Appliance Healer

Appliance Repair
Toronto ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

88%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Appliance Healer

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (50 reviews)

Sort by

vmaccardo
vmaccardo
3 reviews Pickering, ON
10/10

Kitchenaid Stand Mixer Repair

Tried to get a few quotes closer to home but Kristina was the only one who called me back, gave an educated guess on what the problem could be and quoted a repair cost.

Their contactless drop off/pick up is impressive. Communication is excellent. I highly recommend Kristina and Sam.

A bit of a hike to get there but worth it.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Espresso Machine - Saeco

Great service.
My machine is over 12 years old and many places refused to service it. Sam took it and fixed it within a week (a bit of a line up) but still reasonable wait time. I was happy with the service. Although my machine is a bit old, Sam has assured me that this machine is a high quality machine and worth fixing it. Now, working like brand new. He also descaled it for me for free. Very good service. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Buyer BEWARE...very!

Brought our SMEG toaster to be repaired. It was diagnosed as needing a new element. After paying $80 to replace the element the toaster experienced the same problem a month later. Brought it back only to find out that Samson tinkered with the toaster but NEVER replaced the element as he had claimed a month earlier. He had to come clean because SMEG does not sell replacement parts so he couldn't have replaced the part. When I asked him about this, he became defensive and proceeded to tell me that he mixed up our toaster with another one that he had repaired. He claimed he was confused due to lack of sleep repairing so many machines. Samson was not confused when he charged $80 for a repair he never did. He also promised to send a video of the repair he claimed to have done. That video was never forwarded to us. He refunded only $35 of the $80. A month later, I have a broken toaster and I am out $45. BEWARE. I will also send a complaint to the Better Business Bureau.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CgAsgLBmmAQ Hello readers, here is the link for the exact toaster that is mentioned here that was worked on. I do many repairs and work very long hours up to 5AM most nights so yes things do get confusing from time to time however I'm honest when it comes to replacing the parts and this is one of the reasons we are making a youtube page to show the job for people that want the details. In our busy schedule things get overlooked and we forget to send links out for people BUT nothing is hiding our links can be found on youtube if you take the time to look for it or if a reminder is send most likely we will will provide it, I can't remember to do everything without some help along the way:) As for unsatisfied customers or jobs that break again we provide a 30 day warranty and partial refund policy and this is the case here we gave a refund but not full refund as we have to value our time and make some money to keep the business running. Had the customer gave more time I may have provided a new part or complete new toaster from the SMEG company as I was currently in the process dealing with the head office and it looked like things were going well up until I decided to call the customer with my "good news update" then things took a turn as you all can see. It's unrealistic to even think that you can get a new element replaced in a SMEG Toaster for only $80 because they sell for over $200.00
YouTube Update:
Of course we have to stand up for our side of what happened because we are running a reputable business and don't want people to think otherwise. My repair job did last for around 30days as stated in the other letter by the customer and even if it was past our warranty period we would have helped to resolve the problem. Many people are going threw a difficult time right now in year of 2020 it's important that we help each other and lift up one and other rather then to do the opposite. I'm going to re-post this on Youtube page below the video so others can have their say in if we did the right thing or not or how they would have done things any differently? Sometimes for all my hard work and late hours I put in I think I should not even try to fix some projects because people don't appreciate the extra efforts I put in so they can keep their appliances working and help reduce the land fills in the process.
Thanks for reading and have a good day everyone. Please see the You-Tube Link to watch the video and make your comments as you see fit but please be polite and respectful if you do comment: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CgAsgLBmmAQ

Gludwig in Toronto
Gludwig in Toronto
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

KitchenAid stand mixer repair – replace gearbox grease

Great people, great service. Speaking to companies to try and get a quote on this was painful. In the end, they were the only company I felt really confident about. They knew what I needed, and were quick to respond with accurate information about what was involved. They gave me a quote and stuck to it. I also loved the fact that – because the mixer would look essentially the same once it was fixed – they sent me photos of the work in progress. And, they're generally just super nice people. 10/10.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Dishwasher repair

Speedy, knowledgeable and super friendly service! My dishwasher was on the fritz, Samson returned my call and arranged an appointment for the next day. Arrived promptly, assessed my poor machine, fixed one initial issue and proceeded to walk me through the whole process, including an extra lesson in how to clean the dishwasher of debris, so I could do it myself in the future. All was looking resolved, they put on their coats to go, and up popped another issue! They took off their coats and went straight back to work...amazing service and my dishwasher is back to normal. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend them fully!

Was this review helpful?
Nancy from NOrth York
Nancy from NOrth York
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

A satisfied customer again

Samson and Teena came right on time. Very quickly, they were able to show and explain to me what was causing our problem. They explained what would be involved with a repair. But they also explained that in view of the age of the fridge, paying for the parts and labour for the repair might not be a good investment. I was pleased with the careful explanation and honest assessment. I would not hesitate to call Appliance Healer again

Was this review helpful?
Lisa in Toronto
Lisa in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Appliance repair

I have no reservations at all about recommending them. They kept my ancient washing machine running for seven years and it was still working well when I moved into a new house. Prompt, courteous and fast. And two if the loveliest people. If you need an appliance fixed, call them. They've also been great with my mother's dishwasher. And they tell it how it is. No BS.

Was this review helpful?
10/10

Dryer Repair

Sam and Tinna are a lovely, courteous husband and wife team. They came promptly, quickly identified the problem with our dryer and fixed it at a reasonable rate. No surprise or extra fee, plus Sam kindly cleaned the lint form the dryer and vent. They were a pleasure to deal with and I am happy to recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Frances in Toronto
Frances in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Many appliances fixed!

I have known Sam and Kristina for at least four or maybe more years. They are expert appliance technicians.. Samson has never had a problem diagnosing and then fixing the problem whether it was the fridge, the washer or more recently the dishwasher. Aside from their expertize, they are lovely people, warm, friendly and caring about their customers. They come as quickly as they can and in the event they are late, they will call to advise. Their prices are very reasonable and they stand behind their work. I think Sam and Kristina who helps him on site but also does their billing and bookkeeping, are the best appliance technicians I've ever experienced and I strongly recommend them.

FH

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
2/10

Washing Machine Repair

Had a pleasant repair experience with Sam in the past, so hired him again for a washing machine that wasn't draining properly. Sam and Tinna came on schedule, for which they get they get that one star. Were in and out in 15 minutes, took pictures and sent to me at work stating that the machine was beyond repair as it is too old(the equipment is around 8-9 years old). Followed up with a call to explain that the drain pump was an issue and wasn't worth repairing. Reminded me several times during the call to pay them for the diagnostics fee, as we agreed upon an e-transfer.
I wasn't convinced with the assessment and decided to get a second opinion the following day. Early in the morning of next day received another message stating that they'd like to get paid for diagnostics. It turns out that the drain pump was indeed an issue but it just needed to be cleaned out. Despite it all I did send an e-transfer and advised Sam that I was disappointed with his service of mis-diagnostics, as I felt that given the age of the equipment he didn't want to be bothered with the repair. Immediately received an offensive response, deflecting from the issue, while accusing me of being a bad customer.
Will not use this company again. I will give Sam and Tinna the benefit of doubt and will label this an unfortunate incident for me....but customer beware if you have older appliances.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'll get right to the point. The washer had a 1" hole in the door seal (upper area) along with lots of black mold in the lower area, one of the control buttons was permanently pushed in crooked and broken, when I took off the lower panel and looked in I seen water damage inside the machine (rust). The drain pump was the old style that is very difficult to remove and was not working (something stuck inside perhaps). To repair a washer like this it needed parts, new door seal, new drain pump, new control panel button in the least maybe control board also. I seen this to be an expensive repair and took some photos to show her how bad it was for the tenants. Advise her to replace the washer to save on time and money in the long run as it's 8-9yrs old washer and heavily used. She was very "Complicated" on the phone when we told her our honest opinion. This is why we were checking to see if she was going to pay us or not? Turns out she went behind our back and got some "other" repair company to "make it work" then aggressively text us the next day and put a misleading review about us on HomeStars. Not expected behavior. We did our job correctly and diagnosis remains the same as followed: The washer is a WATER LEAK HAZARD AND ELECTRICAL SHOCK HAZARD, you might not see it because it's on the inside of the unit this is why we have told you not to fix it and to replace it. We cannot work for someone that don't trust us or listen to our advice and treat us like we are the "10min money grabber big companies"... We are NOT. It's only the two of us my Wife and I running this business for the past 9 years keeping it small so it don't become corrupt like some of the big time businesses. If we can't do the job or refuse it there is a good reason why. Think it over. We have the right to refuse working for you and we choose this for the best on both sides. No hard feelings, have a better day.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Appliance Healer

Affordable appliance repair We fix all major brands and type of appliances WASHER DRYER STOVE DISHWASHER FRIDGE and MICROWAVE Our rates are very affordable and reasonable We offer SENIOR RATE DISCOUNT Warranty on parts and labor.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Appliance Repair pros in Toronto?