I purchased a property in Oshawa and wanted to have the main shut off valve changed. I was looking for a plumber in the area and unfortunately I ended up calling this company. I scheduled that the city shut the water at my property so the main shut off valve could be replaced. The city was to show up in the morning to have the water shut off and shortly after Dan was going to replace the valve.
He arrived at the place, I showed him where the valve was located and he refused to change the valve. His argument was that the place was not easily accessible (it was sitting behind a sink), he recommended I tear down apart the sink and said he wont do the job until that was done. I said that he could leave and then he indicated I owed him money for the visit.
I ended up calling another company and they replaced the valve without any issues shortly after.
I felt very disappointed, I believe that if he was not able to do the job then he should not have charged anything.
- Company Response
The requested job was in a very difficult space to access and also unsafe as there was old dry wood which is very flammable. It was Rooterway's professional opinion to not follow through with the job based on the unsafe work environment and it was at that point that the customer became upset. We don't feel the customer was reasonable in this situation and we don't regret walking away from the job. Rooterway always puts safety first!