Picket Fence

Fences & Gates
Milton ON L9T 0W9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

77%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Picket Fence

Average customer rating:
8.4 10 (18 reviews)

Sort by

Jeff Dee
Jeff Dee
2 reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Fence installation and aftercare support

After researching and shortlisting a few fence contractors, we decided on supporting local and went with Picket Fence for my backyard fence along with a couple of my neighbors who are all connected to the fence. Communication with Frank was great, and if I couldn't get him on the phone immediately, he'd be sure to contact me back in a timely matter. Our project was completed in a timely fashion, and now after a few seasons, the fence is as sturdy as day one, and still looks great.

UPDATE -
I called up Frank about advice on getting a certain repair, and to get quote on getting it fixed. Nothing workmanship-related, but more so about some wear that was causing an issue with our gate latch. He took time to explain what the issue is and how I can go about fixing it myself. Not exactly something I had the time or tools to do. Long story short, he opted to take a look at it, and just ended up fixing it for me as well. Now that's aftercare support! Thank you Frank.

Was this review helpful?
JBCII
JBCII
3 reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Picket Fence Highly Recommended

Frank and his team from Picket Fence recently replaced a fence I share with a neighbour. In less than a day, the team took down the old 75-foot pine fence and replaced it with a cedar enclosure. Their work was high quality, reasonably priced and timely. If you want to see a great example of their work, contact me to drop by a take a look. I highly recommend Picket Fence!

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Post replacement

I couldn't be happier with Picket Fence Co - Called Frank up and he was straight forward with me. He said he may be able to fix it sooner than later, most likely by next week. Received an email from him 3 days after, indicating that the post had been replaced and he left no traces of evidence that he was even there. Workmanship was 10/10, his cost was more than reasonable. Frank was more than a super nice guy, he was honest. You're gonna get the odd person who may not agree, but this experience was well worth it. Thank you for your services!!!

Was this review helpful?
Chris in Milton in Milton
Chris in Milton in Milton
2 reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Remove 30 year old falling down fence 120' and rebuild with gates

Frank and the guys did a fantastic job had the old fence down in hours and all new posts in on the first day. Very friendly and courteous work so fast but quality workmanship no nonsense attitude. Had the new fence up and gates installed in just over two days remarkable so very pleased with the new fence thanks Frank and the Guys. Highly Recommend.

Was this review helpful?
SBreton in Oakville
SBreton in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Backyard/Pool Fence

Frank was a pleasure with whom to work and was so accommodating as the fence installation was part of a large backyard/pool renovation project. His workmanship was second to none and we would highly recommend Picket Fence Co!

Was this review helpful?
Kevin in Toronto
Kevin in Toronto
1 review Milton, ON
1/10

Fence

Had a portion of my fence replaced by Frank. The fence looks decent, although the posts are splitting after only a few weeks. Frank was extremely rude to me for no reason when I called to ask a couple questions and told him that he broke one of my patio stones (which he tried to deny even though I have before and after photos). He started yelling at me on the phone! I need to get the rest of the fence done, but I will be calling someone else!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

You are from the same group as Jess A below. Unfortunately these couple of homeowners tried to play me with paying and lies on the this site. I built these peoples fence in april and yet still they are on the attack 2 months later.
I never once yelled at you. I did say I did not break the stone and I still discounted the bill anyways to keep you happy. You also asked me to do a couple other things as well and I did. But I guess no mention of that.

I have a tremendous following and great customers but always a few want to try to destroy what took 17yrs plus to build. Sorry to hear your shear disappointment but I did everything that was asked and then some.
The one thing both have said is that the fence is good. Yes the posts split but that is wood. Go to home depot and you will see the same thing.

Robert McIntoshl9t8c5 from Milton
Robert McIntoshl9t8c5 from Milton
2 reviews Milton, ON

First Review

10/10

Frank and team did the work on time, on budget, great quality.

I had Picket Fence complete my fence and install a gate with cutout. Frank has a no nonsense style and quoted me a fantastic price. The work was done on time and on budget and they cleaned up any mess. I literally came home from work to a beautiful new fence and gate.

Thank you Frank and team!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks rob was a pleasure working for you

neo905 in London
neo905 in London
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

Fence

We had Frank quote on a fence for our back fence. We had several quotes and Frank's was the most competitive. His crew took great care on my property and removed all the debris that was left over. We had some weather delays because of all the rain we have been getting but that is to be expected when you need to set posts. That said, the work was still done in a timely fashion. We are very pleased with the final result and will have Frank and his crew back in the Fall to replace the rest of the old fencing.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words and looking forward to finishing the rest or your project

Jess A. in
Jess A. in
1 review Milton, ON
2/10

Terrible Experience, OK fence

Price was right and timeline was good. We had less than 12 hours heads up the project was beginning though. All our neighbors have dogs so it was an inconvenience to go knocking on doors at 6:00 am to let them know. We were told 2-3 days tops to complete it and in those first few days, little progress was made. He did manage to get into a fight with one of his employees and fire him on the spot (according to my neighbor). Lots of daytime profanity and yelling in a tight knit backyard didn't make us the popular neighbors. We never once heard from Frank regarding progress or completion date. He then went on vacation over a long weekend and turned 3 days off into 5. Project went 11 days with little to no communication.

We voiced our frustrations because our backyard was left wide open over a long weekend (actually 5 days). When we found out he was on vacation we were livid as we were never told. Frank decided to argue aggressively that he 'told everyone he knew' (which he didn't). The fact that he didn't check in before he left our backyard incomplete over the weekend was ridiculous as well. Basically zero communication unless he was yelling at us. Decided to bill us immediately and tell us he was coming to pick up his money in 3 days. When he came, we told him he would have it within 2 weeks (as we had NUMEROUS issues and complaints from our neighbors). He freaked out and started screaming and threatening us at our own front door. REALLY PROFESSIONAL. He made a scene in front of all our neighbors because we told him he wasn't getting paid until it was done correctly.

He also left our new fence unattached to the neighbors beside us. Left a foot gap in between 2 of our neighbors backyards and they have animals. See the picture I posted. The boards on the end of the post WEREN'T there to close the gap between the new fence and the old. We had to have him come back and fix it. I think it was and afterthought and it wasn't done correctly to begin with. It was just patched (embarrassingly) in the end and we decided to pay him to get rid of him. I would not recommend this guy to our worst enemy.

If you for some reason to choose to go with this guy, make sure he places the timeline on your quote, so you have something physical to show him when he yells at you. Also make sure all your neighbors are good for the money immediately, as he said he would bill our neighbors directly but he didn't. We handed them out and collected ourselves, which wasn't what was 'advertised' in the beginning.

Overall, this guy is an unprofessional, ignorant know-it-all with no customer service skills at all. If you want someone to throw a temper tantrum when you tell them what they've done wrong or come up short on, he's your guy! Spend the extra money and hire elsewhere.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This review unfortunatley does not carry what the true process was. Timelines are made up and stories have been greatly exaggerated.

I have over 30 emails with this customer to show and support this job and its on going communications and steps along with 6 or 7 phone calls.

Please look at the other reviews and also on milton talks and hawthorne villager for a true interpretation of my company.

Thank you

Jonathan in Georgetown
Jonathan in Georgetown
1 review Halton Hills, ON
10/10

Fence

Frank and his crew were extremely professional and hard working with great workmanship and detail.
If you're looking to hire someone to install a fence, this is definitely the company you want to hire.
We could not be happier with our decision.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Johnathon. It was a pleasure working with you and your neighbors.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Fences & Gates pros in Milton?