AquaResist Inc.

Drain Services
Toronto ON M8Z 5K5
HomeStars  >  Drain Services in Etobicoke  >  AquaResist Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
73%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
1
0
0

Reviews for AquaResist Inc.

Average customer rating:
7.6 10 (19 reviews)

Sort by

Jerry  in Mississauga
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

AQUARESIST INC fixed our basement leaks.They give us fair price and started same day as it was rain and water still coming.Very nice workers,clean job was done and perfect service.I recommend this guys to fix your basement leaks.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jerry, thanks for writing a review.
Vasyl

Julia in Торонто
1 review Simcoe County, ON
10/10

We hire this company to fix our drain problems,they did great job and we are happy with them as it was professional and very clean .So I recomend you start work with Aquaresist and I'm more than sure they will fix your drain problems with high quality.Nice to deal with you Aquaresist inc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Julia, Thanks for your review. All the best, Vasyl

Valery
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

I would not hesitate to recommend Roman and his crew to do underpinning, drain work, and excavation work. We have used Roman on many projects and his work is always above and beyond our expectations. Roman takes pride in ensuring excellent customer satisfaction and will return to ensure that the work is completed to our expectation. Roman's crew are very diligent and complete the work in the allotted time frame.
That are many out there that do underpinning but use AquaResist to ensure that the work is done well.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Valery, Thanks for writing a review. It was nice to have business with you.

Jerry  in Mississauga
2 reviews Міссіссагуа, ON
10/10

I'm happy with this company.That guys did for me good and clean job.After few days of work on my property they did a really great job and even send my pictures with every step what guys did.Its a great company with nice workers.Thank you AQUARESIST .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jerry. Thanks for your review. If you need any help in the future, just let us know.

Ron from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

Very happy with work! Crew did a very good job, always clean after days work. Work is done in very professional way.
Would recommend service to anyone needing waterproofing!

Ron

Was this review helpful?
Nazar from Toronto
2 reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

I had a washroom in the basement with no window. It was getting annoying to always having to use artificial light when i went for showers, so I began a search for a solution and found out I can have a window by getting it cut out in the wall. I began a search for which company to go with,and came upon Aquaresist. Vasyl came on time and explained exactly how long it would take them to finish and what was going to be done. The workers were polite and answered all my questions I had, and over all had a great experience and recommend them to others.

Review has 2 previous versions
Was this review helpful?
Eva from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

We had moisture problem in our basement. Humidity level was far above normal and damp smell especially in the bathroom in the basement. Guys from Aquaresist did waterproofing recently and so far we are absolutely satisfied with their performance and the result. There is no damp smell any more I've tried everything to get rid of musty smells but it were all temporary solutions. Crew that worked on the site was hardworking. Vasyl who managed the whole project was courteous and responsive. Thanks for getting this done that fast!

Was this review helpful?
Paul S from Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

We hired AquaResist the year before last to put in a basement walkout, including a door, and paid over $17500.00 for the job, which included a "lifetime guarantee" for all work done. While the work progressed slowly, and the owner Vasyl was painfully difficult to get ahold of, the job eventually did get done. Unfortunately, they did not frame the door correctly (did not anchor the door appropriately to the foundation) and didn't parge the doorway correctly. After only 3 months of use, the door couldn't align correctly with the jamb or the threshold, and locking the door was increasingly becoming impossible.

After over 8 months of arguing with the owner as to what the problem was, he finally sent Roman out to fix the parging but refused to fix the doorframe (saying there was a problem with our foundation - which is complete nonsense). After repeated problems, the door wouldn't actually close anymore because of alignment problems with the doorframe that was cut.

After another few frustrating weeks of trying to get ahold of Vasyl, he finally agreed to send someone (someone who he contracted out), who actually had to remove the steel door, the interior case, the exterior parging, the post, and jamb etc because the original work was so shoddily completed. The contractor had to continue to cut through the foundation because the original crew didn't actually finish the job correctly the first time. He single-handedly fixed the door, installed the correct jamb system and re-installed the door. That said, he had to leave before the interior casing and exterior parging could be finished.

Weeks go by again, phone calls and emails go unanswered, and still no one shows up to finish the parging work. One day out of the blue, someone from Aquaresist (my guess is Roman) shows up unannounced to finish the parging - but actually leaves without fixing the top post and parging.

We then hired someone to fix the top post, thinking that the basement walkout ordeal was over. I had to fix the interior myself - Aquaresist refused to pay for any damages re-installation of the doorframe would have cost.

As it turns out, the parging that Aquaresist completed around the exterior started cracking - my guess is that they were in such a rush to apply the parging the second time around that they didn't realize they should have applied 2-3 layers instead of one very thick layer.

After about 6 months of exposure to the elements, the parging completed cracked off on the bottom of the doorway, exposing the foundation to water and frigid temperatures. After speaking to many contractors in that time, they firmly believe it was due to an inadequate mixing of the concrete materials necessary for the parging. We contacted Aquaresist again on multiple occasions to ask them to repair the work, and we received no reply.

After multiple requests by phone and by email, Vasyl indicated by email that the work was not something he would fix, and that it was not under warranty. This is in complete disagreement with the statement of the warranty. Clearly this work was under warranty, otherwise Aquaresist would not have sent out workers like Roman and the additional contractor to complete this work in November of 2013 (which, unfortunately, was completed incorrectly).

This is clearly not the case, as we outlined multiple times in reply emails. Vasyl indicated that the parging was not Aquaresist's job, which it clearly was. Vasyl indicated that the parging job was apparently only a temporary solution, and that aluminum casing was required - when in fact the parging should hold for many years after the completion of the job.

We did not hire Aquaresist to put in aluminum casing - we hired Aquaresist to put in a basement walkout staircase, with a door that clearly INCLUDES parging around the foundation wall. There isn't a masonry company in existence that would leave the foundation wall exposed to the elements, and Aquaresist is well aware of their contractual obligation to finish working on the basement walkout door, including the parging. That is why Vasyl had workers return in mid-November of 2013 to fix the parging (albeit poorly), and that is why Vasyl should have returned this past summer to fix the parging once and for all.

We gave Aquaresist between 3.5 and 4 months to finish this work. Since you did not return to fix the parging around the door, we sought out three companies to finish this work and hired one that fixed this door parging issue at a competitive market rate.

We're now down over $300 (plus a lot of additional expenses, including our own time in fixing the interior), and Vasyl has indicated that he will not be refunding us the cost to fix their shoddy work.

This company can do good work, but they're either poorly managed, or they really just don't care to actually honour their guarantee. Ironically enough, we're in the process of acquiring another house and will need to install another basement walkout. Had Aquaresist simply honoured their contract and written guarantee, we would have hired them again in a heartbeat. But there are clearly better companies out there to do this work, that honour their guarantees.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Tim from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

UPDATE DECEMBER 2015
Aqua Resist has failed to complete the contracted job. They ignore my calls and emails. DO NOT USE THEM! They have left my yard a mess, and failed to complete the work they agreed to do.

Original Review:

Extremely disappointed. Similar experience to Al, but much much worse. They started job in July, it is now Dec. and it is still not done. They have not shown up, and do not return any calls or messages. Unbelievably bad customer service. Do not waste your time with them. They have even left construction garbage on my property still.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Tim,

We noticed you put a bad review on HomeStars for our company.
I think you did it before you spoke with Vasile directly.

Please remove this review, as our company trying to help with finishing this project asap,
in spite of during the project time you did a deals(waterproof, backwater-valve, sump-pump) with Eugen(Active Drain) directly behind the back of the company. And Eugen should finish stairs for your project.

As Vasile said - we are going to send other crew to finish the stairs and we expect to be paid same day after stairs is done.
And were surprised to see negative review, please remove it - we are waiting for this.

Al from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

We hired these guys to work on our basement walkout that had been damaged by water and ice over the winter. They were by no means cheap, but Tony seemed knowledgeable and presented a very comprehensive plan. However, halfway through the job, and without warning, the workmen simply stopped turning up. By this stage the back yard was a building site so we could not use it, and they left a large pile of dirt in the basement walkout that blocked the drainage in the event of rain. They eventually came back and finished the work after we threatened to hire someone else to finish it, but a job that was supposed to take 2 weeks ended up taking more like 6. Tony did offer us a discount, but it was never clear why the workmen had stopped halfway through the job.

We were provided with a guarantee and they offered to come back if we ever had problems. However now that we have actually asked them to come back to discuss some issues with their work they are making a series of excuses to avoid doing so. Very frustrating.

I'll will happily post an update if things improve. If I don't post an update you can assume things did not improve.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about AquaResist Inc.

Aqua-Resist conveniently located and known for more than 15 years as one of the GTA’s finest basement waterproofing companies. You can rely on AquaResist Inc. as on contractor for all of your basement needs. We are proud to serve industrial, commercial, and residential customers. We specialize in solving problems, such ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.