Mr. Mow it All bid on a job I posted on Homestars. The quote was well presented and reasonable, their website talked about excellence in delivery, and Louise who managed customer service was friendly so I decided to give it a try. Overall I'd say that the service that I've received over the past 4 mows has been pretty poor. The first time they cut my lawn it was scalped fairly significantly in 2 places, trimming was not done around the sandbox or tree and grass was not cleaned up off of my walkway. After complaining they came to remedy the situation, clean up the mess, and trim the un-mowed grass. They had promised that grass seed would be laid on the next visit to help the now barren patches grow back but that never happened. On another week their crew didn't show up and I had to call to find out why and ask whether I was still going to be charged. Apparently the crew made a decision to not cut the grass because it was still short, but I was never notified either by phone or writing and instead had to call to find out what was going on. For someone who is a new customer, these are the proactive touch-points that make a difference, and win lifelong customers. The most recent job was terrible, and has caused me to cancel my service. I'm not sure what they used to cut my lawn but it was literally shredded in no less than 14 spots. Once I called to complain via email with accompanying pictures I received both an apology email and voicemail and they sent a crew to put down grass seed in the bare spots, which I now need to water every day for 2 weeks. I'm not sure who they are contracting to do their work in the field, but there is a large gap between the crew that is cutting the lawns, and doing an overall poor job, and the CSR (Louise) who is strong at customer service and trying to mitigate the damages by phone and email. A company can't expect to keep customers when they are delivering a poor quality service, even if their customer service support via phone and email is good and they keep sending crews out to fix the issues...It's just not enough.
- Company Response
From time to time we mess up. Essentially what happened here is we scalped this client's lawn because we were asked to cut it shorter than our recommended mowing height. We were asked to cut the lawn at 2" vs our standard recommended mowing height of 2.5"-3”. While 0.5"-1" may not sound like a significant height differential - when dealing with mowers this is. Especially if a lawn isn't perfectly level or has dips which could cause scalping. In our opinion the main area in which we erred was in not stopping service after noticing the scalping was occurring and refusing to cut the lawn at that height going forward. The experience this client received is not at all typical of what service we deliver and for that we are sorry as well. At this point we’ve reversed the charge for the client’s service, top dressed and overseeded the scalped bits, and have reached out four separate times to this client to see what else we need to do to make things right.