Lancaster Custom Cabinets & Closets Inc.

Organizing Products & Services
225 McNaughton Rd East #4 Vaughan ON L6A4P5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Organizing Products & Services in Vaughan  >  Lancaster Custom Cabinets & Closets Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

85%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Lancaster Custom Cabinets & Closets Inc.

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (47 reviews)

Sort by

Paul in Vaughan
Paul in Vaughan
6 reviews Vaughan, ON
3/10

Bathroom Reno

After the experience I had with Lancaster, I would not use them again. Between the timeline given when we signed the contract to the communication with our consultant to the little details on the final product, I feel there are better companies out there.

Lancaster's management team was excellent in dealing with issues that arose close to the end of the project, but our sales person was nowhere to be found. No one has called to date to ensure everything went smoothly with installation.

Speaking of installers, they are amazing. Very clean and professional.

Was this review helpful?
Santina
Santina
1 review Mount Albert, ON
10/10

Full Kitchen and Closet Organizers for entire house.

We cannot say enough about Lancaster Custom Cabinets & Closets! We just moved into a brand new home where we designed our new kitchen & closets. From site measures, to selection, design, installation to the Gorgeous Finished product we would HIGHLY recommend them! Debbie Brown was such a pleasure to deal with and Tom the installer did a fabulous job making sure our dream kitchen came to life! Quality & professional! Thank you for everything!

Santina & Frank

Was this review helpful?
Kimberly from Toronto
Kimberly from Toronto
8 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Fireplace mantle and surround cabinetry

I hired this company based on the reviews on homestars. I don't usually write negative reviews but I feel compelled to based on the numerous issues I experienced. The job itself took six months to complete, months longer than it should have. After receiving the first design for approval, I went into the showroom to discuss and revise the design with my sales consultant. I thought I was making the process quick and easy by making this effort to physically come in for a discussion. This visit proved a waste a time as the next design that came through didn't reflect our discussion. I had to return to the showroom to discuss the design and this time I met with the true designer on staff and we came up with a design that everyone was comfortable with. While the design phase was bad, the install process was even worse. Before the install began, it was suggested to us that the cabinetry would be installed in one day. On the day our installation was scheduled for, the installer didn't arrive until 3pm. He didn't finish that day (not surprisingly). He came out two additional days, each for a few hours at a time and sadly always when my son was trying to nap!! We found out that the installer was terminated by Lancaster sometime after our job. The panels in our doors needed repainting and couldn't be installed with the cabinetry. We were told it would be another week to get the doors back from the painter. It would end up be another month before Lancaster would return with the doors to finish the job. If that wasn't enough, we had to have another company come out to measure and then install the stone around the fireplace. On the day they were scheduled to come, they didn't show up and they didn't have the decency to call to say they weren't coming. Talk about bad service!!! I wish I could say it was all worth it but the final job isn't great. Despite the work done by Lancaster to measure the space before the design was drafted, the fireplace isn't centered relative to where the original fireplace was and so it doesn't line up with the tile detail on the floor. We also had requested they use a material in the door panels that would allow a remote signal would pass through. This concept was understood by Lancaster but unfortunately the delivered product doesn't function very well so we have to open the cabinetry doors when using the remote. I think everything that could have gone wrong, went wrong and I wish I had another company for this job.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kimberly,

I am very sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the end result. I would like to start off by saying I was the true designer on your job and not just a sales consultant. In custom work there is always a designer and a detailer who work out all final measurements and details for production this is so across the board for all custom companies. In your case you were told that the production would take roughly 10 weeks for a painted finish and the design time depends on how many changes are made, in your case you sent me various changes after coming to finalize the design which resulted in our meeting with the detailer to ensure that we could do what you were asking for -- as it was a completely custom design feature that we had to manufacture and not pieces that could be ordered.
The install did not go smooth due to various reasons such as uneven walls and floors and the fireplace installer did not center the fireplace and had to go back to do so, therefore our installer was not able to complete the job as promised. We did our best to fit you into our schedule along the way to get the job done as soon as possible. We also did our very best to get back as soon as possible to do any service, but in your case the doors had to be sent back to paint finishing - this timing is out of our control due to its custom nature.
The feature of the remote signal passing through the painted material was not guaranteed to you as discussed as this is not something Lancaster offers but tried to delivery as requested.
As for the granite surround around the fireplace that is always out-sourced as we are not a granite or stone company (they template and then install shortly after, again this is the procedure across the board for all custom millwork companies which I also explained to you and you were aware of). It was also brought to your attention that the tile on the floor was not centered to your mantel or fireplace - so again you were aware of that. Finally, your install was completed roughly 3 months ago and you could have reached out to me to discuss your disappointment and frustration to see what could have been done but you did not do so.
Again, I am very sorry that you are disappointed but I feel Lancaster delivered what was promised to you and we took all the steps to get the job done right given the unexpected and unforeseen delays.

Best Regards, Beverly

Jurenda in Scarborough
Jurenda in Scarborough
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Exceptional Walk-in Closet

From day one I have been blown away by the exceptional quality and service of Lancaster Homes. Dino came in to provide us with a quote to transform our den into a walk in closet. Within 24 hours we had a design and an appointment set up to see the showroom and to discuss the drawings. During our in-office consultation we were able to make changes as well as see a 3D version of the closet which definitely gave a better perspective on what to expect. Now to say I was excited for this closet would be an understatement, but my expectations were exceeded tenfold. The final product was sleek and the work was done with perfection. No doubt in my mind that we will be using Lancaster Homes for all our custom design work in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Darlene in Mississauga
Darlene in Mississauga
1 review King City, ON
10/10

Custom Kitchen

Absolutely gorgeous! What more can I say! Thank you to Debbie Brown and her team of dedicated professionals at Lancaster Custom Cabinets. My husband and I are thrilled with our fully custom kitchen, servery and pantry. After interviewing 3 other companies in the GTA we decided to go with Debbie based on a referral from a friend, the positive comments on HomeStars and the Lancaster showroom really sealed the deal. If you are interviewing companies right now call Debbie and visit the showroom - it's wonderful to be able to touch and see the workmanship that goes into each and every piece of cabinetry that Lancaster creates. Not to mention, the factory is also at the showroom so you know exactly where your kitchen comes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Samer  in Toronto
Samer in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Walk in closet

From consultation and design to execution and installation, my experience with Lancaster has been nothing less than excellent and they gave me exactly what I wanted. My closets look so much better and have significantly more storage capacity now. I would recommend Lancaster to anyone!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Rose in Toronto
Rose in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Custom built-in closets for hallway and master bedroom

My husband and I are expecting our first child this year and as such we knew we needed to increase the storage space in our 100-year-old semi. We decided to explore custom cabinetry options and discovered Lancaster through our membership with Direct Buy. We worked with Kendra at Lancaster to plan out custom closets for our hallway and master bedroom that would be able to accommodate my husbands wardrobe, room for linens as well as my own wardrobe (with lots of shoes!). Kendra was extremely knowledgeable in the product portfolio and was able to realistically stay within our budget while still getting us a top notch product with all the bells and whistles. We are extremely happy with the quality of the product, the overall customer service and installation. The closets themselves look as if they were built along with the house and fit perfectly into our overall decor and style.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Mary Lou in Vaughan
Mary Lou in Vaughan
1 review King City, ON
10/10

Home Office, Family Room, Laundry, Wine Room, Powder Room, Change Room

Debbie and the Lancaster Team have done an amazing job with each and every home project; built-ins, mudroom, wine room, powder room, pool change room to date. Service has been exceptional. Debbie and the Team were so very helpful and knowledgeable and have never disappointed. The Team goes above and beyond and the final results seem to always exceed our expectations. We will definitely use them again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Ivana Garito IMID in Concord
Ivana Garito IMID in Concord
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Multiple Kitchens and cabinetry

I have been working with Lancaster Cabinetry for the past five years and have been extremely happy with their work. They are professional and understand my need for precision as a designer. They are on time with schedule and are well priced.
I recommend them to all my clients and friends!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Lancaster Custom Cabinets & Closets Inc.

Lancaster Custom Cabinets & Closets has been servicing the greater GTA and surrounding areas with its custom cabinetry and closets since 2008. With its family-oriented values and importance in customer service - Lancaster truly provides service and quality from start to finish. Their award-winning design team can create any cabinetry ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.