Paramount Landscaping

Landscape Contractors & Designers
4450 Corporate Drive, unit 2 Burlington ON L7L5R3
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
56%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
2
0
0

Reviews for Paramount Landscaping

Average customer rating:
6 10 (12 reviews)

Sort by

Derek Carter in ??????????
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Our team hired Paramount Landscaping to take care of our office building in Hamilton. We have been using them for the last 2 years and they have been an awesome team to work with. They provide great customer service, awesome quality and a very professional atmosphere, definitely not the norm in their industry.

I would recommend they to anyone looking for a yearly property service.

Derek Carter

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Derek,

Thank you for your kind words and I appreciate the referral for this upcoming season. We will take care of them the same way we take care of you, you have my word. enjoy the summer.

Jim in
2 reviews , ON
10/10

In September last year, I hired Paramount to build a deck, fire pit seating area and a small patio. I was looking for something quaint and inviting but was having a hard time explaining what my wife and I were looking for. Jeff sketched a design at our kitchen table that worked perfectly with us. The team showed up 2 weeks later and installed the project in just under a week, we were ecstatic how he walked through the project each day with us explaining what would be next and so on. It was so exciting we could not wait to get home from work each day to see the progress. Our neighbour's could not believe how courteous and clean Jeff's team was concerning the project, every day the site was spotless. This was very important to us since we are fairly new on the street and wanted to make a good impression. The project finished on a Friday afternoon and my wife and I came home to a note and a bottle of wine on our new patio that said " I hope you have as much fun in your new backyard as I did building it, enjoy the Wine. See you Monday to finalize the project"

Outstanding vision, customer service extraordinaire, quality perfection. Thanks Jeff and Paramount for the great experience.

Hire them you can't go wrong.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Jim,

Thank you for the kind words about my team and our company. I'm glad you are enjoying the backyard although it has been probably to cold to use the fire pit as much as you would have liked, the summer is on its way. If you ever need anything don't hesitate to call us.

Doug, Operations Manager

Bob from Burlington
2 reviews Burlington, ON
1/10

I hired Paramount to look after 5 properties including my own. After doing the wrong property the first week, some work was done adequately but much of the work (weeding, edging, turning beds, trimming of shrubs) was never done. I complained and saw some improvement for a time. I watched one guy sit on his knees and do a bed for 5 minutes, then get back in the truck and leave. Now they want to take me to court. I look forward to showing a judge the photos of the work that was never done. NOT RECOMMENDED AT ALL. Addendum: The comments provided in response are simply not true - just another indication of how unprofessional these people are. My previous landscaper was paid because he did the work he was hired to do. I only changed because I wanted additional services that he was not able to provide. Unfortunately Paramount did not do these either and now wants to be paid even though the work was not done.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The facts are as follows, you hired us one month after firing your last landscape contractor of only 4 weeks and did not pay them. You hired us and told us it was their fault you were looking for someone new. We performed the work and were still providing services after 3 months which is three times longer than the previous company you had. You have not paid a cent to date for any of the services we performed. I will admit the guys went to one wrong address out of the 5 properties the first week but we corrected it immediately, they are not perfect. Your expectations are not within the contractual agreement we have with you which is why you seem to be the reason for the multiple trade companies this year. I would suggest before writing reviews about companies be honest to yourself about whether you are being vindictive or just upset the you are being sued because you owe money. You said it yourself work was done adequately, you saw improvement but you haven't paid for any of the work provided. To be completely clear we stopped providing service to you because of your 90 days without payment and you owe 7800.00 dollars, not the other way around.

Jay Parson from Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Joe and his crew did a magnificent job on our project. His team was very courteous and professional. The project turned out better then we had imagined and were very happy with the changes Joe made in our landscape design we had created with another company. It was nice to see a crew take such good care of our property while on site, it was cleaned up each night and we never had any obstructions on the property in the 14 days. We look forward to working with them next year on the front yard.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind response. In today's society it is important with all these review sites online set up for mainly the complaining customer. The future customer has no opportunity to see the validity or truth of the comments they read whether good or bad. The happy customers don't normally go out of their way to post nice comments because they thank us in person, which makes sense if you think about it. I guess as a company we can look at it this way, looking at our online reviews we have a handful of great review and a few bad ones with 10's of thousands of customers over the last 11 years of business. Not bad numbers when less than 1% may or may not have truly experienced what they wrote. Paramount is very customer service oriented and has won best Property Maintenance and landscape company 6 years running within two main cities we work in. We strive to make sure you enjoy you project and were willing to make sure your happy if it is achievable.

Jay, I appreciate your kind response and I'm glad to know you are enjoying your backyard. Let me know when you want us to take a look at the front yard project.

Christine Zuloff from Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Call me a lazy consumer but I must admit I don't normally come on and rate companies on internet sites when they have performed an exceptional service for me. I usually tell the workers, supervisors, friends and family and on occasion email the owners to report my happiness. I find that reviews online are mainly for drama queens to take out frustrations on businesses because of a misunderstanding or the impossibility to make some people happy. I work for a large service industry company and see this on a weekly basis where the team I oversee can perform the same perfection day in and day out but once in a while we get a customer that is impossible to make happy. Paramount Landscaping has been taking care of my properties for over 7 years now and I could not ask for a better company. I have had many projects done for me and my families over the years and have never had a problem with the crews or the owner. Doug has always been reachable, accommodating and fair. There is many properties in my neighbourhood that Doug and his teams take care of by my house and I know right away which properties they do because of the care that goes into their service they provide. There staff is well educated whether it be Joe (Paramount's construction foreman), he knows everything about construction and has built two gorgeous backyards for us in the last 3 years at two different houses, or his Maintenance staff that take care of my house and place of work for the last decade.

These days you get what you pay for and in the service industry it is hard to only offer one service level to your customers. I have never bartered with them and always received a fair price and a great job.

Hats Off to Paramount Landscaping

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Christine,

Thank you for the kind words, I understand completely what you are saying. As a consumer also, my beliefs are very much the same. Word of mouth is much more powerful in todays world then a claim without a face. Hats of to you for being a great customer and understanding consumer.

Paramount team

Victoria from Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
0/10

I hired Paramount Landscape Company in the summer of 2013 for minor lawn care services. I never saw anyone for the first month and when I called I was always given the run around by the office staff and the owner Doug. I found him to be very rude. I feel that this company is very disorganized and be aware that if you hire them you may not get what you pay for in fact they might not even show up!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Victoria,

Sorry for the very late response but I don't come to check on all these review sites very often. We just reviewed all the emails concerning your account and came up with the conclusion to your response above. You wanted us to take care of your property but your did not send in the contract we required even after we serviced it for the first couple weeks. One week we showed up and you had the gates locked and you were also informed. We choose to not perform any more services because you did not send in the paperwork requested and we were worried about payment. There was numerous emails and phone calls to you to receive the proper paperwork with multiple excuses. After consideration we decided with no paperwork we would not provide anymore service, this is why we did not show up anymore. You were impossible to get a hold of and we can not enter properties without contracts signed and in our office which you were notified.

brandon1@cogeco.ca
7 reviews Burlington, ON
0/10

I contracted with Paramount Landscaping to aerate, top-dress, and overseed my front lawn for a price of $467.14 ($413.40 + HST). The contract was signed and full amount paid April 12, 2012. (The cheque #225 cleared my bank on April 16.)
No one came to the property until May 14, when two men from another company arrived at about 4:30pm. (Apparently Paramount had sub-contracted to a third party.) One of the men went over the whole lawn with the aerator. The other hand shovelled top soil onto some small damaged patches along the property line (left over from sewer repairs next door), but 95% of the lawn got no top-soil. Then this second man pushed a spreader around the lawn with grass seed. They finished, loaded the spreader and aerator back in their trucks and left by 5pm.
The aeration and overseeding we asked for were done satisfactorily, as was the patch repair (which we hadn't asked for), but the top-dressing was not done at all except for the repaired patches. (Top dressing is the process of applying a thin layer -1/2" to 1" - of topsoil and/or compost over the lawn, and raking it into the existing grass.)
No one from Paramount was present during the work, nor did anyone from Paramount inspect the work afterwards.
I assumed this was a mis-communication between Paramount and this third party sub-contractor -and called Paramount right away. (My contact at Paramount was Jeff, Sales Manager.) He promised to talk to "his operations person" and get back to me, but didn't call back After a couple of days I called him again, and we repeated this pattern for several weeks: I call, he promises to look into it with the operations manager and get back to me, he doesn't call back, I call again, et cetera.
Jeff did stop by after a few calls to look at the lawn, and agreed that there had been no topsoil spread. At no point did the operations manager inspect the subcontracted work, despite my repeated requests he do so.
So I paid over $450 for half an hour's work by two men, plus about $20 worth of seed & soil, and the primary part of the job we contracted for was never done at all.

UPDATE after Paramount's reply: Note that it took Paramount over two years to reply to my review (August 2013 to September 2015). Perhaps if they had returned my repeated phone calls two years ago, we could have avoided the review entirely. The facts they quote are wrong: The lawn is not 5000 sq. ft. as they claim, but just under 1200 sq. ft. (they only were contracted for the front lawn, and never went into the back). Again, had anyone from Paramount actually been here, they might have noticed the difference in size. And as someone who has had a lawn for many years, I know the difference between Top Dressing and Over-Seeding. (I have a spreader and overseed myself on a regular basis.) The contract was done after long discussion with Paramount's sale man and I specified exactly what I wanted. If it should have cost 4x as much, he should have quoted 4x as much. (Although given that my lawn is only 1/4 the size Paramount claims, I'd guess he did quote correctly.)
This is the only negative review of a tradesman I've eve left, but my rating of zero stands.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Brandon,

Sorry about your experience, back a few years ago we used a very reliable subcontractor (Turf systems) to do our fertilizing and over seeding because they had a great system in place for our clients. The top-dress and seeding you contracted us for was a over-seeding program that doesn't require topsoil. We use granular enhanced soil that is spread by way of a fertilizer spreader, please see the link below http://www.turfrevolution.com. This is a no hassle, no mess way to get an inexpensive top dressing to your property. As you mentioned above we sent two specialists to your house and aerated your lawn, spread granular topsoil and seed for only 467.14. Traditionally doing it the old fashion way which is what you were expecting would have cost 4 times what you paid for 5000 sq. ft. If you read the documents we sent you or looked at our program online you would have seen how would provide our product. That soil and seed they spread on your property is not cheap and actually cost over 250.00 dollars to buy. The costs for the topsoil we used at a price of 30.00$ a bag per at 1 bag per 1000 sq. ft. would equal 150.00. The seed is top of the line certified endophyte enhanced seed and cost about 120.00 a bag which covers 5500 sq. ft., basically your property size. The cost of the product for your property with tax is close to 300.00. That leaves 167.14 to pay the employees, equipment, overhead for the company, the government HST and profit.

Turf systems is a top of the line company with thousands of customers and although we now supply all our own lawn care applications, they do a great job, I would recommend them to anyone. This was the only complaint we had about their system and product in the 3 years we used them. They definitely supplied over 100 of our customers with this product in the three years of service including my own property.

Joan from Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

We hired Paramount Landscaping in late May to complete an overhaul of our backyard. When we booked with Joe he gave us a date of June 24th 2013, which was roughly a month. We had a bunch of rain while we waited for the date to arrive which I figured was going to set back the project. They arrived within 2 days of the projected date and started the project. The backyard was expected to take about 14 days and even with two rain days during the two weeks they managed to finish in 12 days.

The process was flawless in our eyes and we are very happy with the outcome of the backyard, so much so that we have booked them for our front yard in September and our best friends have booked them in this month for a large retaining wall.

Everything we were offered was given with honesty and professionalism which is what we were looking for in a company for this project. Thank you guys for all the hard work in the hot stubborn weather, you did a magnificent job.

Joan

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Paramount Landscaping

Paramount Landscaping started with the idea that customer service should be a priority in our industry. The vision was to create a white collar company in a blue collar world; one that harvests accountability, professionalism, customer care and knowledge into an industry that pays very little attention to these important ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.