Ostaco Windows and Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

55%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Ostaco Windows and Doors

Average customer rating:
5.8 10 (23 reviews)

Sort by

brian  in Jasper
brian in Jasper
1 review Jasper, AB
1/10

new home build

right off the truck all the windows and doors were wrapped in cardboard for transportation but they used staples into my black brick moulding.Every window and door has white holes all over brick moulding.They gave me touch up paint.The door hardware is very cheap .I haven't even moved in and i'm looking at replacing them.The front door will not close to lock properly,i can only lock it from the inside with all my weight on the door.I did have broken brickmoulding on 1door,1 window and they sent me new ones so that was good .These are a very fragile product.typical 2 star company acting like there 5.They are not Pella thats for sure

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Brian, Ostaco Windows and Doors has recently come under new management.

We at Ostaco appreciate your business, and look forward to addressing any outstanding customer satisfaction issues.

I have taken the initiative to reach out to your dealer, True North Log Homes, and I would appreciate it if you could to contact me directly, 905 660 5021 ext. 320.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to speaking with you.

Private User
Private User
1 review Meaford, ON
1/10

Ostaco Windows and Doors

Order all new windows and three new doors (side panel, sliding and french). All products look great but there was a problem with the slab on one French door and door would not close properly without your full body weight against it. Told them on install (Oct 2015) there was a problem. Took months before they sent their man out, he adjust and adjust and said "that's the best I can do", but it still didn't shut properly. Fought through the contractor and they eventually agreed to a replace door. They replaced door but it is a different colour to the other half of the french door (I was not home day of install - Nov 2016). Agreed to replace door again - we said replace both doors so the colour is the same - no they just want to replace one. They were supposed come today but now say it will not be till March 2017 - I'll place a bet that when it arrives it will a different colour to the two I already have and we will be in the same position. After purchase service and Customer service is terrible - I am happy with the other windows and doors but can't believe their attitude - agree with others - buyer beware!!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Ostaco Windows and Doors has recently come under new management.

We at Ostaco appreciate your past business, and we want to address any outstanding customer satisfaction issues.

In order to address your situation properly we will require further information.
Please forward any and all info to, [email protected] Please put in subject line,"HOMESTARS REVIEW".

If you have any further questions or concerns please contact me directly, 905 660 5021 ext. 320.

Thank you for your time.

Frank Calandrino from Old Toronto
Frank Calandrino from Old Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Dont buy this brand.

Windows are falling apart and apparently according to ostaco customer service their windows need maintenance like a car. Lol.

They want me to pay for service call every time a part falls off.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Frank, Ostaco Windows and Doors has recently come under new management. We value your business, and we are diligently addressing any outstanding customer satisfaction issues.

I have spoken with my service department regarding your service request, and I am happy to see that my service tech will be on site June 27, 2017 to resolve the issue.

If you have any questions or concerns please contact me directly, 905 660 5021 ext. 320.

Thank you for your time.

Ian in Hamilton
Ian in Hamilton
1 review Thorold, ON
0/10

Garbage product and useless warranty.

We purchased all new windows and doors for the new home we were having built. Since the day we moved in they have been nothing but garbage. Every double hung window leaks air terribly and the pivot pins that allow you to tilt in each sash to clean the glass keep snapping off. Now none of the windows can be safely opened and we have exhausted the supply of parts left for us. The french doors leak and fit like junk and the sliding screen have fallen apart. Their technician came at least 4 times over the years to keep repairing the same problems over and over and even went so far as to leave us with a bag of replacement parts to fix thing ourselves. Lots of faith in the product obviously! Screwed by this company who now will not honor the lifetime warranty and try to deny that they were even here 4 times for repairs. They now claim they will not honor the lifetime warranty and that I will have to fight it out with our contractor. Good luck with that as he has never come back to resolve all the other issues with the house he built for us. I would never recommend this company to anyone!! I will call one more time to have these replaced (NOT REPAIRED AGAIN) and if no solution is arranged the next calls will be to the Better Business Bureau and others plus a lawyer. It has cost us so much grief and expense in heating bills. This house is not sellable until these windows and doors are replaced with a decent reliable product!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Ian,

Ostaco Windows and Doors has recently come under new management.

We at Ostaco appreciate your past business, and we want to address any outstanding customer satisfaction issues.

In order to address your situation properly we will require further information.
Please forward any and all info to, [email protected] Please put in subject line,"HOMESTARS REVIEW".

If you have any further questions or concerns please contact me directly, 905 660 5021 ext. 320.

Thank you for your time.

Private User
Private User
1 review Winnipeg, MB
0/10

Window Failures

We had 5 Ostaco windows installed. In the first 4 years we have had 4 warranty claims. Two windows had glass replaced because the seals popped (I had to pay the labour cost of about $200) and two windows had rusting hardware replaced (no cost to me). Although the company that sold us the windows has been great to deal with (and I may buy from them again) I am not impressed with the Ostaco product and will not buy that product again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Ostaco Windows and Doors has recently come under new management.

We at Ostaco appreciate your past business, and we want to address any outstanding customer satisfaction issues.

In order to address your situation properly we will require further information.
Please forward any and all info to, [email protected] Please put in subject line,"HOMESTARS REVIEW".

If you have any further questions or concerns please contact me directly, 905 660 5021 ext. 320.

Thank you for your time.

Private User
Private User
1 review Barry's Bay, ON
0/10

Garden door replacements

Had two sets of garden doors installed, each door has sash windows - (product and installation recommend by friend) August 2012. Immediately noted gaps at the bottom of the windows where the screen meets frame. Told this was for water drainage which doesn't make sense - never saw this in any other window or door before. Had to stuff Sticky Tac in spaces to keep bugs out. Left the matter until May of 2013 when I contacted the installer to point out that the holes were unacceptable and in addition, have realized that the screens do not fit correctly leaving gaps along the sides of the screens. The screens are useless in their current state. Installer passed me off to the local sales rep. Sales rep didn't come out to look until July and didn't have any real answers. Suggested extra clips to make the screens fit tighter, but had no advice on bottom gaps. Took 6 weeks to get the clips which could not be used - the frames have to have special cuts for the clips. Emailed the rep that the problem still existed and sent pictures for her to pass on to the factory. Never heard back. I regret that I have not been more aggressive in following up on the problem, but I did begin the process on the day of installation.
So.. have contacted the company and am hoping to get some satisfaction - will update this review when there is something new to report.
In the meantime - not impressed with the product or the customer service.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello,

Ostaco Windows and Doors has recently come under new management.

We at Ostaco appreciate your past business, and we want to address any outstanding customer satisfaction issues.

In order to address your situation properly we will require further information.
Please forward any and all info to, [email protected] Please put in subject line,"HOMESTARS REVIEW".

If you have any further questions or concerns please contact me directly, 905 660 5021 ext. 320.

Thank you for your time.

Ruth from Unionville
Ruth from Unionville
1 review Markham, ON
6/10

window replace

I have modified my review based on a site visit by the president to understand the performance issues with the windows and his word to work towards a solution that would meet our needs and expectations of premiun/quality windows. I am confident that we will find a solution here as the president seemed very concerned and interested in addressing the issues. I will update this further once the matter is resolved.

Review has 1 previous version
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This is truly unfortunate. We have the utmost of integrity and are known for our quality and professionalism. As president and owner I would personally like to come and visit your home. . I must understand why this is happening which is very very odd to say the least. Often times this could be the result of poor installation. .Our windows are fully tested and In fact surpass by far the minimum requirement s. I would like your phone number so that I may contact you. Once again we will find out why this is happening and offer solutions. Thanks kindly. My name is Jon Martini President.

ballwasher from Newmarket
ballwasher from Newmarket
6 reviews Newmarket, ON
10/10

Window replacement

Windows are perfect, install was great everything done on time with only a couple of minor adjustments done right away. The openers are excellent and we already feel a difference in warmth with a minus 9 November day with 50 Km. winds.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Karen from Burlington
Karen from Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
0/10

New windows (whole house)

In Nov. 2011 we had all the windows in our home replaced with Ostaco windows. We purchased them through a reputable dealer who has been in the window & door business for over 20 years. We have no complaints about them - the windows were installed by a professional team who did a great job & Tony (the owner of Home Decor Toronto Window & Door Centre) was & still is awesome to deal with. The windows are beautiful & very functional.

Here is the sad kicker about Ostaco........We have found out how unprofessional they are when it comes to customer service & warranty.
In Nov. 2012, on a gorgeous warm summer-like day I decided to clean the windows before winter set in. When I pulled out the panes of the long, narrow triple slider, I was shocked to see the glass had a fracture / crack in it. You cannot see this when the window is installed because of the privacy glass. I took pictures & e-mailed them to Tony who promptly contacted Ostaco to get this replaced. He agreed it was a warranty issue (defective glass) due to the position of the crack. Plus the window is up high on the 2nd level, sheltered under the overhang of the roof. He informed me to expect a call from Ostaco in the next 4 - 6 weeks to get the replacement pane installed.
By the middle of Jan. 2013 I still hadn't heard from anyone so I contacted Tony again. Long story short, Tony got nowhere with them in 6 weeks so I offered to contact them myself.
On Mar. 7/13 I started contact with them via e-mail......in two weeks I have gotten NOWHERE with them......Diane (warranty & customer service person) keeps telling me I need to speak to the sales rep - why the sales rep? I am not buying this pane.....She says because that's what management told her, and that's that. It is now Mar. 21/13 so 4 months after discovering my cracked defective window, 2 months Tony chasing them & now two weeks of contact with Ostaco myself - I have gotten NOWHERE. I completely believe & understand Tony's frustration with this company & understand why he is no longer carrying their product - I have experienced it myself. No one has been in touch with me other than Diane who has completely brushed me off.
I am very tempted to contact Pat Foran on CFTO's Consumer Alert because of this company's very unprofessional customer service. The product may be good, but God forbid you have an issue with it - you will get nowhere. Pretty scary since this is a major investment that should last 20+ years. If this happens after only a year & this is how they treat their customers with such a minor issue, what are you going to do when something happens in 5 years or something more major happens that is still warranty? Tony called me this week to get the latest update & when I told him of the runaround I was getting, he told me not to bother with Ostaco anymore, that he would replace the defective glass himself. As a dealer, this is not something he should have to do. I appreciate his good will & offer - this is a quality that Ostaco needs to learn.
So, would I recommend the dealer I purchased the windows from (Home Decor Windows & Doors)? Absolutely. Would I recommend Ostaco products? Definitely not, not after my experience with them.
Buyer beware!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Eris Laws from Halton Hills
Eris Laws from Halton Hills
1 review Halton Hills, ON
10/10

entire home windows replaced

I bought the Ostaco enersense, triple glazed windows. I wanted gorgeous and truly energy efficient. These new windows are all of that and more. professionaly painted black to suit the style of our home. Unique grid patterns, well insulated glass and the installation was superb. No fuss, No muss!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Ostaco Windows and Doors

Ostaco has been supplying high-quality windows and doors in Ontario since 1981. Known for our excellent customer service and superior doors and windows. Rest assure, when you choose an Ostaco window or door product, you will have a lifetime product that functions perfectly and meets your every expectation.

To avoid draughts and high energy bills in the cold Canadian winter, you need expert help! If you need windows and doors, turn to Ostaco. Quietly and effectively, we have been manufacturing and installing beautiful, high quality doors and windows for Toronto homeowners since 1981.

We are the go-to windows and doors company in Ontario because we offer it all. Prompt delivery, expert installation, CSA Certification, Energy Star efficiency ratings and superior manufacturing standards... all Ostaco hallmarks. Our customers value our endless customization options as much as our superb energy efficiency. That's why these demanding homeowners have spoken highly of Ostaco to friends and neighbours for over 35 years.

Ostaco products are certified and tested by the National Fenestration Rating Council (NFRC), and have received many awards.

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service and Green Products & Services
SERVICES
Proudly servicing Ontario
WEBSITE
http://www.ostaco.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1981
MEMBERSHIPS
CSA Certification
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.