Drytech Construction Inc.

General Contractors
West 75th Ave Vancouver BC v6p 3g3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
General Contractors
Drytech Construction Inc.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

32%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Drytech Construction Inc.

Average customer rating:
4 10 (8 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vancouver, BC
0/10

Windows

Ken and his so called contractors haven't a clue about installing Windows. Had a Windows replaced on an apartment building. The guys that work for him are incompetent. Probably hires from Craigslist as different people showed up throughout the job. Instead of flashing the top of the window, they used silicon, unbelievable. The strata had to replace all due to unknowledgable install by Drytech. Stay away from this company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This statement is false and likely just a fabricated claim to make the company look bad. Drytech does not do window replacements and has not done any for a very long time. When we did some in the past we used our own experienced carpenters and never encountered any complaints from any of our clients. It is unfortunate that there are people that would stoop to this kind of slander fabricating false claims.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Burnaby, BC
2/10

Unneccessary Deck Drama

Unreliable. Unprofessional. Incompetent. Dismissive. Unreasonable.
Not qualities anyone is looking for when hiring a renovation company. Do not sign yourself up to work with Drytech, Flexstone, or any other name this company may be conducting business under, despite how good the product may seem. If you like the product-find another contractor to do the installation work!

In May 2016, I hired this company to complete a rental building balcony resurfacing job. I was told that they had completed other jobs of the same nature and this would not be their first multi-unit project. *In hindsight I should have spoken to the owners of their previous projects!
When I asked about project timeline I was told 3-5 decks could be completed per day with the base coat membrane--so simple math would lead you to believe that 20 decks would be completed with base coating in 4- 7 days. The secondary step was the "fast top coating," which I was told would take even “less time” than the base application. When asked directly how long the project would take they elusively avoid providing a committed date of completion (THIS should have been my first red flag!). Ok, so if my math is correct based on their explained delivery time this project should have taken 10-12 days total, right? WRONG! Not only did the application take well over this time, the follow up for deficiencies took us all the way until September 30!!! Yes, that is 4 and a half months from start to finish.
Their unreasonable and inexcusable disregard for this job resulted in not only countless hours of wasted time on my part waiting for their "crew" of one guy to even show up,but more importantly their behavior caused an unreasonable inconvenience to the 20 individual sets of tenants, who were required to grant permission for each time we requested access in and out of their suites—which by my count we entered each unit no less than 12 from begin to end!
I expressed my concern about this before we selected this company and was assured (and reassured) several times that this need not be a concern due to the fact they were in the business for 20 years (I’ve learned since that number of years in business does not mean anything!).
In the end we have simply accepted that the work is what it is, flaws and all. While I walked around the site and from deck to deck pointing out deficiencies it was clear that they are not capable of completing the types of repairs or remediation that would truly correct some of the issues they created. For example, on the contact that I signed it clearly stated that the coating work can be completed with either railings on or off - "that's the beauty of this product" company owner told me. This was simply not true. I learned the hard way that they seem to have no consistent reliable mode of application that could possibly result in success with railings on! Instead, I now have caked on chips at the base of each railing leg, which they remedied by spraying over my newly powder-coated railing legs with black liquid spray paint!
If I wanted a completely perfect job, free of deficiencies, as one might expect when paying for a NEW deck, then I would probably never reach a point of conclusion with this company. However, I decided that at some point your sanity is worth more than fighting with a company like this that does not value their customers and expects the customer to make concessions for the organization's poor business practices.
Even upon full and final payment they elected to withhold sending me the warranty information (the same warranty information which they hide behind when you mention any deficiencies)! After two weeks of waiting for the email to come my way I made a trip to their office, where they again insisted they would send it to me via email as I sat in their office!!
Finally, they will assure you that "they're not going anywhere," when you question them about being accountable for their product or their services. This statement is only true because more unsuspecting customers continue to be taken for fools by this company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

We never saw this review until several months after the job was completed and were shocked at the harsh negative comments made. At the end of this job a complete inspection was done with the Strata members to ensure everyone was satisfied and then payment in full was finally made. Drytech was not even aware that there were any issues however, considering the main individual we had to deal with, it does not surprise us too much. This was a multi unit Strata complex with many decks and many different owners at multiple levels. It was nearly impossible to keep everyone happy and access to all the levels was also a challenge which delayed progress on the job. There was also a problem getting paid and for this reason we could not contiune working causing further delays. Eveyone knows working for a Strata is complex and full of challenges to put it mildly. All it takes is for one person to get their nose out of joint and the result is a review like this which is inacurate and inflated way out of proportion. This job was a referral from a happy Drytech customer and we did a good job and also gave them a discounted rate because of the referral. When you look at some of the words used in this review it is not hard to realize that it was written by someone who is being very unreasonable. We feel bad that this person has written such negative comments because we did a beautiful job and most of the owners were very polite to our workers and happy to receive a luxurious lifetime deck membrane. We know exactly who wrote this review and we knew there was no way we could satisfy her right from the beginning of the project. Thus the saying "You can please some of the people all of the time, and all of the people some of the time, but not all of the people all of the time". This certainly is the case when working with most of the multi unit Strata councils !

louiswei in Vancouver
louiswei in Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
0/10

Sundeck renovation

Stay far far FAR away from Drytech.

We chose Drytech over other contractors because they had a physical office, been in business for 20 years, and a good standing with the Better Business Bureau (BBB).

We could NOT be more WRONG.

We hired Drytech to rebuild our aging sundeck early July 2014 which was promised to be completed in a month’s time. Fast forward ONE YEAR LATER, the whole thing ended with us taking Drytech to ARBITRATION.

As other reviewers have indicated, Drytech hires sub-contractors to do the actual work. Within a week of starting, their sub-contractor got in an argument with their carpenter, and BOTH LEFT THE JOB. Instead of getting a replacement carpenter, Drytech hired random workers from Cragislist to continue the job, some of whom jumped into our backyard pool to cool off in the summer heat!

By Dec 2014, the deck had been half-built, torn down due to improper construction and then rebuilt all over again but with so many deficiencies that we escalated matters with Drytech’s owner and president, Ken Magoski. That’s when we realized why Drytech was in such disarray.

Ken is breathtakingly useless. Don’t be taken with his sweet-talking demeanour…his business practices are in the finest traditions of shady used car salesmen you see on tv.

When he came over to inspect the unfinished deck, he blatantly dismissed 90% of the deficiencies, save for a couple of trivial problems that he himself attempted to fix with an electric drill and some glue.

As a sanity check, we got a Professional Quantity Surveyor to assess the deck and produce a report outlining all the outstanding deficiencies...which Ken still dismissed.

To top it off, Ken asked us to pay up, but quoted an amount that was 20% MORE than the signed contract! When confronted, he explained it by saying he’s got a lot of difficult to keep track of paperwork. Reality? A feeble attempt to swindle us for more money. Don’t take your eye off this guy for one second.

Taking things up with the guy at the top usually produces results. But in Drytech’s case, the guy at the top can’t do basic math, pays little to no attention to emails, and has no interest in customer satisfaction.

To sum it up, go with Drytech if you:
- Enjoy having your project delayed TEN TIMES longer than promised
- Need practice remembering the names and faces of random Craigslist workers on your property who may or may not show up day to day
- Like educating the president of a 20 year old company that common courtesy includes not trespassing on your property unannounced
- Want first hand experience going through the BC Arbitration process

UPDATE:

To be clear, it was the lack of consistent workers, slow progress, poor workmanship (see attached photos), and re-work that prompted us to escalate to Ken. We paid according to terms of contract and in fact, we paid AHEAD of schedule in hopes that Drytech would get their act together. The remaining balance (according to contract) was to be paid upon COMPLETION of the deck. Good client or bad, nobody in their right mind would pay the remaining balance before the contracted work was completed.

This was the topic of dispute at arbitration, which was favorable to letting these criminals get paid for a bungled and incomplete project. But at the end of the day, it was still more cost effective to go through arbitration and then hire another company to clean up the mess left by Drytech.

HomeStars readers, the so-called happy reviews were from years ago when Drytech still had an A BBB rating. THIS review is current as of 2015 and today they have been downgraded to B+...but should really be F.

Please consider my experience so you can make an informed decision before ever going near Drytech.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

If you carefully read this email it will become obvious that it is vindictive and exaggerated way out of proportion. The client chose Drytech for all the right reasons but when you do not pay for the work completed then the work stops and problems begin. The job entailed re-building a large sun deck for the client. Eventually all of our workers and sub trades refused to return to the job because the clients frustrated everyone and were impossible to deal with, thus all the delays. In this instance, the biggest issue for Drytech was that the clients refused to any more money regardless of what we did for them. Eventually Ken (the owner) had to intervene and he met with the clients to address their concerns and identify the reasons why they refused to pay. Drytech was trying to collect over $20,000 for a $40,000 sun deck job that was completed. It quickly became evident that the client never intended to pay any more money so Drytech was forced to set up an arbitration session to resolve this impossible situation. In the end the arbitrator forced the clients to pay a considerable amount of money but Drytech was still out of pocket a lot of funds. This was a client from hell and it seems that every few years a client like this surfaces and thinks they can get out of paying their bill by fabricating phony excuses. Drytech is a reputable established company in Vancouver and we did not grow and become a very successful company by treating clients poorly. So when you look at this review you need to read between the lines. Yes, there are some bad companies out there but there are just as many bad clients. Drytech tries to please everyone but sometimes this is an impossible task when clients try to get out of paying money that is rightfully due. You can see from our other reviews that we have a lot of very happy clients which depicts a true picture of Drytech Construction Ltd. Thanks for taking the time to read this honest and accurate response to a totally inaccurate review.

Patrick from Delta
Patrick from Delta
1 review Delta, BC
10/10

New Roof

We had a wonderful experience with Drytech. We called their office to get a quote and Ken took the time to explain some new technology in sloped roofing, and how it affects pricing. Drytech is not the cheapest roofing company (we got quotes from 7 other places) but sometimes you don't want to go with the cheapest quote (especially when it comes to your roof!). Robbie and Curtis came out to do our roof and were extremely friendly. Like Ken, they took the time to explain to us some of the finer details when it comes to shingles, gutters and roofs. I would recommend Drytech for roofing repairs and replacement.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Demetre Christiensen from Vancouver
Demetre Christiensen from Vancouver
1 review Vancouver, BC
10/10

Sundeck re-surfacing

Drytech did a great job repairing our old dilapidated vinyl deck. It was starting to peel and was stained beyond repair... The crew identified multiple rot-locations, did a thorough tear-off, repaired the weak areas, and coated it with Flexstone. It's been over a year now and the deck still looks new... A little scrub once every few months and we're laughing!

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Drytech Construction Inc.

Drytech is an established construction and renovation company in the west side of Vancouver, BC Drytech has a Roofing and Waterproofing/ Sundeck coatings division. We distribute Tufflex deck coatings across Canada and Instacoat rubber for roofing & waterproofing throughout BC.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for General Contractors pros in Vancouver?