Aire Serv Of Greater Edmonton - No Longer In Business

Heating & Air Conditioning
EDMONTON AB
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Heating & Air Conditioning in Edmonton  >  Aire Serv Of Greater Edmonton - No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

45%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Aire Serv Of Greater Edmonton - No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
8.3 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Kosal from Edmonton
Kosal from Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

Furnace not working intermittently

I am not home, the wife contacted Blake for service, I believe he charged way over prices for replacing pressure switch and Smart Gas Valve (SKU:SV9501M2528) for our Furnace. Google the part SKU#, only cost between $90 to $200 on Canadian website (adding $200 for 1 or 2 hours labor charge = $400 at most). Not very happy with the cost and the work he done.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kosal and thanks for your review. I understand your frustration with the cost of the gas control valve repair on your furnace. Yes it is sometimes possible to find repair parts for a cheaper price on the internet. (I did a search for your part and found pricing from $210 -$418 CAD + Shipping costs and 4-5 day shipping meaning that it could be a week or more before you actually get the part). As an HVAC tech i find my self wondering how its possible that a homeowner can buy a part for less money than I can and I'm buying from a wholesaler! When I buy a part here I have no control over what the local parts wholesaler wants to charge me. And when I buy a part I have to mark it up in order to stay in business. So yes sometimes I guess you can say you are over paying for a part. But are you really? Another thing to consider is warranty. I warranty the part for 1 year as does the local wholesaler. With an internet purchase of a gas control valve, good luck with getting any warranty. HVAC techs are not in the business of showing up to a furnace that is not working, finding the problem, going online to find the part they need as cheap as possible and ordering it, waiting for a week or more for the part to show up and then make another trip to your home to do the repair. Can you imagine if this is how it worked? Customers wouldn't be very happy sitting in a cold house for week waiting for a part to show up. My goal is always to get a furnace up an running as quickly as possible. You paid $400 for the gas control valve with 1 year part warranty, and $250 for 2 hours for me to go get the part and install it with 30 days labor warranty. I beleive $650 + GST is not unreasonable for this repair.

Ban from Edmonton
Ban from Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Installing the air conditioner

Blake is very knowledgeable about his product & patient to inform & answer me the details of the installation & the product & the questions I concern. He did perform the installation of the Carrier AC unit with the positive & the professional attitude at my home. I am satisfied the work he has done for me & my family quite enjoy this additional new feature in the house.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ban, thanks for the review. It was a pleasure to work with you on your AC installation. And I'm happy to hear you're enjoying your cool and comfortable home during this hot/humid summer. All the best!

Toni Kalita from Edmonton
Toni Kalita from Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Installation of new furnace and AC.

Had my furnace and AC installed in 2012. Called Blake in fall of 2013, to disconnect AC because of work needed on the foundation of my house. He came and disconnected the AC and returned this week to reconnect it. Blake is very thorough and answers all questions! The service was excellent!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Toni! It's nice to hear how much more comfortable our customers are after a new system is installed. Thanks for hiring us again!! Its always a pleasure to work for you.

Roger from Edmonton
Roger from Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

AC & Furnace Installation

Blake Livingston is to be commended for his professionalism. He came to our home and did a thorough job of how he could best meet our AC & heating needs. Blake was always on time, very organized, cleaned up inside and out and was extremely knowledgeable about AC & heating. We would not hesitate to recommend Blake to our friends. Submitted by Roger

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Roger. It was an absolute pleasure to install your new Furnace and AC system for you and Julene. AND I had a good time with the dogs!! All the best for your upcoming summer holiday trip...

Mike from Edmonton
Mike from Edmonton
4 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Air Conditioning

We contacted Aire Serv (formerly Excel Heating & Cooling) for a quote on the supply & install of central AC for our home. Owner Blake Livingston came to our home, did an inspection, explained our options along with his suggestions and provided us a quote that was better than the other two we received from larger companies for the exact same model.

Blake and his staff were professional, friendly and honest about their work. They did the work on time, on budget and without any hassle. We recommended Blake to a number of our friends, all of whom used his services and were pleased with his work.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mike, these days most of my installation work is from referral. I'm glad to hear you and your friends are happy with our work! Thanks for your review and referrals. Blake.

Craig Miller from Edmonton
Craig Miller from Edmonton
3 reviews Edmonton, AB

First Review

10/10

Furnace Replacement Parts

I had a bearing go bad in my Carrier furnace's inducer motor. A quick google for the specific part number + Edmonton resulted in finding Aire Serv offering parts and/or service. I called and talked to them, and then went down to pickup the parts.

I received several useful tips on how to do the repair myself, without being pressured into having their service truck come out.

If I ever need a truck to be rolled to repair something I can't handle, I will call them first!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the review Craig. Glad the repair worked out for you. We'll be happy to help you out again if needed.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

Is this your business?

Receive leads and respond to reviews.
Claiming is easy and free.

Claim this business

More about Aire Serv Of Greater Edmonton - No Longer In Business

Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.