to return the product.

Clayton in Cambridge
Clayton in Cambridge
0 reviews Caledon, ON
2/10

Poor Quality Soil

I got the Top Dressing Blend to over-seed my lawn. The "screened blend" turned out to be a blend of mulch chip, hard plastic pieces and hundred of fragments of the plastic bags this "soil" came from. By no means was the product screened. I used it anyway and 7 days later have not seen a single grass seed sprout. I hope I did not waste two days meticulously caring for my lawn. The bag idea did cause less mess, however there are other options out there that offer better quality product. This is the third time I have used a bagged soil for over-seeding. It is the first and last time I will be using Less Mess.

Approximate cost of services:
$160.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Clayton. Thank you for your review. Our soil mixes are screened by our supplier and we also screen them to remove larger objects afterwards. As for not seeing any results in a week's time, this may be due to the weather climate, the amount of water used, amongst other factors. If you have any additional comments and would like to speak to a member of our team, please contact us at orderdesk@lessmess.ca and we will be happy to assist you!

B in Toronto
B in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Vindictive service and poor quality

I'm giving this company a one star rating for a few reasons.

1) the bags were not delivered on the "x", causing me to not be able to park without blocking the sidewalk. See first photo. I called them and sent an email as they said to. 4 business days later, no response.

2) upon opening the garden soil, I saw an enormous amount of plastic in the bag. I eventually stopped picking it out because there was so much of it. See photo 2. I called them and sent a message again. No one seemed to care. No attempt to make it right.

UPDATE: 3) after yet another call, someone FINALLY called back. Only because I left a review on Google. They told me that because I left a one star review, they will NOT help me. What a joke

Approximate cost of services:
$300.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello B. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you. Should you have any additional comments, please do not hesitate to reach out to a member of our team at orderdesk@lessmess.ca and we will certainly look into resolving it together.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

charged a restocking fee after delivery was turned away

I recommended this company to a friend after speaking to a home owner who got a delivery from them. The amounts were way too large even though we used their online calculator. Plus they don't let people know or communicate in advance that they will need to use construction equipment and go across lawns (potentially ruining the lawn). So first time using a service like this how would one know if the company doesn't communicate it. This company should do a better job of communicating how their delivery works and adjust their online calculator as it WAY over estimates the amounts needed. My friend was charged $120 for a restocking fee. In this time where garden supplies are sold out everywhere how can they ethically charge that much money for a restocking fee. Shame on your company!

Approximate cost of services:
$120.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused you. We will take your comments into consideration and see how we can adjust our calculator to better reflect estimates as well communicate the tools required. Thank you.

RyanTheGardener
RyanTheGardener
0 reviews Oshawa, ON
10/10

MushroomCompost

Dropped it right where I wanted it & the product was/is good. The mushroom compost I paid for is composted, dark, smelly (in a good way), & moist. Great Product.

Approximate cost of services:
$175.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your wonderful review, Ryan! We wish you the very best with your gardening project and look forward to serving you in the future!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
1/10

Less Mess home service delivery soil

The soils was old promising to be top quality.

I don’t appreciate the miss representations since I didn’t wasn’t shredded plastic in my soil bed where I was growing food for my family to enjoy.

Brutal. I believe my experience was not unique as many reviews shared my complaint.

Approximate cost of services:
$300.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there. Our soil mixes are locally sourced from the top suppliers in Ontario and screened multiple times to filter out foreign objects. If you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to reach out to a member of our team at orderdesk@lessmess.ca

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Less Mess Enviro Bag

Whether you need garden soil, lawn soil, special blends or mixes, Less Mess is the ultimate topsoil, mulch, compost, sand and stone delivery solution for less-mess outdoor landscaping and gardening, available in Canada. Rather than have your soil delivery shipment dumped on your front lawn or driveway, leaving a mess ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Garden Maintenance pros in Toronto?