Gutter Doctor

Gutters & Eavestroughs
305 4625 Varsity Drive NW Calgary AB T3A 0X9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Gutter Doctor

Average customer rating:
8.9 10 (124 reviews)

Sort by

Valerie Forsyth from Calgary
Valerie Forsyth from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB

Eavestrough cleaning and repairs

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

On Saturday September 29 we had our eaves cleaned and repaired by Gutter Doctor and we are writing to let you know what a wonderful employee you have in "Moe" (Mahmoud - spelling?). In these times of labor shortage good workers are hard to find, hard to keep and are seldom appreciated and recognized by their employers. We just wanted you to know what an exemplary worker you have in Moe. Thoughtful, polite and meticulous are just a few of the traits that come immediately to mind.

Would we used Gutter Doctor again? ABSOLUTELY if Moe were once again the representative of your company that you send! He is just great!

Was this review helpful?
DA from Calgary
DA from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB

caulk, unplug downspout, splash guard, connecting downspout into gutter

Jenner came out to give me an estimate. First mistake was not getting a written estimate (their web page says honest). We required a gutter to be caulked, 1 downspout to be unplugged, 2 splash guards, and a connection to be made into another gutter. The cost 200.00. When he came to do the work, we were away for the weekend. Jenner came on the weekend which was impressive, but he did not complete the work to what we had discussed. A splash guard was not installed, and the connection was not done to what we had talked about. However, the connection did work, so I was willing to let that go. I phoned and talked to the office person who informed me that splash guards cost 40.00. She took my number to have Jenner phone, but he never did. Two months later I get a call asking why I did not pay the bill. I responded that the job was not finished. Jenner came out and the price changed on the splash guard to 50.00. Also, the caulking required 2 screws and a line of caulk for 50.00. Unplugging the downspout was 50.00 dollars. Connecting the other downspout required a 3 inch piece and 2 screws for 50.00. So it seems that any work you have done is an automatic 50.00 base price, which they do not tell you when they come. I am going to pay the bill because I only have myself to blame for not getting a written estimate. Lesson learned. I will never give this company a recommendation to anyone. BEWARE-get a written estimate...50.00 for 2 screws and a line of caulk??? 50.00 dollars for a 3 inch piece and 2 screws??? Which according to Jenner they do not even charge for the 3 inch piece because I offered up a piece that we had here. So 50.00 dollars for 2 screws??? Price change from phone to in person??? 50.00 for unplugging 1 downspout???
Update: Gutter Doctor has graciously installed another splash guard no charge. I still recommend a written estimate so that there are no misunderstandings.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This complaint has been resolved.

neil allen in De winton
neil allen in De winton
1 review DE WINTON, AB

Gutter cleaning and replace down pipes

Had a very basic cleaning and replacement of 4 downpipes. Thought the quote was very high but proceeded anyway as I was busy travelling for work. I could not believe the mess that these guys made and damage to my patio furniture. The absolute worst contractors that I have ever had the misfortune to deal with. I cannot recommend these clowns to anyone. I have photographs of damage and poor workmanship if anyone is interested. I had to refit the down pipes myself and spent 4 hours cleaning up garbage and crap left by them.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

We did not receive a call from this customer about the work he speaks of. The work was done in May 2011. Even when the bill became overdue and we left messages and sent notices, the customer did not respond. We are sad that we were not given a chance to fix up what may or may not have happened out there. We take pride in our work. Why did the customer pay in full and make this complaint 8 months after the job was done?

dhc in Calgary
dhc in Calgary
6 reviews Calgary, AB

First Review


gutter cleaning

Mom’s house was going on 30 years old and the eavestrough gutters had never been thoroughly cleaned. Oh sure, every few summers we’d aim a garden hose at a few reachable gutters and hoped for the best, but even then we could never touch the second storey levels. So when some of the eavestroughs on the windy southwest corner started to sag (the nails had gradually lost their moorings after being battered by 30 years of Chinooks), we decided it was time kill several birds with one stone: get a professional to review, repair, and flush all the gutters, top to bottom. Somehow the Gutter Doctor anticipated our need; late that summer we got a flyer in the mail and that piqued our interest. We called them up and a few days later a fellow came out and spent the whole day cleaning and reinforcing the entire eavestrough system. He even found a couple of abandoned robin’s nests hidden high up out of sight and removed them (apparently they were causing a mess on the roofs). Besides being a friendly guy, we appreciated that he didn’t ask to use mom’s washroom but instead went out for lunch and bathroom breaks elsewhere (mom lives on her own and isn’t too keen on strangers in her house when she’s by herself). It was $550 well spent – we figure we’re good for another 30 years!

Was this review helpful?
J K in Calgary
J K in Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB

clean gutters and roof, trim branches, replace gutter

We often have a build up of fir needles and cones on our almost flat garage roof and near by gutters.
The build up has been effciently removed two years in a row by Gutter Doctor. As well this time he removed some of the overhanging branches and installed new gutters.
We are very happy with the results.

Was this review helpful?
Mccosh in SW Calgary
Mccosh in SW Calgary
12 reviews Calgary, AB

First Review


installed eves trough spouts

  Gutter Doctor
305 4625 Varsity Drive NW
T3A 0X9

The company installed 2 down spouts off our eves troughs, to allow more places for water to drain off our flat tar and gravel roof. They were courteous, and cleaned up well. I was especially happy that they checked with me a few times during the installation process to get my opinion on specifics--both aesthetically and functioning-wise. I would use them again.

Was this review helpful?
AJ in Varsity
AJ in Varsity
7 reviews Calgary, AB

adjusting eavestroughs

A contractor friend recommended this company to me. My eavestroughs were not draining properly and during heavy rain, the eavestroughs were overflowing and dripping down on my steps to the patio. This was not good for my basement getting all this water in one spot. Also in winter, ice would build up on my steps. Jenner was the service man and made the necessary adjustments and the problem went away so my wife is very pleased that the water is not running on the steps (no rot on steps and no ice in winter)

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Gutter Doctor

Serving Calgary and Edmonton, Gutter Doctor is one of Alberta's best home exterior service providers. For over 15 years and 20,000 projects our friendly technicians have been getting the job done right - and it's always guaranteed! We proudly offer a 5-year guarantee on installations and 2-year guarantee on repairs. We carry full liability insurance and WCB. You can trust us to care for your property like it is our own!

EAVESTROUGH & DOWNSPOUT cleaning, repairs & installation of 5" or 6" seamless gutter
FASCIA & SOFFIT repairs & installation
VINYL SIDING repairs & installation
CLADDING of windows & doors, etc
ROOF repairs & installation

-Residential | Housing complexes | Industrial buildings
-A+ rated BBB Member
-Consumer Choice Award Winner
-Reader's Choice Award Winner
-Top Choice Award Winner
-Best of TrustedPros Winner
-Best of Homestars Winner
-$2 million liability insurance and WCB

Calgary 403-714-0711
Edmonton 780-709-6825

Please be aware that Homestars has given us a poorer rating than we deserve ONLY because some customers have removed their reviews. We rarely receive a poor review but when we do we always work to solve customer's complaint and a few customers have removed their poor reviews once we fixed the problem. Homestars considers a removed review to be worse than a bad review and this pulls down our rating!

Gutters & Eavestroughs, Window & Gutter Cleaning, and Roofing
Eavestrough, downspouts, gutters, fascia, soffit, flashing, drip-edge, siding, roofing, cladding, capping, veneer
- Installation, repairs, and cleaning of gutters and downspouts. - 5" and 6" seamless gutter. - Siding, cladding, and roofing.
All brands
All styles
Home exteriors
Cheque, eTransfer, Credit Card (2.9% fee)
City business license
5 years for installations. 2 years for repairs. Downspouts guaranteed free running after a cleaning.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.