Burl-Oak Landscaping

Interlocking Stone
Burlington ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Basement Renovation
Burl-Oak Landscaping
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

95%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Burl-Oak Landscaping

Average customer rating:
9.5 10 (191 reviews)

Sort by

Lance in Milton
Lance in Milton
1 review MILTON, ON
9/10

Front yard steps and garden

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

stringer after 12.jpg Burl-Oak Landscaping
905 399 7934
Burlington
ON
CANADA

Happy with the overall company. It could have been better. Some details were forgotten and had to be redone. But that was partly our fault. We should have made sure that certain small details were written down on the contract so as not to be overlooked. They of course were taken care of though.
We would recomend them. They do what they say they are going to do. It appears Louay strives to give the client exactally what they are picturing in there heads. Just make sure specifics are also written down so as to not cause delays and headaches on both sides. Other delays are inevitable such as weather etc so patience is needed. As would be with any contractor.
They say they will seal in a year, they do seal in a year !
They say they will repair sinks dips etc, they do !
We are very happy with the job they did. It came out just as I had pictured
it.
No worries as to wether or not they will do what they say/what your paying
for.
They are the real deal !

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thanks for the photos. your review is greatly appreciated.

Kerry in Oakville
Kerry in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
0/10

Front Walkway/Entrance

Don't use. Workmanship is poor, does not stand by his work, only warranties his work for 2 years.... It is unheard of in the landscaping business to warranty ones work for only 2 years. Louay refused to come back to fix the steps that have fallen apart as he barely used any glue or sealing, not to mention he did not create a foundation for the steps. He used a small amount of screening to lay the steps. It's just awful.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Kerry

I am sorry you feel let down. Just a few points though, most landscapers only warranty their work for 2 or 3 years. you can browse around on this website to see i am not exaggerating. It is also written on our quote form, and you would of had to have signed off on it on our contract before agreeing to any work. In the future we will endeavour to drive this point further so there are no surprises.

Secondly we do not use screening (limestone), we use HPB (1/4 inch clear granite), which is a very big difference. Unfortunately we do not warranty glue for beyond 2 years as you had called me almost 4 years after the job was completed. I am sure you can understand why I cannot indefinitely warranty glue, since no matter what brand or how much we use, when water gets between the cap and the stone, and then freezes, it will pop the cap off. We have however come back at least 3 different times to address this issue for you, and find it quite unfair that you mention we never came back.

I understand your frustration with the project. Over time Canadian weather wrecks havoc on everything in this country. Be it a driveway, house foundations and so forth. We are sorry your initial rating of 10 for us has dropped to 0, but we cannot however warranty the work for ever. Have a great summer and I truly hope you fix whatever is wrong with your steps permanently.

elly in Mississauga
elly in Mississauga
4 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

rennovations of the front yard

I just finished rennovating my front yard using Burl-Oak company and was amazed by the level of service, attention to details, follow up phone calls and professionalism. I must say that i am a very demanding customer but I felt very comfortable with Burl-Oak company. They give you an advise but don't push it, they listen to all your requirements and sincrerely want you to like the finished product. if you do not like something they make sure they change it and they always follow up phone calls. I highly recommend them. This is the perfect company who really cares about your needs and also about their brand. I do understand they are very in demand, so if you need the job done I would recommend to call them in advance. Sincerely, Elly

Was this review helpful?
Marianne in Mississauga
Marianne in Mississauga
6 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Interlock patio, steps, and retaining wall including re-use of existing materials

stringer after 12.jpg Burl-Oak Landscaping
905 399 7934
Burlington
ON
CANADA

The scope of the job was extensive, including:

- Replacing an existing set of steps with a new patio area
- Building a new set of steps in a different location for a newly-installed set of patio doors
- Re-designing steps that lead to a pool
- Extending the patio by building a new patio area on the other side of our house, which required escavation and a bit of a retaining wall as a result of the grading of our lot
- Re-building an existing retaining wall, including the installation of a new weepage system to allow for proper drainage

I contacted Burl-Oak after spending six weeks on the quoting process with another landscaping company. Despite several site visits, the first company was only comfortable providing a quote that was conditional at best, with the price depending on a number of noted variables.

I contacted Burl-Oak on July 15. I was immediately impressed by Lou'ay Sulaiman's professionalism. He phoned me within a couple of hours after I sent my e-mail and was honest that Burl-Oak's schedule was full and that they were booking jobs well into the fall. Though we were hoping to complete the job during the summer months, we realized that many landscaping companies were booked and appreciated that Burl-Oak would have been able to squeeze us in at all, and elected to proceed with a quote.

Lou'ay visited our home that night, discussed the particulars (such as the re-use of as much of the existing material as possible to keep costs down), and provided a quote broken down by major aspects of the job within 15 minutes. The quote was very competitive -- 20% less expensive than the best "conditional" quote provided by the first landscaping company we were working with -- and we decided to proceed with the project.

The work took place the first week of November. I've posted an annotated picture of the "before" as well as a few detailing the results. The job took six days and we found Burl-Oak Landscaping to be very professional. Given the scope of the work, we feel we received very good value for money.

Note that the price for the scope of work was tax-inclusive (just under $6900 before taxes -- that includes the last-minute change), and that we were able to achieve that price in part because we re-used as much of the existing material as possible. (e.g., from the sliding door steps, pool steps, and retaining wall).

Burl-Oak did a great job incorporating the new sections into our existing interlock patio and we are very pleased with its transformation. We look forward to enjoying it next summer, and feel that the re-design will makes our backyard more functional. We appreciate the big part Burl-Oak Landscaping played in helping us to achieve our vision, and we would not hesitate to recommend them and use them for our future landscaping needs.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

the before and after photos look amazing. thanks for the great review. Cheers.

P&G IN Missisauga
P&G IN Missisauga
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Flagstone Porch

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

Very pleased with the rebuilding of our flagstone porch. There were some initial concerns at the start of the job but these were dealt with promptly by Louay to our satisfaction. The finished job looks great and was completed with care. The covering of the door sill was unexpected and very much appreciated and gives the entranceway a more polished look. The site was left tidy each night and at the end, including an unexpected raking of leaves. The workers were courteous and pleasant. We would definitely recommend them to others and hope to have our driveway replaced by Burloak in the spring.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thank you for the great review. the photos really bring out the before and after effects of our work. hope you are enjoying the addition we installed. thanks again for the great review.

Louise in Toronto
Louise in Toronto
2 reviews OAKVILLE, ON
10/10

Flagstone Walkway

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

stringer after 12.jpg Burl-Oak Landscaping
905 399 7934
Burlington
ON
CANADA

Burl-Oak Landscaping recently did a job for us replacing a section of flagstone walkway and building a new step. We are very happy with the quality of the work they did. They were very professional, on-budget, and did a thorough clean-up at the end of the job. Lou'ay and his team went the extra mile to ensure we were completely satisfied with the work. We would definitely recommend them to others.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review.

Jerry
Jerry
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Lawn Maintenance

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

stringer after 12.jpg Burl-Oak Landscaping
905 399 7934
Burlington
ON
CANADA

Burl-Oak Landscaping should be your #1 choice in lawn and garden maintenance. Being employed in a job that has me travelling quite a bit, I found myself continually behind in my yard up-keep. The property is also quite large so the task was even more daunting during the short times I had at home. That’s when we contacted Lou’ay and his crew at Burl-Oak. After the first service we knew we had made the right choice. Their attention to detail, professional care and expertise were immediately evident. Coming home after their Friday visits is always a highlight as I know our yard and gardens will be neat and presentable, leaving us the time to entertain and enjoy our time together, rather than spending half of that time tending to the property.

We have already recommended Lou’ay and his crew to many friends and family, and will continue to do so in the future. We recommend them to you as well!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thanks for the great review.

Sharon in Mississauga
Sharon in Mississauga
1 review MISSISSAUGA, ON
10/10

Back patio, side walkway, and garden maitenance

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

We have been using Burloak for nearly 4 years now for gardening and stone work services.

Our gardens are cut weekly and even when it rains on our scheduled day, Lou always calls to advise us of his plan. I have seen his team here early on a Saturday or Sunday to ensure that they meet their customers needs.

Our interlocking and patio work was completed in good time and to an excellent standard,having an instant impact on the appearance of our back garden. Both at a competitive price.

I would have no hesitation recommending Burloak to friends or family.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Its always been a pleasure servicing the this household. They have been loyal customers for many years and am pleased to continue to serve them in the future.

Arina Dunnink in Burlington
Arina Dunnink in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Front Porch and wheel chair ramp

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

stringer after 12.jpg Burl-Oak Landscaping
905 399 7934
Burlington
ON
CANADA

I have had a number of projects completed by Burl-Oak and found all of them to have been done in a very satisfactory manner. I have asked for quotes on various jobs and have received a quick response in writing. All work has been done in a timely manner and, in my opinion, in a very satisfactory way. Their work is very professional and the final result is always well constructed and aesthetically pleasing.

I would most definitely recommend them to anyone who wants an a project, large or small, done in a timely manner.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We have done work for Arina for the past two years. we love spending time at her home, she is very welcoming and friendly, and keeps us well hydrated. I look forward to anything she asks me to do. Doing business with her was a pleasure from the start.

Gerry W in Burlington
Gerry W in Burlington
2 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

Patio,Front and side walk and driveway edges as well as Flagstone front step

stringer after 12.jpg Burl-Oak Landscaping
905 399 7934
Burlington
ON
CANADA

The work was expertly done and extra labour and materials were supplied at no additional cost to us. Some garden landscaping was also provided,evidence that Burloak landscaping was ready to go extra lengths to satisfy

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your review. We had a great time working on your project. it always a pleasure working with someone who is open to ideas from us, the contractor. You placed a great deal of trust in our opinions and we are thrilled that you are happy.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Burl-Oak Landscaping

We are a proffesional Design and Build Landscape Contractor. We service the Western Toronto, From Etobicoke to Hamilton and beyond. We take pride in the work we do, and spend time with each an every potential client to ensure the final outcome meets their expectations. We are not your discount Landscaper, we are meticulous, and set high standards for ourselves.

We offer Landscape Design, Contruction, and Lighting. We take on jobs from as small as walkways to as large as complete backyard makeovers. We have Finished carpenters on staff, so consider us your one stop shop for all your outdoor needs, from decks to interlock patio's, flagstone, to complete outdoor (12v) lighting systems.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Lou'ay & Mark

CATEGORIES
Interlocking Stone, Landscape Contractors & Designers, and Basement Renovation
PRODUCTS
Techo Bloc, Navascape, Unilock, Permacon, Best Way Stone BWS, Rinox, Oaks Pavers
SERVICES
Landscape Design, and Construction. Includes Hardscapes (interlocking Pavers, Flagstone, etc...) and Wood Working (decks, Gazebo's, Pergola's etc...), Speciality Products (fireplaces, Stone BBQ's,) Outdoor Lighting (12v LED based lighting system) Basement and bathroom renovations and interior construction December to April
BRANDS
Unilock, Oaks Pavers, Hanson Hardscapes, Permacon, Techobloc, Banas Stone (india Stone Flagstone), Wiarton Flagstone and more.
STYLES
Modern, Antique, Classic, Post modern, Contemporary
SPECIALITIES
Interlocking, Flagstone, and Wood working (Finished Carpentry)
WEBSITE
http://www.burloaklandscaping.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2008
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
12
RETURN POLICY
N/A
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Cash (HST still applied), VISA, MasterCard, American Express, Debit, Financing
LICENSES
ICPI certification
MEMBERSHIPS
CNLA LO. (LAndscape Ontario) ICPI (Interlock concrete paving institute)
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
Please call to discuss any details
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
Every project is unique
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
2 year workmanship warranty. Ask us about how you can get an additional 12 month warranty.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.