Company seems to contract out the installation but fails to oversee the work. Poor communication between salesman and workers and even poorer with the customer. I was told to expect them between 8.30-9.30 and the first time they arrived at 11 and then decided that the work would take too long and the installer had to take his daughter to a football game. Re-arranged for the Friday but at 8.10 am I was told that the installers were "ill". The cynic in me tells me that it was long-weekend flu! The third time again I was told to expect them about 9.30 and then when I called at 9.30 they said that they had an <'emergency" and wouldn't be there till 11. In my opinion these "emergencies" indicate that they are either taking on too much work or they just don't care about their customers. Meanwhile I had wasted two mornings.
Finally two young installers arrived at 11 and worked through till 9.30 pm. They certainly worked hard but left a gaing hole in my front wall. No supervisor came out to review the work,and I only discovered the hole a few days later. I wrote to them, attaching photos and threatening to contact Better Business. I got an immediate response that Sunday and someone came out on Tuesday and attached a cover. I give them credit for the quick response.
All these problems could have been avoided with better and more honest communication and a supervisor to review the work done. And the salesman was sloppy in not giving me a receipt for my initial deposit.
Would I used them again? I don't know. I think I was seduced by their high rating with BBB and the positive reviews. If I had been wiser I would have checked out some local companies that install furnaces.
- Company Response
Hi Ren, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review. I am sorry to hear that you didn't receive our normally high level of customer service and install finishing. It was myself that reached out to you upon you bringing the venting termination to our attention (the picture you attached) and I am very glad we were able to get the installers back out with a nice looking venting kit called a bay vent kit, I apologize the installers should have had this with them during the installation so that the call back never occurred but I am glad we were able to get that rectified for you. Just so I am being open and honest to you, us and all that are reading this review I would like to add a notation that the picture you attached was before the cover plate was installed and does not look like this anymore, it now has a streamline venting kit covering the holes as per installation. Regarding the first part of your review I again apologize that there were issues with scheduling. I have reviewed all recorded calls and schedules and I can see that there was a lack of communication between us and yourself. We have very strict policies in place regarding calling customers if we are stuck in traffic on our way out to customer as yourself in Vancouver so I apologize these policies were not followed here. Regarding the re scheduling I apologize for this as the installers are provided with pictures prior to arrival. I know your installation was what is called a low boy installation and has its challenges but I apologize that you were inconvenienced by our lack of preparation. I once again apologize for the re scheduling due to sickness and not receiving that follow up call notifying you or their lateness on the day of the installation.Your review prompted me to review your customer file in detail and speak to my install manager so that we can change how we do a few things to make sure that customers are not experiencing this breakdown in communication, we pride ourselves on our high standards and 99% of the time our customers experience a streamlined service so I apologize you were part of the 1% that have not, we strive for 100% satisfaction and I am sorry that we did not meet our standards with yourself. I can promise you that we take customer service extremely seriously at Canada Furnace. I would like to offer as a way of an apology an extra years worth of free servicing to you. All our installations come with the first years service included for free but just call us after the 2nd year and we will complete this service free as well. Once again I apologize for any inconvenience caused and I really do appreciate your feedback and your business. We very much look forward to serving you in the future and don't forget to call us the next 2 years for your free servicing. Kind regards, Ryan - Operations Manager