Alex Moulding

Moldings / Mouldings
Toronto ON M2H 1Y7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Alex Moulding

Average customer rating:
9.1 10 (47 reviews)

Sort by

3 reviews Pickering, ON

First Review


Moulding, potlights, painting. Horrible service!

I was initially excited to hire Alex Mouldings as I wanted as few contractors working on my house as possible. I had two weeks before moving into my new house to get the additional work done and had built a schedule. Alex wanted to come a day early. fine. But then he missed a few days, the whole project took 2 days longer than quoted, and he would come late and not acknowledge when we told him that he had to leave. For example, even though we told him several times that he had to leave by 4pm (on a day he was not originally scheduled to work) he was surprised when we were telling him to go.

Moulding: Adequate work, although the joining on the long pieces was not well sanded and the seam is very visible.

Painting: slow slow slow. When you know you have to do two coats in each room (only two large rooms painted) then why would you wait to start? The painter had to come back on random days to do more painting, which upset our schedules. His edges around our windows and trim were not good, he let paint get on our carpet (that's what drapes are for!) and there were many raised bumps of paint. He also did poor corners around our fireplace.

Potlights: Alex cut two holes in the middle of our family room for potlights, and found that there were studs there. I'm not sure why a stud finder was not used. He patched the holes eventually (weeks later), but never sanded or repainted the ceiling in that place. We had lighting installed in three different rooms and when he extended the existing single light switch to double ones two of the holes were cut too large for the cover and he did nothing to fix the issue. The switch boxes were installed on a slant, not square.
When running the line for the potlights to the breaker box in the basement, Alex removed a safety cover in the box, put in the new breaker, and then did not cover the remaining hole with a new safety panel. This is very dangerous to have the wires exposed. This resulted in a lack of certification when the Electrical Safety Authority representative came for his inspection. We notified Alex Mouldings of this issue several times and it took many, many phone calls. Many appointments were made for Alex to come and fix his error. Every single time he either tried to reschedule or simply failed to show up, resulting in myself or my husband having to stay at home for hours, waiting for him to show up. One time when he didn't show, he called us and said that he would come by some time later in the night. We were so upset and angry that we said that as long as it was DONE today, he could come as late as he liked. We went to bed after midnight. Finally, over 2 months after the work was completed, Alex and his coworker Nick finally came back. Eventually a new cover and an extra breaker were added to the panel to cover the hole. The complete lack of integrity and horrible communication from this company has left us cynical of all contractors. How can a business be run this way? Without electrical certification, my home insurance would not have covered us if there was a fire. It was entirely unacceptable. Even after they finally fixed the breaker box, they never called the Electrical Safety Authority to come and do another inspection! We had been waiting and waiting! The ESA inspector (and very nice guy) happened to be in our neighbourhood, called me up and asked if it ever got done and why doesn't he come by to look at it. THAT is service. Take note, Alex Mouldings, and enjoy your various fines.

All in all, I cannot recommend this company to anyone. The absolute frustration of dealing with people who do not call you, do not answer their phone, do not return messages and only finally show up again when you've sent them a letter from a lawyer is overwhelming.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We have time set by ESA to come back to fix issues withing that time frame. If its major safety issue ESA will turn power off/breaker off. empty slot in breaker panel was covered with plastic cap and closed behind a metal cover. Learn the law before sending letter from lawyer.

Aaron  from Toronto
Aaron from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Installed crown moulding and base board

To be honest I was not sure what to expect. I knew I was taking a gamble by using someone I found online and who wasn't referred by a friend. It turned out great. My project is literally that, I've been doing my own work on my 120 year old home and I knw for a fact none of the corners are square. Alex came in did a quick walk through with me and a few hours later the place looked fantastic. I must add I was nervous because I also chose him based on price and the fact he could get the job done almost immediately. He went out of his way to make a few extra details stand out even more without haggling for extra cash. I'll also note it was a fairly small job (120ft) but had a ridiculous amount of corners, 21 to be exact. I knew it was a good sign when my friend/professional painter was impressed by the way Alex filled all the nail holes and caulked, something that is not always the norm in this industry. I will most definitely use Alex again.

Was this review helpful?
Angelica in North york
Angelica in North york
1 review North York, ON

kitchen cabinet

The people that came to my home were very polite and helpful. I am happy with the work that they had done for me. I will definitely suggest them to my neighbors next door that are experiencing the same problems. Thank you, AlexMolding!

Was this review helpful?
Marlett  in Ajax
Marlett in Ajax
1 review AJAX, ON

Crown Moulding Installation

I used this company about 2 years ago to install crown moulding in my home. I was very satisfied with the work done so a week ago when I had another crown moulding project I had no hesitation in calling them again. From the time of the initial contact through to completion today I found the team courteous and professional. I would have no hesitation in hiring them again.

Was this review helpful?
mansoor in East york
mansoor in East york
1 review East York, ON

Crown Moulding

Alex did a great job on crown moulding a few rooms in my house. He charges a really good price and gets the job done on time. He was able to crown mould 3 bedrooms and a family in under 2 days. The team made my old house NEW again. Thanks Alex Moulding :)

Was this review helpful?
olena in Thornhill
olena in Thornhill
1 review THORNHILL, ON

kitchen cabinets

The worth experience ever. I would never recommended, Stay away from them, very unprofessional. My kitchen suppost to be done by March 5,2012, can you believe - it is not ready.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You have contract with different company that made all drawings/designs/arrangements, we just manufactured. Since we didnt get paid at some point we stopped.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Alex Moulding

Alex Moulding is committed to providing our customers with the absolute highest level of service while delivering high-quality craftsmanship in all our designs. We believe that architectural millwork that we specialize such Wainscotings is one of the greatest ways to dress-up the walls, Coffered and Waffle Ceilings are one of ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Moldings / Mouldings pros in Barrie?