Seaway Pools & Beachcomber Hot Tubs

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
27 Heritage Rd Markham ON L3P1M3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs in Markham  >  Seaway Pools & Beachcomber Hot Tubs
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Seaway Pools & Beachcomber Hot Tubs

Average customer rating:
5.6 10 (9 reviews)

Sort by

Vanessa of newmarket in Newmarket
Vanessa of newmarket in Newmarket
1 review Newmarket, ON

Customer satisfaction NOT guaranteed

All they want is the sale and your money... After that you don't matter.

Our hot tub was supposed to be delivered in the first week of June but it didn't happen. The Manager suggested we RENT out a hot tub for $500 (!!!) over the weekend. So after them not keeping their promise, they make more money by renting out their hideous hot tub. They promised $400 store credit though which is not okay because it is still less than what we paid for the rental.

When they delivered the tub, my husband was at work. I called the manager and told her my husband will be back at 6pm and will literally go straight to their shop and give the check. I was told they they would have to remove the tub from our backyard because they could not wait 3 hours for my husband to be home. I was told about keeping the contract when they were the ones who delayed the delivery for 1 month.

Be very cautious with the promises they make. You might be left with no option but to pay more.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Brent from Stouffville
Brent from Stouffville
3 reviews Whitchurch Stouffville, ON

Swimming pool

With lengthy pool company interviews, we decided on Seaway Pools Markham. Craig ( owner) showed complete professionalism, and listened to what we wanted and built us a beautiful pool for our family. It was completed in the fall of 2016 was ready for the spring of 2017. His team of experts Brian, Ian and Corrine helped out to make things perfect. His Seaway team, where there quick to answer any emails and questions we might have had. I would definitely recommend Seaway Pools for those wanting an exceptional company to work with on building your pool . Just want to say Thanks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Colin from Uxbridge
Colin from Uxbridge
1 review Uxbridge, ON

Inground pool

I have and will continue to recommend Seaway to anyone looking to purchase a pool. After calling many companies Craig from Seaway was the first to call beck. He showed up on time, worked with us with what we asked, the price was exactly what we agreed (no surprises), and the work was completed ahead of schedule. Craig promised my kids that they would be swimming for the August long weekend and he delivered!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the opportunity to build your pool! It was our pleasure to help you bring enjoyment and family time to your backyard. We hope that you enjoy the pool for many years to come.

Diana from Toronto
Diana from Toronto
1 review Etobicoke, ON

Pool opening

Do not use this company - stay far away! Completely unprofessional, do not return phone calls, emails and will bill you for work that is not completed. I made an appointment to open my pool and was provided with 2 men who did not know what they were doing. I was promised services that were not provided nor were the men informed of the services. They billed me the day they sent their men to open my pool. All they did was take the cover off and even with that my husband and I helped. We were charged $405 for a pool cover removal! No invoice was provided and no authorization was given to bill the credit card. We were left with a dirty pool and no mechanicals working. Absolute terrible customer service! Contacted the owner, who also doesn't respond!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It is disappointing to us that you feel this way about our service. Our servicemen spent extra time in your yard detailing the pools operation, a service not usually included in a regular opening. Leaves and debris were scooped from the pool and hot tub. All equipment was assembled and re-connected. The spa was rinsed and cleaned and chemicals were added to the pool. As mentioned to you in the telephone conversation with our owner, our men were at your property to open your pool, which was done to the best of our ability. When the call was booked there was no mention that parts were broken and needed to be replaced. It is our policy to charge the credit card given at the time of booking after the service is complete. The pool at this property was open end May 13th and the card was processes May 16th, three days after service was done.

mark from Vaughan
mark from Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON

Beachcomber Hot Tub Repairs

Used them to do simple replacement of return pipes to pump and valves and they had to make multiple trips to complete the job after i called them multiple times. They take your credit card information first, so difficult to correct issues afterwards. After i filled the tub again, water still leaked all over the place and completely drained, damaging the motor, and forcing me to make the repairs myself. I was charged for a missing massage jet, but it was not installed and i had to call them again to provide it.

Review has 1 previous version
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Sandra Petersen from Unionville
Sandra Petersen from Unionville
2 reviews Unionville, ON


Last year we did a major backyard pool renovation project. Seaway Pools, in particular Craig, was great in helping us with the planning of the project. He provided good advice and patiently answered our questions. Seaway also came through for us when it came to the project implementation. The work was completed on time and on budget.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
4 reviews Toronto, ON

Pool liner

DO NOT USE THESE GUYS!!!! completely unprofessional!!!

We originally purchased our pool from Seaway a while back. We have moved and brought the pool with us and as expected the liner ripped. We ordered a new liner through Seaway (Newmarket) and they charged us a lot of money. We told them the kind of pool along with the hight of the pool. They went ahead and ordered the liner and we went to pick it up.

Well, as it turns out the liner they ordered was wrong. We let them know and they not only told us that they will not refund our money but they suggested we take them to small claims court!!! We called this company because they were who we bought the pool from and we thought they knew what they were is obvious that they know nothing and are used to having angry customers (hence the easy "take us to court"quote. The owner wont call us, and the staff wont get back to us!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Debora,
I am sorry to hear of all the trouble you are having with getting a proper liner for your above ground pool. Our owner spoke with someone from your family yesterday and had come to an agreement to order a new liner at no charge to you. The reason for the delay and request for photos of the pool is because no proof of purchase was provided, we want to make sure we get you the correct liner.

We are a company who has been in business for 30 successful years and have done so through our quality construction, knowledge and aftermarket service.

Ed L in Orono
Ed L in Orono
3 reviews Scugog, ON

Hot Tub Installation

Purchased a portable soft tub for use in two locations. I had shopped around and this company has a very competive price and they had what I wanted in stock...not the other companies who wanted to special order the particular hot tub I wanted. Courteous and knowledgable staff.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
S.E. Telecommmunications
S.E. Telecommmunications
6 reviews Markham, ON

First Review


Inground Pool and Deck

Pool Concerns.

Hello Mike & Gary

I didn’t mind if the pool took longer, I just didn’t like being misled.

I asked which parts of the implementation were up to me and I was told permit, electrical hook-up and gas connections.

They completed a site survey prior and looked at the neighbour's lawn. (yet they pulled out their sprinkler system with the bobcat?)

They told the neighbour that they would pull the posts and stuff the hold so dirt didn't get in and that they would put up a temp fence so that kids couldn't get into their pool)

They said the fence would only be down for one day. (Yet neighbours pool was open for a full day and the fence was down for 2 weeks)

3 days prior to pool start date I was told we needed an electrical inspection by Newmarket Hydro as well as any other locates which caused me to scramble

July 09 2010
Retaining wall started

July 10 2010
Retaining wall completed
Paid extra to have it done as start date for the pool was supposed to be the 11th

July 11 2010
No one arrived today.
Pool was supposed to start bug no one showed up. They told me to take down the fence on the 10th but if I had the neighbours pool would have been exposed. I'm glad I didn't.

July 12 2010
No on arrived today.
Pool was supposed to start but no one showed up. I called the night before to confirm ad they told me to take down the fence on the 11th but if I had the neighbours pool would have been exposed. I'm glad I didn't. I wish I didn’t pay extra to have the retaining wall done faster

July 13 2010
They dug the pool hole.
Pool was supposed to start at 8 am.
They told me to take down the fence by 8 am but I didn't because I was concerned that they wouldn't show up again. I waited around for a couple of hours but I had to leave for work.

Therefore I left the sawsall down so they could take down the fence which they did however they simply pushed the 4x4 posts over rather than pulling them out which caused me a bunch of extra time and material.

They also drive the backhoe onto my neighbours sprinkler and pulled it out of the ground.

They repeatedly drove over 2 more sprinkle heads on the neighbours front lawn.

I had to ask to have a temp fence put up even though this was clearly explained during the site surveys and relayed to my neighbour. Mike informed me that they had never done it before but that they would do it this time.

They left it open for over 3 hours until they returned with a fence which was poorly installed and a kid could have Fallen into my neighbours exposed pool.

July 14 2010
No one arrived today.
They were supposed to be working in the pool but nobody showed up. I called and they told me not to worry. I explained the damages and they referred a handy man.

I had a couple of companies quote. Repairing the damages and they all asked why the company wouldn't have pulled the posts versus pushing them over? I didn't have an answer.

I did however ask if I should repair and replace the fence. They said yes.

July 15 2010
Two guys showed up for a couple of hours and assembled the metal portion of the pool.

I had the repairs scheduled for the fence but I wanted to confirm that it was ok for me to put it back as it still seemed Luke that had a lot of backfill to put in and it seemed that they would need a bobcat again. Left message with Gary and sent them both an email without any reply.

June 16 2010
No on arrived again
I called to confirm the replacement of the fence and this time they said they need it down until Tuesday.

My major concerns to date are the fact that I have been given dates which affect my schedule and yet people don't show up. I don't care if it takes an extra day because of rain however I don't like being told one thing during the sales process and receive completely different service.

Secondly we told my neighbour that their fence would be down for a day.
You Now say it needs to be down until Tuesday which is a week. (I will wait until Tuesday) Called my contractor and rescheduled the fence / sprinkler repairs

Our dates are not being met as you are obviously working on other projects.

Our delays should have only weather related.

June 17 2010
No one showed up today

June 18 2010
No one showed up today

June 19 2010
They showed up and said they couldn’t really do anything (First delay that was weather permitting) couldn’t get the bobcat into the backyard.

June 20 2010
They showed up and added concrete to the side of the pool and the bottom of the pool They told me to close the fence today however I didn’t as they were not done Called my contractor and rescheduled the fence / sprinkler repairs

June 21 2010 - I give up


We bought a pool and we were promised installation dates based on weather permitting however they missed the dates and didn't show up numerous times.
They said that my neighbours fence would be carefully removed, and stuffed with something to keep the post holes from filling in, however the pushed it over with a bobcat rather than pulling the posts out as they promised. It cost me an additional $1000 to fix it versus the $200 it should have cost.

I told Mike and Gary that I didn't care if the exact date was met but I couldn't afford to wait around for them and have them not show up as I also have a job.

The pool turned out great however I wasted hours on missed dates.

The pool turned out ok however I wish I paid a little more and went with a company that showed up when they said they would. I know that they had too many projects on the go and simply tried to balance everything.

Review has 1 previous version
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Seaway Pools & Beachcomber Hot Tubs

Celebrating our 30th year of swimming pool design, construction and retail service. A fully trained technical service staff on hand for field or in house hot tub & pool service. An authorized Beachcomber Hot Tub dealer for over 19 years with a full line up of hot tubs on display ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.