HomeStars  >  Fences & Gates in BROUGHAM  >  A. D. Holmes Fence & Deck Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for A. D. Holmes Fence & Deck Ltd

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (34 reviews)

Sort by

PW
PW
10 reviews Whitby, ON
8/10

Good fast work

A.D. Holmes fence and deck does good fast work. The built 120 feet of fence and a pergola for us in 3 days.

While there has been some issues with cracking and warping fence boards, all issues were resolved after a quick call to Andrew.

We had an old chain-link fence removed and there were some links left laying in the yard after they left but I would not describe it as a mess.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

We appreciate the review and will continue to try to improve on or walk throughs

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Deck renovation

I couldn't be happier with the work done by A.D. Holmes Fence and Deck LTD. Turned my old deck into my new backyard paradise the workmanship is fantastic and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much for the review
We appreciate your positive feedback

Melissa
Melissa
2 reviews Whitchurch Stouffville, ON
10/10

fencing Job

I received quotes from many different fence companies and went with A.D. Holmes Fence and deck because the contractor was very helpful and patient with us and because when I posted on facebook in many different Facebook groups stating that I was looking for a fence contractor, A.D. Holmes was recommended many times and were given amazing reviews. I am so happy we went ahead with this company and have been recommending them to all of my Co-workers, friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for the positive feedback
We hope you enjoy your new fence

melta in Vaughan
melta in Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
2/10

Very bad job from the beginning

We had a fence installed last November. The wood was wet and the poles are already severely cracked. There were very big gaps between the boards. After getting in touch with the owner, a supervisor came and he immediately recognized that many things needed to be fixed. He came in person two weeks later and added some pieces of wood to the existing boards. It looks terrible. I left several messages with the owner, Anderw, with the supervisor, Al. I also sent an email and a text but I DID not receive a call. Noone is taking responsibility for this poorly done job.
If the technicians knew what to do right form the beginning, the problem would NOT exist. The supervisor said the wood cracked because it was too fresh. Should the technicians not know what to do?
After paying so much money, would you like to look at tis job? It is up to the owner to take responsibility and he is NOT calling us back.
I do not need to say that I DO NOT recommend this company.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hi Melba
We are sorry you have not had a wonderful experience and we do appreciate the feedback.
When the wood is purchased it is wet, this is normal. When the wood dries you will have some warping and cracking, this is also normal.
We have sent our technicians 3 times to try and make you happy each time with no success. Warping and cracking are a part of the drying process and is to be expected.
Wood is a natural product and will have flaws. We only added the strips to close the small gap that was created when the board shrunk away and left a 1/4" gap between the post in some places. You and your husband were present during this. You did not say you did not like the looks of strips while you were watching it being done. We could have stopped at anytime. You then called 2 days later and were upset that we did not put the cut pieces on your neighbours side instead of yours and felt that she should see the strips instead of you because you called us in but her garden made it to difficult to access. You were unhappy with your gate so we replaced it with a new one free of charge.
There is nothing else we can do for you and I am sorry you did not have pleasant experience.
We will continue to do our best to make sure all our customers are satisfied and hope to continue to improve our customer service

aallossery in Toronto
aallossery in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Deck and Fence in backyard with room for hot tub

It was really easy to work with Andrew and his team. He helped us to design a plan for our deck and fencing, and then executed what we were looking for perfectly. Everyone was very professional and non-intrusive. I also really appreciated them taking the time to make sure the job site was cleaned up afterwards.

I should also add that we weren't always the easiest clients - we were a bit disorganized with our demands for the hot tub space, and Andrew always had suggestions to help accommodate our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much for your positive feedback

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mount Albert, ON
10/10

Deck

Absolutely love my new 12' x 24' deck! Beautiful pergola and sunscreen. Work was done expeditiously in 5 days! (Stairs to be installed once grading and sodding is completed.) Andrew and his crew know their trade and are very hardworking and conscientious. Job site was left spotless. I recommend A.D. Holmes without hesitation!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much for the great review we are glad you're happy

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Markham, ON
10/10

Snow removal

Their service is impeccable. They are punctual, honest and thorough. Their honesty and integrity are 2nd to none!! I will recommend their services to anyone who wants excellent service. Their motto "Doing things right the first time" is exactly what they do!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you so much for the positive review

PW
PW
10 reviews Whitby, ON
10/10

Could not ask for a better company

We contracted A. D. Holmes Fence & Deck Ltd to do a fence and pergola for us and could not be happier.
The fence (not your standard type of fence) was installed in 2 days (all 116 feet of it). The pergola was done in 1 day.
While the job site was not left as clean as I had expected the work seems to be top notch and we have had multiple compliments on the fence.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks for the positive feedback and we will try to improve on our clean up efforts

Tony
Tony
1 review Whitby, ON
10/10

Deck

Once job got started, team was fast and provided everything requested in terms of layout agreed to during design. Brandon is an excellent pro and takes great pride in his work. Team was also very clean. Highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you very much for the great review
It was a pleasure working for you

ruggiero65
ruggiero65
1 review Mount Albert, ON
10/10

Fence

Awesome work. Work was done in a timely fashion, professional attitude and polite. We highly recommend using their services.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks for the great review

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about A. D. Holmes Fence & Deck Ltd

WHAT WE DO
We at A. D. Holmes Fence & Deck Ltd. provide home owners and business owners with an affordable, quality deck and fence service within the Regional Municipalities or York and Durham.

Decks, from practical to spectacular
Wood Fences both functional and appealing
Chain LInk Fences for security
Wrought iron fences
Arbours
pool enclosures
removals, disposals and repairs

WHAT WE OFFER
Years of Experience
$2,000,000 Liability Insurance
Free Quotations
The job done right the first time and on time
Quality Assurance

CATEGORIES
Fences & Gates and Decks
SERVICES
Decks, from practical to spectacular Wood Fences both functional and appealing Chain LInk Fences for security Wrought iron fences Arbours pool enclosures removals, disposals and repairs
WEBSITE
http://adholmesfenceanddeck.com/
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.