JMH Canada

Basement Renovation
Mississauga ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

75%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for JMH Canada

Average customer rating:
8.3 10 (19 reviews)

Sort by

Vincent in Mississauga
Vincent in Mississauga
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
1/10

Bathroom Reno From Hell

I would like to start by saying that this bathroom renovation was done 5 years ago, and we have had a chance to live with the lack of workmanship, skill and care provided by JMH Canada over that period of time. I was not going to write a review because I wanted to put the whole terrible experience behind me, but I felt compelled to share my experience with those looking a contractor.

We hired Mark and JMH Canada to do a complete gut of our main second floor bathroom. At the time of our initial meeting, I stated that there were two main things out of the whole scope of work that I needed to have "perfect", and if he could not do it, I would be happy and willing to hire a specialized trade to complete that part of the work. The two things were to fix all of the plumbing issues properly and the tile installation in the shower and bathroom floor has to be near perfect. Mark said that he would be able to do both these things perfectly, as well as everything else.

Not to get into every detail of everything that went wrong, and that was pretty much everything, the tile and plumbing work was abysmal.

TUB SURROUND TILING: Mark had installed the marble tile in the tub surround. The tiles on the adjacent walls did not line up with the main wall (it is a horizontal linear tile pattern). I looked at it that evening and mentioned it did not look right the next morning. He completely agreed and ripped it all down and started over again. In the process of taking the tile off the semi hardened thin set, some of the marble tiles got chipped and damaged. He reused them anyway so that he did not have to pay for replacement tiles and we are now living with it. And because the thin set was almost hardened underneath the tile, there was no longer a nice new, smooth surface for the tile to be reinstalled on top of. So our tile in the tub surround is lumpy with uneven edges.

FLOOR TILE: We decided to splurge and go with a heated floor. After seeing the work that was done around the tub, I sat down with Mark a second time to reiterate that I wanted high quality tile work on the floor. I mentioned that the tile I purchased is very expensive, and the installation of a herringbone pattern was more difficult than a standard floor. And I was willing to spend more money on a tile specialist to lay the floor. He assured me that it was not going to be an issue as he had a good tile guy. His tile installer came a few days later and installed the heated floor cable, then poured the self levelling concrete. During this process, he found that one of the cables was not sitting below the level of the concrete so he took his staple gun and stapled it down into the wet concrete ... blind. I was watching him do this, but I figured he was a professional and he knew what he was doing. In the process of installation, he made a mess all over the walls in our hallway and basement, and then he decided to dump the extra concrete down our sink to clean his bucket!!! Obviously, that ended up messing up the plumbing in our sink, and I ended up replacing the section of plumbing where the concrete hardened. I never bothered to mention it to Mark because after all that has gone wrong, I just wanted them out of my house. Normally, after installing the concrete over a heat floor, the electrician would come to connect the heated floor to make sure it was working before installing the floor tile. Of course this was not done. So the tiler came a couple of days later to tile the floor. Made a mess again, but did a nice job with the tiling. No uneven edges, the floor was smooth and level. A couple of days later the electrician came to hook up the floor. He discovered that there was no connection and that there was a cut somewhere in the cable. Surprise surprise. I told Mark, he completely agreed to fix the mistake without argument. So up comes all the tile, the concrete, and the heated floor cable. Approximately 5 more weeks go by before we get Mark to come back with the new heated floor cables and finish the job. Mark had to repair part of the subfloor that was damaged during the demolition of the first flooring installation. When he was done with the repair, I inspected it and when I stepped on that section, there was a bit of give to it. I mentioned it to Mark, but he said that it will be nice and solid once the concrete goes down. I shouldn't have believed him, but I just let it go. Big mistake. Mark decided to tile the floor himself, and as expected, made a gigantic mess of it. The tiles are uneven, there are corners that are sticking up (where we are constantly jamming our bare feet into), and other areas where the corners are dipping down. At this point I just paid him and wanted him to get out of our house. After 6 months, the grout started to break up and fall out because the floor is flexing in the aforementioned area! Now after 5 years, 50% of the grout has chipped away and 25% of the tiles are crunching and moving beneath our feet. We are now avoiding walking in centre of our bathroom because we do not want to crack a tile. I have been doing some online research to see if there is any fix for this, short of ripping up the entire floor for a third time. There isn't. So now we are looking at another $4000-$5000 in labor and materials to fix this disaster.

There are so many other things that went wrong with this renovation, I could go on and on. If you want to know about them, feel free to contact me. Otherwise, I do NOT recommend using JMH Canada.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It is unfortunate that you feel this way and did not contact JMH Canada regarding your concerns. From your previous review you rated us an 8. I'm not sure what has happened in the 5 year term. I am in hopes that you find a suitable contractor for your future projects

Chris from Toronto
Chris from Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Basement lowering

Sad to say we would not recommend this company to friends, family, or complete strangers.
When hiring JMH we were told that they only use sub-contractors they know and trust. However after the fact it seemed that they did not know the sub-contractor well at all.
Our contract was with JMH however they have taken no accountability for issues and have consistently directed blame to the sub-contractors that THEY hired.
All stages of the process were to be inspected by an inspector and/or engineer and signed off on. That did not happen.
JMH could not prove that they used a licensed plumber (when it was in our contract that all trades used would be fully licensed). They actually poured the concrete floor without getting the plumbing underneath inspected. Speaking of concrete, the floor they poured is so uneven that we will need to do some major work and incur significant costs in order to simply get the floor level and even so that we can lay flooring.
We were left without a basement window for months during the winter while being promised that it was on the way. We understand some waiting time for a window, but months is unacceptable.
There was minimal cleaning done at the end of the job and our neighbours house was a mess on the side as well (not to mention the fight the workers got into with our neighbours).
We won't get into all the details here but there were many additional things that made this a horrible experience.

Please feel free to contact me if you would like more details..

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Unfortunately under certain circumstances we are unable to please all home owners and we wish this homeowner the best!

Vicky M from Toronto
Vicky M from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

kitchen backsplash

We had JMH install a glass tile backsplash in our kitchen. Hector did a fantastic job on the installation-we just love the results. He was on time for the job and left our place clean and free of any debris. We would use them again for larger renovations and would recommend them to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Vicky Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with JMH CANADA follow us on facebook

sheila g in Toronto
sheila g in Toronto
20 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Basement Renovation

A first rate job from start to finish. JMH just completed a renovation of my basement. Mark is an amazing contractor - his bid was the most competitive out of five people. Mark always delivers on every promise. I was amazed at how clean the job was every single day. The disruption was minimal, I am so pleased with the reno. I will definitely use JMH for any future work and I would HIGHLY recommend JMH - reliable, great value, flexible and responsive - everything I wanted in a contractor. Great job!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your response share your experiences will help new customers have a feel of our business.

Daisy Weymans in Mississauga
Daisy Weymans in Mississauga
2 reviews MISSISSAUGA, ON
0/10

Stair rail installation

This company did an unsafe and unprofessional job and didn't even have the professionalism to review the job once complete (after numerous phone calls).

Mark, from the company, came to quote the job which was to install a stair rail with the newel posts, pillars and stair rail supplied buy us. He saw the tools he had to work with and the situation. He confirmed the $650 cost (with $100 upfront payment) and confirmed they would install it so it was safe and professionally done. He even stated he would put his best guy on it.

Well, first day came, and they did the first part of the job (first stairs) and it was done horribly. The newel posts weren't stable and not at all level. The pillars were not leveled and turned in different directions making it look very sloppy. The stair rail was not straight - when standing in front of it, you can see it is not lined at all. We voiced our concerns to which point they listened. Mark came the next morning and redone the job. It looked a lot better but still not professional.

The second part of the job was finished the following day. What should have been the easiest part of the job they managed to look very unprofessional and made me really look into the quality of their work. First off the newel post is very unstable (making it unsafe). We needed to install a baby gate for our 11 month old daughter who is now walking. When installing the gate, the post is so unstable that the gate will not even close. We are very concerned about her safety with the job that was done. Second, the rail going from the newel post is not level and not in line. Third, the railing on this portion is only attached by a small bracket and two screws. This is not how a professional job should be and not what I would expect from a company that assured me a professional job.

With all these concerns, we wanted to talk to Mark first before paying, as he had promised to come by after the work was done to evaluate, which never happened. After 2 weeks we finally received a phone call from Mark's assistant wanting to know if we were satisfied - we discussed all our concerns and he said that Mark would call us. Well we never received a call. We tried calling him ourselves a few times and left messages, but nothing. Then, as a final attempt we sent an email out stating our concerns. We also stated that we would post this review but would liked to avoid doing so. We received a nice standard email back saying they would contact us within 48 hours. It has been a week now and we have received nothing.

This company is horrible, delivering a very unsafe and unprofessional job. We were told that we were a little more picky than there other customers. If you are a customer that is looking for a professional job I would be weary. In the end, they didn't collect the rest of the money for the job, but just hoped to walk away and have this issue disappear. Unfortunately, running doesn't work. DO NOT USE THEM!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Kara Bauer from Brampton
Kara Bauer from Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
10/10

Painting

JMH did a wonderful job painting our condo. They not only did a great job with the painting, they cleaned up after themselves every day (it was like they were not even there). I would without hesitation recommend JMH Canada.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Masuma in Mississauga
Masuma in Mississauga
3 reviews MISSISSAUGA, ON
10/10

Bathroom Renovation

We hired JMH to renovate our bathroom. We are extremely satisfied with all the work done by the company. Mark was always available to answer questions, even after the project was completed.
Masuma

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Jon in Toronto
Jon in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
9/10

Bathroom Renovation

Mark and his team did a great job on our bathroom renovation. We were getting rid of the shower cubicle and standard tub and fitting a soaker tub and double vanity as well as installing a Toto Washlet to replace our existing toilet.
The team were generally on time but if they were going to be late, they would call ahead and let us know, we also liked the fact that the team were all in uniform.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Heather and Rob Frederick in Burlington
Heather and Rob Frederick in Burlington
1 review BURLINGTON, ON
10/10

Basement Bedroom, Play Room and Laundry Room

From the moment we met Mark and sat down to go over our project wishes, we knew we had picked an excellent company and people! Mark and his staff are so professional, courteous, and reliable. We are so impressed with our basement and it has made our house so much more spacious as well. Any problems or issues along the way were always dealt with immediately. Mark was always happy to help in making decisions or giving us suggestions. We are confident that you will LOVE the work that Mark and his staff do and we would highly recommend JMH Canada!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Steve in Toronto
Steve in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen Backsplash & Misc.

We recently hired JMH Canada to install our kitchen backsplash, baseboards, and to repair a few holes in the ceiling. Mark and Scott arrived on time, completed the tasks efficiently and to a high degree of quality, and removed all garbage once the work was completed.  They answered all of our questions during the install, took the necessary precautions to protect our investmen, and even provided suggestions to enhance the appearance of the final product. Mark and his team have been a pleasure to work with and we will definitely hire them again for any/all of our renovation needs. 

Was this review helpful? Yes No
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about JMH Canada

At JMH Canada we have been specializing in Basement Renovation and Bathroom Renovation Contractors for over 5 years. all of our work is covered for 2 years. Renovating your bathroom or basement is an important decision this is why we ensure everything is reviewed and detailed as ensure your dream ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Basement Renovation pros in Mississauga?