Jansz Interiors

Handyman Services
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Jansz Interiors

Average customer rating:
2.7 10 (3 reviews)

Sort by

Teresa in Hamilton
Teresa in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON


I hired Stewart, who was a long time friend to reno my basement of our four level home I bought with daughter, I cashed in some retirement savings to do this, to date the work is still not done, the workmanship of the painting and trim is horrible, he made my floors look worse from his machines, they chipped and when he put trim on he buckled a few instead of fixing right, He took almost 8 months and with him giving every excuse on why he did not finish, and asking for more money up front to pay rent etc. I gave to him in good faith (I know now that I was wrong for doing so), he kept giving me every excuse and other dates and times he would come and no showed, he actually blocked me instead of being a man and so called friend, he now will have to deal with a court case I am in the process of building. Lots of witnesses and messages. DO NOT GIVE HIM MONEY UNTIL 100% satisfied.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
maria in Brampton
maria in Brampton
1 review BRAMPTON, ON

several different projects

Actually I completed disagree with the prior commentary as my experience and my mom's has been relatively positive. I have spent 100's of 1000's of dollars on reno's on my house and cottage. And NO, Stewart was not perfect, and there have been a couple of minor follow ups that needed to be addressed over the years (but they were addressed and I was satisfied). Overall, the experience has been fine. I never expected perfection, just reponsivieness and timely follow up, which both myself, and my mom's project received. In fact, my mom's basement looks amazing. My bathrooms, and my own basement was handled swiftly and with the amount of work I wanted to cover off in my budget.

Stewart has helped me finish projects under budget. He's also made suggestions and gotten creative with projects that have looked really great when they are done. When I couldnt' afford the kind fo counter I wanted, he improvised and made it look like it was costly.

I think in dealing with any contractor, and home based reno, you have to manage your own expectations as a homeowner and be realistic that it may not go completely according to plan. I've used atleast 40 - 50 contractors in my 42 years of owning 5 different properties, and I can honestly say that Stewart is by far one of the better ones. Trust me when I say that the worst ones were so horribly, you would probably be in court dealing with the problem.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Maryanne in Milton
Maryanne in Milton
1 review MILTON, ON

First Review


Basement Reno

We hired Stewart recently to finish our basement, and were sadly disappointed with the experience. We realized that we were expecting a better work ethic, and the frustration we felt towards the end of the project really made us regret our decision to go with him. We have a long list of issues that we can share, but a few that pop to mind include extremely shoddy paint work and finishings, incorrect timelines and expectations, blatantly misleading us on quality of flooring (indicated he would purchase as close to the 14mm laminate we have in the rest of our home, but we now find out he used 10mm, which we did NOT want), etc. (We have taken pictures of all issues, and can share as requested.) He finished the work on a Thursday evening after we went to bed, and we did not get to see the finished product at that point; Friday morning, we realized that there was still a substantial amount to be completed. With him already exceeding our final finish date, which was critical due to work from home timelines, we asked him to come back for 1-2 days to finish all of our last-minute items that we were not happy with, or to cut the price for us to hire someone else. He immediately offered a price cut, which indicates his work ethic at this point. It was only after we took a closer look after he left that we noticed all the issues above had not been resolved.
All in all, we do NOT recommend this contractor, and only now do we realize why he did not provide us with references that we could see in person, but could only reach by phone, leading us to wonder who exactly these people were... Lesson learned.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'm very sorry this client was not happy with their experience with us. There seems to be a few miss-communications that I'd like to clear up. I always openly provide a list of references and personal meetings should be requested directly with my previous clients. Our original contract for the flooring was for Berber carpet which was later changed to laminate. I'm sorry this client wasn't satisfied with the laminate, however samples were provided for approval prior to ordering & installing the material. I worked diligently to preserve the timeline and was only over by 1 day despite many changes the client requested throughout the project. I take pride in working ethically and honestly and was upset to read this review. In this case there are discrepancies between what the client is claiming and what I was contracted to do, so I felt a price cut was the most straightforward way to resolve the issue. I wish them all the best and hope they understand my position in this case.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Handyman Services pros in Milton?